The Stanly News and Press (Albemarle, NC)

Opinion & Letters to the Editor

January 6, 2014

Coming in 2014: Legal weed for women, honor roll for everyone, free handguns

Monday, January 6, 2014 —

Editor's note: CNHI newspapers that are not weekly subscribers to Taylor Armerding's column may publish this one if they notify him at t.armerding@verizon.net.

- See more at: http://www.cnhinews.com/cnhins_opinion/x1353073119/Sheriffs-ignoring-gun-laws-are-following-Obamas-example#sthash.yoBrBrhn.dpuf

It’s that time of year - a time when we are about the future not the past, a time when we are done with reflection and want prediction. a time when your humble correspondent has gazed into the 2014 crystal ball long enough for things to come into focus.

So get ready. These forecasts are worth every bit as much as you paid for them.

January

In his State of the Union address, President Obama calls for a week-long celebration of five years of economic recovery and a reduction in the national unemployment rate to 6.9 percent, “thanks to the policies my administration has put in place.”

The president also calls on Congress to extend unemployment benefits to 250 weeks. “Millions of people are out of work,” he says, “and we can’t expect them to find jobs that aren’t there to find.”

February

Congress moves to follow Colorado’s lead and make the recreational use of marijuana legal nationwide – but only for women.

“We believe in a woman’s right to choose,” says Senate Majority Leader Harry Reid. “I keep hearing that women should be allowed to control their own bodies. Doesn’t that mean deciding what substances to put into them?”

March

Sen. Elizabeth Warren (D-Mass.) files a bill to ban banks and credit card companies from doing credit checks on applicants.

“As the president has demonstrated in his courageous leadership of this country, true fiscal responsibility is not about paying your bills but getting a higher credit limit,” she says. “It would be un-American for predatory lenders to undermine that.”

Text Only
Opinion & Letters to the Editor
  • Almost half of America's obese youth don't know they're obese

    WASHINGTON - The good news is that after decades of furious growth, obesity rates finally seem to be leveling off in the U.S.. The bad news is that America's youth still appear to be dangerously unaware of the problem.

    July 23, 2014

  • Darth Vader is polling higher than all potential 2016 presidential candidates

    On the other hand, with a net favorability of -8, Jar Jar is considerably more popular than the U.S. Congress, which currently enjoys a net favorability rating of -65.

    July 23, 2014

  • D.G. Martin Where did all these new voters in North Carolina come from?

    “Voters born elsewhere make up nearly half of N.C. electorate.”
    So begins the latest DataNet report from the UNC Program on Public Life, directed by former journalist Ferrel Guillory.

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • Patrick Gannon Some light for Dems in their time of darkness

    RALEIGH – Earlier this year, state Sen. Ben Clark, a Hoke County Democrat, became a hero for a day among his party and environmentalists when his amendment to require more well water testing near future fracking sites passed the Senate. It even gained the support of a number of GOP senators, against the wishes of the Republican bill sponsor.

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • mama.jpg What we get wrong about millennials living at home

    If the media is to be believed, America is facing a major crisis. "Kids," some age 25, 26, or even 30 years old, are living out of their childhood bedrooms and basements at alarmingly high numbers. The hand-wringing overlooks one problem: It's all overblown.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Doug Creamer Maintaining hope

    Gardeners are facing challenges with the weather this year. It seemed like we were getting great conditions in April and May. The weather was warm and we were getting some good rains. Then sometime in June the rain stopped. It got so dry that I didn’t have to cut the grass. While I enjoyed the break, the garden was not happy at all. I was having to water quite a bit to keep the vegetable garden alive and growing.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jason O. Boyd I may be a bit behind the times, but at least I can find ‘America’

    I seem to be reading about and dealing with technology a lot lately.
    I  love technology and have always been fascinated by gadgets of all kinds and the wonderful things they can do. You never seem to go through an entire day without some form of invention enhancing your life.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Brent Laurenz Meeting out in open helps negotiations move ahead

    RALEIGH – State lawmakers reconvened in Raleigh on May 14 promising a brief legislative session this summer, but as July moves along they are still in town and tackling big issues.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Larry's Sketch 7.16.14.tif They don’t give a darn for Duke University

    John “Duke” Wayne’s heirs are suing Duke University over trademark rights.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Your chocolate addiction is only going to get more expensive

    WASHINGTON - For nearly two years, cocoa prices have been on the rise. Finally, that's affecting the price you pay for a bar of chocolate - and there's reason to believe it's only the beginning.

    July 18, 2014

House Ads
Seasonal Content