The Stanly News and Press (Albemarle, NC)

Opinion & Letters to the Editor

October 3, 2013

A Tribute to Michael W. Taylor

Thursday, October 3, 2013 —

This past Sunday morning, September 29th, Mike Taylor left this earth. Here are a few thoughts that have filled my head since he passed.

I met Mike Taylor when I became the senior pastor of the First Baptist Church of Albemarle in May of 2003. The first relationship we had was pastor to parishioner. Mike and his wife Susan were the best kind of church members, always supportive, always encouraging, always affirming. Mike was a very astute man; he observed the world around him with great clarity. I have no doubt that he had a crystal clear perception of all my flaws and shortcomings, and yet, he always focused on my strengths. His Christ-like compassion called him to affirm me and my ministry often and for that I will forever be in his debt.

It was not long after I came to Albemarle that our relationship became more than formal. Mike and I became friends. I am not sure when it started, but Mike would call one morning about every three or four weeks and ask if I was free for lunch. We shared many noon meals together and great conversations. We talked about faith, the church, politics, movies, and a whole host of other subjects. Those who knew Mike knew of his great intellect. Whenever I was leaving the church office to walk to Mike’s law practice across North Street, I would always say to the secretary, “It is time for the Town Genius and the Village Idiot to have lunch.” She knew that Mike was for the former and I was the latter. I was often confused why someone so brilliant would want to dine with me, but for whatever reason, he did. I cherish my memories of those lunches, and more than that I cherish the thought that Mike wanted to dine with someone vastly intellectually inferior. His friendship was a precious gift.

Text Only
Opinion & Letters to the Editor
  • Almost half of America's obese youth don't know they're obese

    WASHINGTON - The good news is that after decades of furious growth, obesity rates finally seem to be leveling off in the U.S.. The bad news is that America's youth still appear to be dangerously unaware of the problem.

    July 23, 2014

  • Darth Vader is polling higher than all potential 2016 presidential candidates

    On the other hand, with a net favorability of -8, Jar Jar is considerably more popular than the U.S. Congress, which currently enjoys a net favorability rating of -65.

    July 23, 2014

  • D.G. Martin Where did all these new voters in North Carolina come from?

    “Voters born elsewhere make up nearly half of N.C. electorate.”
    So begins the latest DataNet report from the UNC Program on Public Life, directed by former journalist Ferrel Guillory.

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • Patrick Gannon Some light for Dems in their time of darkness

    RALEIGH – Earlier this year, state Sen. Ben Clark, a Hoke County Democrat, became a hero for a day among his party and environmentalists when his amendment to require more well water testing near future fracking sites passed the Senate. It even gained the support of a number of GOP senators, against the wishes of the Republican bill sponsor.

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • mama.jpg What we get wrong about millennials living at home

    If the media is to be believed, America is facing a major crisis. "Kids," some age 25, 26, or even 30 years old, are living out of their childhood bedrooms and basements at alarmingly high numbers. The hand-wringing overlooks one problem: It's all overblown.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Doug Creamer Maintaining hope

    Gardeners are facing challenges with the weather this year. It seemed like we were getting great conditions in April and May. The weather was warm and we were getting some good rains. Then sometime in June the rain stopped. It got so dry that I didn’t have to cut the grass. While I enjoyed the break, the garden was not happy at all. I was having to water quite a bit to keep the vegetable garden alive and growing.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jason O. Boyd I may be a bit behind the times, but at least I can find ‘America’

    I seem to be reading about and dealing with technology a lot lately.
    I  love technology and have always been fascinated by gadgets of all kinds and the wonderful things they can do. You never seem to go through an entire day without some form of invention enhancing your life.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Brent Laurenz Meeting out in open helps negotiations move ahead

    RALEIGH – State lawmakers reconvened in Raleigh on May 14 promising a brief legislative session this summer, but as July moves along they are still in town and tackling big issues.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Larry's Sketch 7.16.14.tif They don’t give a darn for Duke University

    John “Duke” Wayne’s heirs are suing Duke University over trademark rights.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Your chocolate addiction is only going to get more expensive

    WASHINGTON - For nearly two years, cocoa prices have been on the rise. Finally, that's affecting the price you pay for a bar of chocolate - and there's reason to believe it's only the beginning.

    July 18, 2014

House Ads
Seasonal Content