The Stanly News and Press (Albemarle, NC)

Opinion & Letters to the Editor

January 14, 2013

Speed up if necessary, take it slow for small stresses

Monday, January, 14, 2013 — I’ve been noticing something troubling lately. It is nothing new, but it is something I don’t think I’ve ever addressed. I think as we set forth into 2013, we need to talk about it.

Do people, in general, care any more?

That’s a very general question I know, but it can be touched in many ways, a few of which follow.

Pedestrians. Do you watch out for pedestrians? Do you, as a pedestrian, feel frightened when crossing the street?

I do. I’ve noticed many times lately that cars do not slow down when I’m crossing through a parking lot and entering a store.

Now, I know, there are many jokes you could make about that. You could joke that many people would probably like to run me over.

But it seems as if cars speed up. Are people so occupied with cell phones or a hectic schedule?

I think it’s probably the stress of a busy schedule. We are always rush, rush, rush. That’s a given in my business. We have to get the story quickly and to our readers, website visitors, Facebook friends and Twitter followers in a timely manner. Many other occupations are the same way.

Yet, when it comes to going to the grocery store or to a movie, is it a necessity to race to get there? Why not leave a few minutes earlier to ensure a safe arrival?

What makes it worse is when someone fails to stop for a stopped school bus or pull over for a first responder or paramedic.

I know this simplifies it some, but have you ever watched the 1970s television show “Emergency?” Even though it is a staged dramatic program, there were instances on it when they would have a wreck going to a wreck or uncooperative bystanders.

These crews have a job to do, so please let them do it. Sometimes we have to attend the scenes of something horrific. We don’t like doing it, but it is part of the job and we’re always respectful of working in the right parameters of the scene.

A few news reporters said the incident at Sandy Hook Elementary put life in perspective.

So with that tragic image still in our memory, as we enter 2013 let’s show more kindness to our fellow man. Slow down when you can. Help someone in need. Let’s place more inspiring stories and positive vibes in our life.

 

1
Text Only
Opinion & Letters to the Editor
  • cleaning supplies Don't judge mothers with messy homes

    I was building shelves in my garage when a neighbor girl, one of my 4-year-old daughter's friends, approached me and said, "I just saw in your house. It's pretty dirty. Norah's mommy needs to clean more."

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • We need your help

    Hurray for the Albemarle City Council. Council plans to battle N.C. Department of Transportation’s ranking of all 13 projects in Stanly County to the bottom of their priority list. Council is setting up petitions in various city buildings for citizens to sign.

    July 28, 2014

  • Council asks veterans to seek office

    The terms of office for the leaders of the Stanly County Veterans Council ended June 30. A call is being sent to veterans council members requesting candidates for the four elective offices of the council. A meeting has been set for 6:30 p.m. Aug. 12 at the DAV building. All council members are urged to attend.

    July 28, 2014

  • Mike Walden The gains and gaps in our economy

    Twice a year, I pull out my cloudy crystal ball and attempt to make some predictions about the direction and pace of the North Carolina economy. I just finished my latest effort and, as usual, the results are a combination of pluses and minuses.

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jason O. Boyd Yellow journalism takes on new form, people are dumber for it

    Time to get on the soapbox for a few minutes.
    Let me clear my throat. Eh ... hem!
    People are dumb.

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • Brent Laurenz Special election adds to the mix

    RALEIGH – A busy slate of judicial elections this November got even busier recently when Judge John Martin of the N.C. Court of Appeals announced his retirement.
    A special statewide election to fill Martin’s seat will be added to the general election ballot, joining the four N.C. Supreme Court seats and three N.C. Court of Appeals races already slated for this fall.

    July 25, 2014 1 Photo

  • Patrick Gannon Fake news or sign of some more trouble?

    RALEIGH – Of the three situations I can recall where agencies receiving large sums of taxpayer dollars wouldn’t divulge employees’ salaries, two of them ended badly. The third – involving a group of charter schools in Southeastern North Carolina – is playing out right now.

    July 25, 2014 1 Photo

  • Almost half of America's obese youth don't know they're obese

    WASHINGTON - The good news is that after decades of furious growth, obesity rates finally seem to be leveling off in the U.S.. The bad news is that America's youth still appear to be dangerously unaware of the problem.

    July 23, 2014

  • Darth Vader is polling higher than all potential 2016 presidential candidates

    On the other hand, with a net favorability of -8, Jar Jar is considerably more popular than the U.S. Congress, which currently enjoys a net favorability rating of -65.

    July 23, 2014

  • D.G. Martin Where did all these new voters in North Carolina come from?

    “Voters born elsewhere make up nearly half of N.C. electorate.”
    So begins the latest DataNet report from the UNC Program on Public Life, directed by former journalist Ferrel Guillory.

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

House Ads
Seasonal Content