The Stanly News and Press (Albemarle, NC)

Opinion & Letters to the Editor

September 19, 2012

Math success begins with algebra

Wednesday, September 19, 2012 — Changes in society and new expectations of colleges and employers have revolutionized the math curriculum in schools nationwide. Success in algebra often correlates to success in college, so it is very important for today’s students to do their best with this critical subject.

What practical steps can be taken to ease parental concerns and help families build confidence in this new approach to middle and high school mathematics?

Students who take advanced mathematics courses during high school, and begin to study algebra during middle school, are at an advantage. Traditionally, students cannot take a higher-level mathematics class in high school until they have successfully completed Algebra 1.

Encourage children to take algebra early in their educational careers, if they are academically ready.

Students who do not take courses covering algebraic concepts early in their schooling risk missing important opportunities for growth. Some high schools require children to complete specific math requirements in order to graduate. By the end of junior and senior years, students who have not planned ahead have fewer options in what classes they can take and may not be able to complete prerequisite courses. This can restrict a student’s college options and limit their career aspirations.

Persuade children to take additional math classes.

Many students indicate that they do not plan to take math classes beyond their school requirements. Math classes offer critical learning skills that are needed throughout life. Success in algebra correlates with success in higher education and learning reasoning skills. Taking additional math classes helps children to become logical, independent thinkers.

Technology should support math instruction and students should be encouraged to use all of the modern tools at their disposal to gain an understanding of the underlying reasoning and computations used in problem-solving. Educators believe that infusing learning aids and technology during in-school math instruction and homework completion provides an advantage at test time because it allows students to easily absorb and retain crucial math concepts.

 

1
Text Only
Opinion & Letters to the Editor
  • Doug Creamer Maintaining hope

    Gardeners are facing challenges with the weather this year. It seemed like we were getting great conditions in April and May. The weather was warm and we were getting some good rains. Then sometime in June the rain stopped. It got so dry that I didn’t have to cut the grass. While I enjoyed the break, the garden was not happy at all. I was having to water quite a bit to keep the vegetable garden alive and growing.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jason O. Boyd I may be a bit behind the times, but at least I can find ‘America’

    I seem to be reading about and dealing with technology a lot lately.
    I  love technology and have always been fascinated by gadgets of all kinds and the wonderful things they can do. You never seem to go through an entire day without some form of invention enhancing your life.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Brent Laurenz Meeting out in open helps negotiations move ahead

    RALEIGH – State lawmakers reconvened in Raleigh on May 14 promising a brief legislative session this summer, but as July moves along they are still in town and tackling big issues.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Larry's Sketch 7.16.14.tif They don’t give a darn for Duke University

    John “Duke” Wayne’s heirs are suing Duke University over trademark rights.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Your chocolate addiction is only going to get more expensive

    WASHINGTON - For nearly two years, cocoa prices have been on the rise. Finally, that's affecting the price you pay for a bar of chocolate - and there's reason to believe it's only the beginning.

    July 18, 2014

  • Patrick Gannon Don’t forget the losers in state lottery

    RALEIGH – Behind every state lottery dollar that goes to education is a loser.
    There’s also a winner – the teacher whose salary it pays, the student who gets a scholarship or the district where a new school gets built. But we hear about the winners in advertisements and in press releases.
    This column is about the losers.

    July 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • Hodgepodge Cooling an overheated hedgehog and other summer travel stories

    Anybody with a pet during the summer inevitably finds themselves facing this question: What do I do with my pet on vacation?
    There are kennels for dogs, day cares for cats. Shoot, you can even find a friend to take care of your guinea pig.
    But what do you do with a hedgehog?

    July 18, 2014 2 Photos

  • North Carolina Boasts Top Wildlife Magazine and A Success Story

    The following opinion piece was released by the N.C. Wildlife Resources Commission:

    RALEIGH  — When Wildlife in North Carolina, the magazine published by the N.C. Wildlife Resources Commission, was named recently as the nation’s best in its category, it reflected more than accolades as a quality publication.

    July 17, 2014

  • 130408_NT_BEA_good kids We're raising a generation of timid kids

    CHICAGO - A week ago, a woman was charged with leaving her child in the car while she went into a store. Her 11-year-old child. This week, a woman was arrested for allowing her 9-year-old daughter to go to the park alone. Which raises just one question: America, what the heck is wrong with you?

    July 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • 25 hidden secrets in "Weird Al's" "Word Crimes" video

    Yankovic's 14th album was released this week, and it warms my heart containers that he's kept up his geeky brand of humor for so long. While he has written so many incredible songs, none have spoken to my love of proper grammar.
    Until "Word Crimes."

    July 16, 2014

House Ads
Seasonal Content