The Stanly News and Press (Albemarle, NC)

Opinion & Letters to the Editor

May 12, 2014

‘Cher’ing an experience

Sunday, May 11, 2014 — Mother’s Day.

Today is Mother’s Day.

Usually I would have been scrounging around at the last minute this week looking to find Mom the perfect gift.

It’s hard shopping for Mom.

I mean, she has everything she could ever want and need … me.

But this year is different. This is the first Mother’s Day she has spent without her mom, Grandma. It still is hard to believe, even though it is nearly four months later, that Grandma is gone. We really did believe she would live forever and then within a few minutes she was no longer with us.

That’s why my message today is so important.

Spend time with your mom. Someone once gave me that wisdom, to spend as much time with your parents as you can, because one day there won’t be a time. Even though this person and I grew to not agree on everything, he was right about that.

I do spend a lot of time with Mom and I do still get on her nerves, but in the end I’m the only child she has, so Mom, you’ve got me, and “I’ve Got You Babe.”

Back to the gift. Mom, you really have to watch the kind of hints you drop, because sometimes a comment that is not a hint can be perceived as one.

Mom mentioned last year that if Cher ever came to the area she wouldn’t mind seeing her.

So, after seeing her appear on “Live With Kelly and Michael,” I got us tickets. Because, who else would she take?

The concert was great, with Cyndi Lauper as the special guest. They shared traits, but the performances were vastly different. While Cyndi was comical and interacted on a personal level with the audience more, Cher was just Cher. She was over the top with the signature extravagant wardrobes, acrobats, dancers and multiple set changes. She even traveled throughout the arena on a lift, circling the auditorium like the moon circling the earth — leaving many in the audience starstruck, or at least “Moonstruck.”

A variety of personalities filled the arena, and that is putting it mildly. Some people were up dancing, while others were probably annoyed at some of the language used. Plus, all generations were represented.

Until I say “I Found Someone” in this “Woman’s World” “Strong Enough” to “Believe” in me, “You Haven’t Seen The Last of Me” and Mom at these concerts.

Especially when I let her pay.

(I’m kidding. I paid for the seats and the overpriced food.)

So everyone, as long as “The Beat Goes On,” share some time (or Cher some time) with your mother today if you are still in contact with her.  

I’ll probably end up doing her a favor today … by getting Dad out of the house to see a movie.

She might enjoy that present better than Cher.

B. J. Drye is editor of The Stanly News & Press. Email bj@stanlynewspress.com or write PO Box 488, Albemarle, NC 28002.

1
Text Only
Opinion & Letters to the Editor
  • D.G. Martin Where did all these new voters in North Carolina come from?

    “Voters born elsewhere make up nearly half of N.C. electorate.”
    So begins the latest DataNet report from the UNC Program on Public Life, directed by former journalist Ferrel Guillory.

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • Patrick Gannon Some light for Dems in their time of darkness

    RALEIGH – Earlier this year, state Sen. Ben Clark, a Hoke County Democrat, became a hero for a day among his party and environmentalists when his amendment to require more well water testing near future fracking sites passed the Senate. It even gained the support of a number of GOP senators, against the wishes of the Republican bill sponsor.

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • mama.jpg What we get wrong about millennials living at home

    If the media is to be believed, America is facing a major crisis. "Kids," some age 25, 26, or even 30 years old, are living out of their childhood bedrooms and basements at alarmingly high numbers. The hand-wringing overlooks one problem: It's all overblown.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Doug Creamer Maintaining hope

    Gardeners are facing challenges with the weather this year. It seemed like we were getting great conditions in April and May. The weather was warm and we were getting some good rains. Then sometime in June the rain stopped. It got so dry that I didn’t have to cut the grass. While I enjoyed the break, the garden was not happy at all. I was having to water quite a bit to keep the vegetable garden alive and growing.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jason O. Boyd I may be a bit behind the times, but at least I can find ‘America’

    I seem to be reading about and dealing with technology a lot lately.
    I  love technology and have always been fascinated by gadgets of all kinds and the wonderful things they can do. You never seem to go through an entire day without some form of invention enhancing your life.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Brent Laurenz Meeting out in open helps negotiations move ahead

    RALEIGH – State lawmakers reconvened in Raleigh on May 14 promising a brief legislative session this summer, but as July moves along they are still in town and tackling big issues.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Larry's Sketch 7.16.14.tif They don’t give a darn for Duke University

    John “Duke” Wayne’s heirs are suing Duke University over trademark rights.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Your chocolate addiction is only going to get more expensive

    WASHINGTON - For nearly two years, cocoa prices have been on the rise. Finally, that's affecting the price you pay for a bar of chocolate - and there's reason to believe it's only the beginning.

    July 18, 2014

  • Patrick Gannon Don’t forget the losers in state lottery

    RALEIGH – Behind every state lottery dollar that goes to education is a loser.
    There’s also a winner – the teacher whose salary it pays, the student who gets a scholarship or the district where a new school gets built. But we hear about the winners in advertisements and in press releases.
    This column is about the losers.

    July 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • Hodgepodge Cooling an overheated hedgehog and other summer travel stories

    Anybody with a pet during the summer inevitably finds themselves facing this question: What do I do with my pet on vacation?
    There are kennels for dogs, day cares for cats. Shoot, you can even find a friend to take care of your guinea pig.
    But what do you do with a hedgehog?

    July 18, 2014 2 Photos

House Ads
Seasonal Content