The Stanly News and Press (Albemarle, NC)

Opinion & Letters to the Editor

September 4, 2013

New book, new author and MLK’s dream

Wednesday, September 4, 2013 — Last week while we were celebrating the 50th anniversary of Martin Luther King’s “I Have a Dream” speech, part of that dream came true.

It came with the publication of Jason Mott's debut novel, “The Returned.” Mott sets his book in the fictional town of Arcadia in the very real Columbus County, where Mott grew up and still lives. Arcadia, says Mott, is a combination of Bolton, his hometown, Lake Waccamaw and Whiteville.

When King gave his famous speech in 1963, Columbus County was not much different than it was in the 1950s, when two local newspapers won Pulitzer prizes for their courageous reporting of substantial Ku Klux Klan activities in the area. It was the kind of place King dreamed could be transformed so that people would be judged by the content of their character rather than by the color of their skin.

What does Mott’s new book set in that county have to do with King’s dream? Mott, who is African-American, describes a fictional Columbus County where the race of its residents seems to make little difference.

To put it bluntly, you cannot tell the whites from the blacks. It is race neutral. Mott’s fictional characters then are judged by the content of their character, just the way Martin Luther King dreamed.

What about the real Columbus County? Not perfect, of course. But Mott says his home county is, for him, pretty much the way he describes it in his book.

What then is this race-neutral book about? Here is a short summary: almost 50 years ago Harold and Lucille Hargrave lost their only child to drowning on his eighth birthday. Now in their 70s, they respond to a knock at their door and are met by a federal agent who tells them he is returning their son, Jacob. The boy, or what appears to be their son, is still eight years old. He recognizes his parents even though they have aged. Harold and Lucille are too old for the job of rearing an 8-year-old, and they worry and wonder about who or what this returned “Jacob” really is.

Meanwhile, across the country and throughout the world, more and more of these returned people appear. Their growing numbers create numerous problems. Anti-returned popular movements emerge and threaten violence against the strange beings. The government orders that the returned people be collected and held in camps. One of these confinement camps is established in Arcadia. Little Jacob is held there, and Harold goes in with him.

Once Mott persuades his readers to believe this speculative premise of dead people reappearing, they must deal with moral questions that are raised by society’s treatments of the returned people. Mott says that his study of the confinement of ethnic Japanese in the United States during World War II had an impact on him. The confinement and discrimination against the returned people in Mott’s story also evokes memories of the Holocaust, slave codes, and the challenges of dealing with illegal immigration.

Mott is a talented storyteller and “The Returned” belongs in the tradition of other important books like “Gulliver's Travels” and “1984,” which raised important social or political issues, but required the suspension of disbelief to appreciate the story.

“The Returned” should be a bestseller because it tells an entertaining and provocative story. But its success is assured because a new ABC television series, “Resurrection,” based on the book and starring Omar Epps, begins March 2014. For an introduction to the story, take a look at the trailer for the new television series at: http: //abc.go.com/shows/resurrection/blogs/news/sneak-peek-video

It will make you want to watch the television series. Before that, read the book, and get the feeling that a small part of Martin Luther King’s dream has come true.

D.G. Martin hosts “North Carolina Bookwatch,” which airs Sundays at noon and Thursdays at 5 p.m. on UNC-TV. For more information or to view prior programs visit the webpage at www.unctv.org/ncbookwatch.

1
Text Only
Opinion & Letters to the Editor
  • D.G. Martin Read others’ views to be better informed, decide for yourself

    “I don’t read The Washington Post. That is not where I get my ideas.”

    July 30, 2014 1 Photo

  • Patrick Gannon This isn’t medical marijuana

    As state legislators debated allowing the use of an extract from marijuana plants to treat seizure disorders over the past couple of weeks, it was evident that social conservatives – there are many of them in the General Assembly – felt a tinge of unease about it, even as almost every one of them voted yes.

    July 30, 2014 1 Photo

  • Doug Creamer Friends and contentment

    Last week I made my annual trip up the mountain to Sparta. My friends have a secluded home near a babbling brook. Their home and property are a haven for peace. It’s a two-plus hour ride to their home that doesn’t feel that long because I look so forward to my time with this great couple. When I arrive, the conversation seems to pick up right where we left it the last time we saw each other.

    July 29, 2014 1 Photo

  • Thanks for the honest deed

    I would like to thank the person that found my wallet in the parking lot of Harris Teeter on July 23 and turned it in to the Albemarle Police.

    July 29, 2014

  • cleaning supplies Don't judge mothers with messy homes

    I was building shelves in my garage when a neighbor girl, one of my 4-year-old daughter's friends, approached me and said, "I just saw in your house. It's pretty dirty. Norah's mommy needs to clean more."

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • We need your help

    Hurray for the Albemarle City Council. Council plans to battle N.C. Department of Transportation’s ranking of all 13 projects in Stanly County to the bottom of their priority list. Council is setting up petitions in various city buildings for citizens to sign.

    July 28, 2014

  • Council asks veterans to seek office

    The terms of office for the leaders of the Stanly County Veterans Council ended June 30. A call is being sent to veterans council members requesting candidates for the four elective offices of the council. A meeting has been set for 6:30 p.m. Aug. 12 at the DAV building. All council members are urged to attend.

    July 28, 2014

  • Mike Walden The gains and gaps in our economy

    Twice a year, I pull out my cloudy crystal ball and attempt to make some predictions about the direction and pace of the North Carolina economy. I just finished my latest effort and, as usual, the results are a combination of pluses and minuses.

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jason O. Boyd Yellow journalism takes on new form, people are dumber for it

    Time to get on the soapbox for a few minutes.
    Let me clear my throat. Eh ... hem!
    People are dumb.

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • Brent Laurenz Special election adds to the mix

    RALEIGH – A busy slate of judicial elections this November got even busier recently when Judge John Martin of the N.C. Court of Appeals announced his retirement.
    A special statewide election to fill Martin’s seat will be added to the general election ballot, joining the four N.C. Supreme Court seats and three N.C. Court of Appeals races already slated for this fall.

    July 25, 2014 1 Photo

House Ads
Seasonal Content