The Stanly News and Press (Albemarle, NC)

Opinion & Letters to the Editor

January 7, 2013

Clark & collards

Monday, January 7, 2013 — I know this is going to sound clichéd, or at least read as a cliché, but New Year’s didn’t seem the same without Dick Clark.

For about a decade prior to my birth and onward, Dick Clark has been synonymous with New Year’s Eve as the Times Square ball drops, Champagne toasts and lonely people kissing their pet at midnight.

You can probably guess which characteristic I fit into.

I watched the special tribute to Clark that aired Monday night. It is amazing how many acts he introduced to the world. The show just had a mere sampling of the talent he brought forth on “American Bandstand” and music award shows.

We can’t forget his work on game shows and with bloopers and practical jokes. Here comes another cliché, but they don’t make shows like that anymore.

But even without Dick Clark, I still managed to watch the countdown to the New Year. It is still a tradition.

The other tradition comes the next day with all the superstitions.

It is said that what you do on New Year’s Day will set the tone for the year to come. So I didn’t wash, except my hands. Laundry is a no-no, otherwise you’d be cleaning all year. (Unless, of course, you operate one of the area cleaning businesses, then we hope you were open Tuesday.)

I did write and work on a few other things, which hopefully sets up a year full of work, with a few breaks for treasure hunting and maybe that cruise.

I had my good-luck foods of collards and cornbread to keep me headed in a prosperous direction.

The New Year’s baby is a traditional symbol of a new year being born.

It is also told that the first person who enters your home on New Year’s Day will dictate how the year goes. Women are said to be bad luck, but I wouldn’t know about that.

Yet, with all the superstitious and traditions, my mind keeps going back to the New Year’s countdown. New York has the ball drop. Memphis watches as a giant guitar descends. Even Charlotte has First Night.

What about us? What could we do? What could we use as a symbol to ring in the New Year?

 

1
Text Only
Opinion & Letters to the Editor
  • Brent Laurenz Special election adds to the mix

    RALEIGH – A busy slate of judicial elections this November got even busier recently when Judge John Martin of the N.C. Court of Appeals announced his retirement.
    A special statewide election to fill Martin’s seat will be added to the general election ballot, joining the four N.C. Supreme Court seats and three N.C. Court of Appeals races already slated for this fall.

    July 25, 2014 1 Photo

  • Patrick Gannon Fake news or sign of some more trouble?

    RALEIGH – Of the three situations I can recall where agencies receiving large sums of taxpayer dollars wouldn’t divulge employees’ salaries, two of them ended badly. The third – involving a group of charter schools in Southeastern North Carolina – is playing out right now.

    July 25, 2014 1 Photo

  • Almost half of America's obese youth don't know they're obese

    WASHINGTON - The good news is that after decades of furious growth, obesity rates finally seem to be leveling off in the U.S.. The bad news is that America's youth still appear to be dangerously unaware of the problem.

    July 23, 2014

  • Darth Vader is polling higher than all potential 2016 presidential candidates

    On the other hand, with a net favorability of -8, Jar Jar is considerably more popular than the U.S. Congress, which currently enjoys a net favorability rating of -65.

    July 23, 2014

  • D.G. Martin Where did all these new voters in North Carolina come from?

    “Voters born elsewhere make up nearly half of N.C. electorate.”
    So begins the latest DataNet report from the UNC Program on Public Life, directed by former journalist Ferrel Guillory.

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • Patrick Gannon Some light for Dems in their time of darkness

    RALEIGH – Earlier this year, state Sen. Ben Clark, a Hoke County Democrat, became a hero for a day among his party and environmentalists when his amendment to require more well water testing near future fracking sites passed the Senate. It even gained the support of a number of GOP senators, against the wishes of the Republican bill sponsor.

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • mama.jpg What we get wrong about millennials living at home

    If the media is to be believed, America is facing a major crisis. "Kids," some age 25, 26, or even 30 years old, are living out of their childhood bedrooms and basements at alarmingly high numbers. The hand-wringing overlooks one problem: It's all overblown.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Doug Creamer Maintaining hope

    Gardeners are facing challenges with the weather this year. It seemed like we were getting great conditions in April and May. The weather was warm and we were getting some good rains. Then sometime in June the rain stopped. It got so dry that I didn’t have to cut the grass. While I enjoyed the break, the garden was not happy at all. I was having to water quite a bit to keep the vegetable garden alive and growing.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jason O. Boyd I may be a bit behind the times, but at least I can find ‘America’

    I seem to be reading about and dealing with technology a lot lately.
    I  love technology and have always been fascinated by gadgets of all kinds and the wonderful things they can do. You never seem to go through an entire day without some form of invention enhancing your life.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Brent Laurenz Meeting out in open helps negotiations move ahead

    RALEIGH – State lawmakers reconvened in Raleigh on May 14 promising a brief legislative session this summer, but as July moves along they are still in town and tackling big issues.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

House Ads
Seasonal Content