The Stanly News and Press (Albemarle, NC)

Opinion & Letters to the Editor

May 12, 2014

‘Cher’ing an experience

Sunday, May 11, 2014 — Mother’s Day.

Today is Mother’s Day.

Usually I would have been scrounging around at the last minute this week looking to find Mom the perfect gift.

It’s hard shopping for Mom.

I mean, she has everything she could ever want and need … me.

But this year is different. This is the first Mother’s Day she has spent without her mom, Grandma. It still is hard to believe, even though it is nearly four months later, that Grandma is gone. We really did believe she would live forever and then within a few minutes she was no longer with us.

That’s why my message today is so important.

Spend time with your mom. Someone once gave me that wisdom, to spend as much time with your parents as you can, because one day there won’t be a time. Even though this person and I grew to not agree on everything, he was right about that.

I do spend a lot of time with Mom and I do still get on her nerves, but in the end I’m the only child she has, so Mom, you’ve got me, and “I’ve Got You Babe.”

Back to the gift. Mom, you really have to watch the kind of hints you drop, because sometimes a comment that is not a hint can be perceived as one.

Mom mentioned last year that if Cher ever came to the area she wouldn’t mind seeing her.

So, after seeing her appear on “Live With Kelly and Michael,” I got us tickets. Because, who else would she take?

The concert was great, with Cyndi Lauper as the special guest. They shared traits, but the performances were vastly different. While Cyndi was comical and interacted on a personal level with the audience more, Cher was just Cher. She was over the top with the signature extravagant wardrobes, acrobats, dancers and multiple set changes. She even traveled throughout the arena on a lift, circling the auditorium like the moon circling the earth — leaving many in the audience starstruck, or at least “Moonstruck.”

A variety of personalities filled the arena, and that is putting it mildly. Some people were up dancing, while others were probably annoyed at some of the language used. Plus, all generations were represented.

Until I say “I Found Someone” in this “Woman’s World” “Strong Enough” to “Believe” in me, “You Haven’t Seen The Last of Me” and Mom at these concerts.

Especially when I let her pay.

(I’m kidding. I paid for the seats and the overpriced food.)

So everyone, as long as “The Beat Goes On,” share some time (or Cher some time) with your mother today if you are still in contact with her.  

I’ll probably end up doing her a favor today … by getting Dad out of the house to see a movie.

She might enjoy that present better than Cher.

B. J. Drye is editor of The Stanly News & Press. Email bj@stanlynewspress.com or write PO Box 488, Albemarle, NC 28002.

1
Text Only
Opinion & Letters to the Editor
  • D.G. Martin Read others’ views to be better informed, decide for yourself

    “I don’t read The Washington Post. That is not where I get my ideas.”

    July 30, 2014 1 Photo

  • Patrick Gannon This isn’t medical marijuana

    As state legislators debated allowing the use of an extract from marijuana plants to treat seizure disorders over the past couple of weeks, it was evident that social conservatives – there are many of them in the General Assembly – felt a tinge of unease about it, even as almost every one of them voted yes.

    July 30, 2014 1 Photo

  • Doug Creamer Friends and contentment

    Last week I made my annual trip up the mountain to Sparta. My friends have a secluded home near a babbling brook. Their home and property are a haven for peace. It’s a two-plus hour ride to their home that doesn’t feel that long because I look so forward to my time with this great couple. When I arrive, the conversation seems to pick up right where we left it the last time we saw each other.

    July 29, 2014 1 Photo

  • Thanks for the honest deed

    I would like to thank the person that found my wallet in the parking lot of Harris Teeter on July 23 and turned it in to the Albemarle Police.

    July 29, 2014

  • cleaning supplies Don't judge mothers with messy homes

    I was building shelves in my garage when a neighbor girl, one of my 4-year-old daughter's friends, approached me and said, "I just saw in your house. It's pretty dirty. Norah's mommy needs to clean more."

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • We need your help

    Hurray for the Albemarle City Council. Council plans to battle N.C. Department of Transportation’s ranking of all 13 projects in Stanly County to the bottom of their priority list. Council is setting up petitions in various city buildings for citizens to sign.

    July 28, 2014

  • Council asks veterans to seek office

    The terms of office for the leaders of the Stanly County Veterans Council ended June 30. A call is being sent to veterans council members requesting candidates for the four elective offices of the council. A meeting has been set for 6:30 p.m. Aug. 12 at the DAV building. All council members are urged to attend.

    July 28, 2014

  • Mike Walden The gains and gaps in our economy

    Twice a year, I pull out my cloudy crystal ball and attempt to make some predictions about the direction and pace of the North Carolina economy. I just finished my latest effort and, as usual, the results are a combination of pluses and minuses.

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jason O. Boyd Yellow journalism takes on new form, people are dumber for it

    Time to get on the soapbox for a few minutes.
    Let me clear my throat. Eh ... hem!
    People are dumb.

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • Brent Laurenz Special election adds to the mix

    RALEIGH – A busy slate of judicial elections this November got even busier recently when Judge John Martin of the N.C. Court of Appeals announced his retirement.
    A special statewide election to fill Martin’s seat will be added to the general election ballot, joining the four N.C. Supreme Court seats and three N.C. Court of Appeals races already slated for this fall.

    July 25, 2014 1 Photo

House Ads
Seasonal Content