The Stanly News and Press (Albemarle, NC)

Opinion & Letters to the Editor

January 6, 2014

Coming in 2014: Legal weed for women, honor roll for everyone, free handguns

Monday, January 6, 2014 —

Editor's note: CNHI newspapers that are not weekly subscribers to Taylor Armerding's column may publish this one if they notify him at t.armerding@verizon.net.

- See more at: http://www.cnhinews.com/cnhins_opinion/x1353073119/Sheriffs-ignoring-gun-laws-are-following-Obamas-example#sthash.yoBrBrhn.dpuf

It’s that time of year - a time when we are about the future not the past, a time when we are done with reflection and want prediction. a time when your humble correspondent has gazed into the 2014 crystal ball long enough for things to come into focus.

So get ready. These forecasts are worth every bit as much as you paid for them.

January

In his State of the Union address, President Obama calls for a week-long celebration of five years of economic recovery and a reduction in the national unemployment rate to 6.9 percent, “thanks to the policies my administration has put in place.”

The president also calls on Congress to extend unemployment benefits to 250 weeks. “Millions of people are out of work,” he says, “and we can’t expect them to find jobs that aren’t there to find.”

February

Congress moves to follow Colorado’s lead and make the recreational use of marijuana legal nationwide – but only for women.

“We believe in a woman’s right to choose,” says Senate Majority Leader Harry Reid. “I keep hearing that women should be allowed to control their own bodies. Doesn’t that mean deciding what substances to put into them?”

March

Sen. Elizabeth Warren (D-Mass.) files a bill to ban banks and credit card companies from doing credit checks on applicants.

“As the president has demonstrated in his courageous leadership of this country, true fiscal responsibility is not about paying your bills but getting a higher credit limit,” she says. “It would be un-American for predatory lenders to undermine that.”

Text Only
Opinion & Letters to the Editor
  • D.G. Martin Read others’ views to be better informed, decide for yourself

    “I don’t read The Washington Post. That is not where I get my ideas.”

    July 30, 2014 1 Photo

  • Patrick Gannon This isn’t medical marijuana

    As state legislators debated allowing the use of an extract from marijuana plants to treat seizure disorders over the past couple of weeks, it was evident that social conservatives – there are many of them in the General Assembly – felt a tinge of unease about it, even as almost every one of them voted yes.

    July 30, 2014 1 Photo

  • Doug Creamer Friends and contentment

    Last week I made my annual trip up the mountain to Sparta. My friends have a secluded home near a babbling brook. Their home and property are a haven for peace. It’s a two-plus hour ride to their home that doesn’t feel that long because I look so forward to my time with this great couple. When I arrive, the conversation seems to pick up right where we left it the last time we saw each other.

    July 29, 2014 1 Photo

  • Thanks for the honest deed

    I would like to thank the person that found my wallet in the parking lot of Harris Teeter on July 23 and turned it in to the Albemarle Police.

    July 29, 2014

  • cleaning supplies Don't judge mothers with messy homes

    I was building shelves in my garage when a neighbor girl, one of my 4-year-old daughter's friends, approached me and said, "I just saw in your house. It's pretty dirty. Norah's mommy needs to clean more."

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • We need your help

    Hurray for the Albemarle City Council. Council plans to battle N.C. Department of Transportation’s ranking of all 13 projects in Stanly County to the bottom of their priority list. Council is setting up petitions in various city buildings for citizens to sign.

    July 28, 2014

  • Council asks veterans to seek office

    The terms of office for the leaders of the Stanly County Veterans Council ended June 30. A call is being sent to veterans council members requesting candidates for the four elective offices of the council. A meeting has been set for 6:30 p.m. Aug. 12 at the DAV building. All council members are urged to attend.

    July 28, 2014

  • Mike Walden The gains and gaps in our economy

    Twice a year, I pull out my cloudy crystal ball and attempt to make some predictions about the direction and pace of the North Carolina economy. I just finished my latest effort and, as usual, the results are a combination of pluses and minuses.

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jason O. Boyd Yellow journalism takes on new form, people are dumber for it

    Time to get on the soapbox for a few minutes.
    Let me clear my throat. Eh ... hem!
    People are dumb.

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • Brent Laurenz Special election adds to the mix

    RALEIGH – A busy slate of judicial elections this November got even busier recently when Judge John Martin of the N.C. Court of Appeals announced his retirement.
    A special statewide election to fill Martin’s seat will be added to the general election ballot, joining the four N.C. Supreme Court seats and three N.C. Court of Appeals races already slated for this fall.

    July 25, 2014 1 Photo

House Ads
Seasonal Content