The Stanly News and Press (Albemarle, NC)

Opinion & Letters to the Editor

October 15, 2013

Increasing numbers of Americans are catching on to Congress

(Continued)

Essentially, too many Americans, discouraged by the imperfections of government, have abandoned it to the yahoos. I am reminded of the saying attributed to Plato: Those who think they are too good for politics are destined to be ruled by those who are not.

Still, the games go on. Late last week, House Republicans — reeling from revelations that the majority of Americans see them as culprits rather than champions — came up with a plan that would raise the nation’s debt ceiling for an additional six weeks, to allow negotiations on such matters as tax reform.

Now, the federal tax code in America is a complicated document, full of special-interest favors. It hasn't been tackled because these beneficiaries will fight tooth and nail to keep what they've won in the past.

Why in the world would anyone think that the two warring parties in Washington will be able to settle all of this in a mere six weeks? The nation will just wind up in the same place.

Such proposals are a consequence of the way things have worked in Washington for far too long. The parties have learned they can fire up their bases and generate campaign contributions with all of these concocted short-term deadlines. It's just another gimmick designed to string us along.

The next round of jabbering from members of Congress should go something like this: We're sorry. Please accept our apology for our inexcusable conduct in Washington and our willingness to put our political ambitions ahead of what's best for the nation. We realize we have a lot of work to do to restore your confidence in us. And if you reject us in the next election, it's our own fault.

Mitchel Olszak is a columnist for the New Castle (Pa.) News.

Text Only
Opinion & Letters to the Editor
  • Jason O. Boyd I may be a bit behind the times, but at least I can find ‘America’

    I seem to be reading about and dealing with technology a lot lately.
    I  love technology and have always been fascinated by gadgets of all kinds and the wonderful things they can do. You never seem to go through an entire day without some form of invention enhancing your life.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Brent Laurenz Meeting out in open helps negotiations move ahead

    RALEIGH – State lawmakers reconvened in Raleigh on May 14 promising a brief legislative session this summer, but as July moves along they are still in town and tackling big issues.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Larry's Sketch 7.16.14.tif They don’t give a darn for Duke University

    John “Duke” Wayne’s heirs are suing Duke University over trademark rights.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Your chocolate addiction is only going to get more expensive

    WASHINGTON - For nearly two years, cocoa prices have been on the rise. Finally, that's affecting the price you pay for a bar of chocolate - and there's reason to believe it's only the beginning.

    July 18, 2014

  • Patrick Gannon Don’t forget the losers in state lottery

    RALEIGH – Behind every state lottery dollar that goes to education is a loser.
    There’s also a winner – the teacher whose salary it pays, the student who gets a scholarship or the district where a new school gets built. But we hear about the winners in advertisements and in press releases.
    This column is about the losers.

    July 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • Hodgepodge Cooling an overheated hedgehog and other summer travel stories

    Anybody with a pet during the summer inevitably finds themselves facing this question: What do I do with my pet on vacation?
    There are kennels for dogs, day cares for cats. Shoot, you can even find a friend to take care of your guinea pig.
    But what do you do with a hedgehog?

    July 18, 2014 2 Photos

  • North Carolina Boasts Top Wildlife Magazine and A Success Story

    The following opinion piece was released by the N.C. Wildlife Resources Commission:

    RALEIGH  — When Wildlife in North Carolina, the magazine published by the N.C. Wildlife Resources Commission, was named recently as the nation’s best in its category, it reflected more than accolades as a quality publication.

    July 17, 2014

  • 130408_NT_BEA_good kids We're raising a generation of timid kids

    CHICAGO - A week ago, a woman was charged with leaving her child in the car while she went into a store. Her 11-year-old child. This week, a woman was arrested for allowing her 9-year-old daughter to go to the park alone. Which raises just one question: America, what the heck is wrong with you?

    July 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • 25 hidden secrets in "Weird Al's" "Word Crimes" video

    Yankovic's 14th album was released this week, and it warms my heart containers that he's kept up his geeky brand of humor for so long. While he has written so many incredible songs, none have spoken to my love of proper grammar.
    Until "Word Crimes."

    July 16, 2014

  • 90-plus welcome to birthday party 

    The Stanly County Senior Center will host our eighth annual 90+ Birthday Party for all Stanly County residents who are 90 years or greater. This event will be held at the Senior Center on July 30 at 2 p.m. The theme this year is “An Afternoon with Old Blue Eyes.”

    July 16, 2014

House Ads
Seasonal Content