The Stanly News and Press (Albemarle, NC)

Opinion & Letters to the Editor

October 3, 2013

A Tribute to Michael W. Taylor

(Continued)

Thursday, October 3, 2013 —

Beyond our relationship in church and the friendship we cultivated over many years, Mike played another role in my life. During a very dark and difficult time, I sought out Mike Taylor for legal advice. When I explained my situation, his response was not to tell me he should represent me. Instead he said, “You need to hire Bill Tucker. And you need to do that now.” I did not know anything about lawyers or hiring them, so Mike called and made an appointment for later in the week and he went with me to the meeting. That day, because of Mike, I gained a lawyer and ultimately a new friend in Bill Tucker, the honorable Judge Tucker these days.

More recently since I have moved to my new position as Executive Director of Stanly Community Christian Ministry, Mike and Susan have continued to affirm me by faithfully supporting SCCM with their financial gifts and their prayers. They have been a constant presence of affirmation in my life for almost eleven years now.

Through more than a decade, I have dined with the Taylor family both in Albemarle and in their home in Chapel Hill. I have shared many conversations with all five Taylors, Mike, Susan, Will, Sam and John, and I have always felt inspired by their love for one another and their passion for knowledge and faith. Mike, the son of Baptist missionaries, was one of the greatest men of faith I have ever known. He, as all Christians should, believed that one’s faith impacts everything, one’s choices and how one treats others, one’s politics and one’s daily lifestyle, one’s very being intertwined always with the quest to be more like Jesus.

Many of those days when we shared lunch, Mike and I went first to Rock Creek Park and walked the trail before we broke bread together. Those are good memories. This past Sunday morning, when I heard that Mike had left this earth, I added one more thing to my to-do list when I get to heaven. I look forward to taking a walk with Mike again, and then dining together in the Great Banquet Hall of Eternity. Amen.

Roger Thomas is executive director of Stanly Community Christian Ministry.

 

 

Text Only
Opinion & Letters to the Editor
  • Almost half of America's obese youth don't know they're obese

    WASHINGTON - The good news is that after decades of furious growth, obesity rates finally seem to be leveling off in the U.S.. The bad news is that America's youth still appear to be dangerously unaware of the problem.

    July 23, 2014

  • Darth Vader is polling higher than all potential 2016 presidential candidates

    On the other hand, with a net favorability of -8, Jar Jar is considerably more popular than the U.S. Congress, which currently enjoys a net favorability rating of -65.

    July 23, 2014

  • D.G. Martin Where did all these new voters in North Carolina come from?

    “Voters born elsewhere make up nearly half of N.C. electorate.”
    So begins the latest DataNet report from the UNC Program on Public Life, directed by former journalist Ferrel Guillory.

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • Patrick Gannon Some light for Dems in their time of darkness

    RALEIGH – Earlier this year, state Sen. Ben Clark, a Hoke County Democrat, became a hero for a day among his party and environmentalists when his amendment to require more well water testing near future fracking sites passed the Senate. It even gained the support of a number of GOP senators, against the wishes of the Republican bill sponsor.

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • mama.jpg What we get wrong about millennials living at home

    If the media is to be believed, America is facing a major crisis. "Kids," some age 25, 26, or even 30 years old, are living out of their childhood bedrooms and basements at alarmingly high numbers. The hand-wringing overlooks one problem: It's all overblown.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Doug Creamer Maintaining hope

    Gardeners are facing challenges with the weather this year. It seemed like we were getting great conditions in April and May. The weather was warm and we were getting some good rains. Then sometime in June the rain stopped. It got so dry that I didn’t have to cut the grass. While I enjoyed the break, the garden was not happy at all. I was having to water quite a bit to keep the vegetable garden alive and growing.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jason O. Boyd I may be a bit behind the times, but at least I can find ‘America’

    I seem to be reading about and dealing with technology a lot lately.
    I  love technology and have always been fascinated by gadgets of all kinds and the wonderful things they can do. You never seem to go through an entire day without some form of invention enhancing your life.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Brent Laurenz Meeting out in open helps negotiations move ahead

    RALEIGH – State lawmakers reconvened in Raleigh on May 14 promising a brief legislative session this summer, but as July moves along they are still in town and tackling big issues.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Larry's Sketch 7.16.14.tif They don’t give a darn for Duke University

    John “Duke” Wayne’s heirs are suing Duke University over trademark rights.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Your chocolate addiction is only going to get more expensive

    WASHINGTON - For nearly two years, cocoa prices have been on the rise. Finally, that's affecting the price you pay for a bar of chocolate - and there's reason to believe it's only the beginning.

    July 18, 2014

House Ads
Seasonal Content