The Stanly News and Press (Albemarle, NC)

Opinion & Letters to the Editor

January 14, 2013

Speed up if necessary, take it slow for small stresses

Monday, January, 14, 2013 — I’ve been noticing something troubling lately. It is nothing new, but it is something I don’t think I’ve ever addressed. I think as we set forth into 2013, we need to talk about it.

Do people, in general, care any more?

That’s a very general question I know, but it can be touched in many ways, a few of which follow.

Pedestrians. Do you watch out for pedestrians? Do you, as a pedestrian, feel frightened when crossing the street?

I do. I’ve noticed many times lately that cars do not slow down when I’m crossing through a parking lot and entering a store.

Now, I know, there are many jokes you could make about that. You could joke that many people would probably like to run me over.

But it seems as if cars speed up. Are people so occupied with cell phones or a hectic schedule?

I think it’s probably the stress of a busy schedule. We are always rush, rush, rush. That’s a given in my business. We have to get the story quickly and to our readers, website visitors, Facebook friends and Twitter followers in a timely manner. Many other occupations are the same way.

Yet, when it comes to going to the grocery store or to a movie, is it a necessity to race to get there? Why not leave a few minutes earlier to ensure a safe arrival?

What makes it worse is when someone fails to stop for a stopped school bus or pull over for a first responder or paramedic.

I know this simplifies it some, but have you ever watched the 1970s television show “Emergency?” Even though it is a staged dramatic program, there were instances on it when they would have a wreck going to a wreck or uncooperative bystanders.

These crews have a job to do, so please let them do it. Sometimes we have to attend the scenes of something horrific. We don’t like doing it, but it is part of the job and we’re always respectful of working in the right parameters of the scene.

A few news reporters said the incident at Sandy Hook Elementary put life in perspective.

So with that tragic image still in our memory, as we enter 2013 let’s show more kindness to our fellow man. Slow down when you can. Help someone in need. Let’s place more inspiring stories and positive vibes in our life.

 

1
Text Only
Opinion & Letters to the Editor
  • mama.jpg What we get wrong about millennials living at home

    If the media is to be believed, America is facing a major crisis. "Kids," some age 25, 26, or even 30 years old, are living out of their childhood bedrooms and basements at alarmingly high numbers. The hand-wringing overlooks one problem: It's all overblown.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Doug Creamer Maintaining hope

    Gardeners are facing challenges with the weather this year. It seemed like we were getting great conditions in April and May. The weather was warm and we were getting some good rains. Then sometime in June the rain stopped. It got so dry that I didn’t have to cut the grass. While I enjoyed the break, the garden was not happy at all. I was having to water quite a bit to keep the vegetable garden alive and growing.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jason O. Boyd I may be a bit behind the times, but at least I can find ‘America’

    I seem to be reading about and dealing with technology a lot lately.
    I  love technology and have always been fascinated by gadgets of all kinds and the wonderful things they can do. You never seem to go through an entire day without some form of invention enhancing your life.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Brent Laurenz Meeting out in open helps negotiations move ahead

    RALEIGH – State lawmakers reconvened in Raleigh on May 14 promising a brief legislative session this summer, but as July moves along they are still in town and tackling big issues.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Larry's Sketch 7.16.14.tif They don’t give a darn for Duke University

    John “Duke” Wayne’s heirs are suing Duke University over trademark rights.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Your chocolate addiction is only going to get more expensive

    WASHINGTON - For nearly two years, cocoa prices have been on the rise. Finally, that's affecting the price you pay for a bar of chocolate - and there's reason to believe it's only the beginning.

    July 18, 2014

  • Patrick Gannon Don’t forget the losers in state lottery

    RALEIGH – Behind every state lottery dollar that goes to education is a loser.
    There’s also a winner – the teacher whose salary it pays, the student who gets a scholarship or the district where a new school gets built. But we hear about the winners in advertisements and in press releases.
    This column is about the losers.

    July 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • Hodgepodge Cooling an overheated hedgehog and other summer travel stories

    Anybody with a pet during the summer inevitably finds themselves facing this question: What do I do with my pet on vacation?
    There are kennels for dogs, day cares for cats. Shoot, you can even find a friend to take care of your guinea pig.
    But what do you do with a hedgehog?

    July 18, 2014 2 Photos

  • North Carolina Boasts Top Wildlife Magazine and A Success Story

    The following opinion piece was released by the N.C. Wildlife Resources Commission:

    RALEIGH  — When Wildlife in North Carolina, the magazine published by the N.C. Wildlife Resources Commission, was named recently as the nation’s best in its category, it reflected more than accolades as a quality publication.

    July 17, 2014

  • 130408_NT_BEA_good kids We're raising a generation of timid kids

    CHICAGO - A week ago, a woman was charged with leaving her child in the car while she went into a store. Her 11-year-old child. This week, a woman was arrested for allowing her 9-year-old daughter to go to the park alone. Which raises just one question: America, what the heck is wrong with you?

    July 17, 2014 1 Photo

House Ads
Seasonal Content