The Stanly News and Press (Albemarle, NC)

Opinion & Letters to the Editor

January 6, 2014

Coming in 2014: Legal weed for women, honor roll for everyone, free handguns

Monday, January 6, 2014 —

Editor's note: CNHI newspapers that are not weekly subscribers to Taylor Armerding's column may publish this one if they notify him at t.armerding@verizon.net.

- See more at: http://www.cnhinews.com/cnhins_opinion/x1353073119/Sheriffs-ignoring-gun-laws-are-following-Obamas-example#sthash.yoBrBrhn.dpuf

It’s that time of year - a time when we are about the future not the past, a time when we are done with reflection and want prediction. a time when your humble correspondent has gazed into the 2014 crystal ball long enough for things to come into focus.

So get ready. These forecasts are worth every bit as much as you paid for them.

January

In his State of the Union address, President Obama calls for a week-long celebration of five years of economic recovery and a reduction in the national unemployment rate to 6.9 percent, “thanks to the policies my administration has put in place.”

The president also calls on Congress to extend unemployment benefits to 250 weeks. “Millions of people are out of work,” he says, “and we can’t expect them to find jobs that aren’t there to find.”

February

Congress moves to follow Colorado’s lead and make the recreational use of marijuana legal nationwide – but only for women.

“We believe in a woman’s right to choose,” says Senate Majority Leader Harry Reid. “I keep hearing that women should be allowed to control their own bodies. Doesn’t that mean deciding what substances to put into them?”

March

Sen. Elizabeth Warren (D-Mass.) files a bill to ban banks and credit card companies from doing credit checks on applicants.

“As the president has demonstrated in his courageous leadership of this country, true fiscal responsibility is not about paying your bills but getting a higher credit limit,” she says. “It would be un-American for predatory lenders to undermine that.”

Text Only
Opinion & Letters to the Editor
  • Do White Castle prices tell us anything about the minimum wage?

    NEW YORK - Economists love hamburgers. Specifically fast-food burgers. This is partly because all right-thinking human beings love ground meat on a bun, but it's also because the sandwich makes a handy yardstick for international financial comparisons. The ingredients and labor involved in preparing a Big Mac are pretty much the same no matter where you are in the world, so by looking at how many hours of toiling it takes a worker to earn enough to purchase one, you can get a sense of how wages really stack up across countries. The Economist famously created the Big Mac index in 1986 to see which currencies were overvalued. It started as a joke. Now, as the magazine proudly notes, it's a subject of academic study.

    April 22, 2014

  • Can Hillary Clinton rock the cradle and the world?

    WASHINGTON - What's most interesting to contemplate is the effect becoming a grandmother will have on Hillary's ambition. It's one of life's unfairnesses that a woman's peak career years often coincide with her peak childbearing years.

    April 22, 2014

  • Doug Creamer All in the Family

    We had a family get-together at my brother’s house on Easter Sunday. It’s hard to get our family together because we are spread out, especially when you consider nieces and nephews. My parents and siblings all made the gathering this year. Some of my nieces and nephews are far away, but they all remember gathering at my brother’s house for the holidays. Easter is known for the Jell-O eggs and the famous Easter egg hunt.

    April 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Victimized by the 'marriage penalty'

    In a few short months, I'll pass the milestone that every little girl dreams of: the day she swears - before family and God, in sickness and in health, all in the name of love - that she's willing to pay a much higher tax rate.

    April 19, 2014

  • The case for separate beds

    WASHINGTON - The other night I slept on a twin bed in the guest room of the house I share with my husband and our two kids.
    It was the best night's sleep I've had in years.

    April 19, 2014

  • taylor.armerding.jpg Obama's equal pay exaggeration leads us all into danger

    The president's claims of national shame over gender-based pay inequity spring from distorted calculations, as well as some convenient political math.

    April 12, 2014 1 Photo

  • Teens trading naked selfies for mugshots

    Will teenagers ever learn? You think yours will. Maybe so. But it's likely that was also the hope of the parents of children who were so shamed by nude photos of themselves that went south - how else can they go - that they killed themselves.

    April 12, 2014

  • Brent Laurenz If you want to vote in primary, you need to register to vote now

    RALEIGH – North Carolina voters will head to the polls on May 6 this year to cast ballots in important primary elections across the state.

    April 11, 2014 1 Photo

  • Scott Mooneyham Heeding the voter fraud call in N.C.

    RALEIGH – Legislators found the findings outrageous.

    April 11, 2014 1 Photo

  • Doug Creamer Roots

    I took a few minutes over the weekend to enjoy our yard and the arrival of spring. There seems to be so much work that needs to be done, it is hard to decide what to do first. I am excited that I got to run my tiller through the garden. I didn’t go very deep, but I did at least break up the soil. I have a couple of raised beds and the soil in them was in very good shape. I didn’t plant my peas and now after the big rain we got on Monday I realize that I missed a window of opportunity.

    April 11, 2014 1 Photo

House Ads
Seasonal Content