The Stanly News and Press (Albemarle, NC)

Opinion & Letters to the Editor

June 9, 2014

Fracking legislation outpaces caution

Monday, June 9, 2014 — RALEIGH — One might expect legislators to be leery of big energy companies after Duke Energy spilled 39,000 tons of coal ash into a river that flows right through the Senate president pro tem’s hometown.

But recently, neither senators nor representatives had any such qualms when they rushed passage of a shale-gas drilling bill that will actually accelerate the permitting of drilling companies in North Carolina.

In February, coal ash spilled out of a Duke storage pond, into the Dan River and then flowed through Eden, home of Sen. Phil Berger, the Republican Senate leader. Subsequent reports indicate that Duke and state environmental regulators have had a cozy coal ash relationship for years, especially after former Duke Energy official Pat McCrory became governor.

With tangible proof that the combination of an energy company’s mistakes and lax government oversight can create a gooey, expensive-to-clean, tourism-killing mess, the Senate still passed a bill on May 22 that would have lifted the state’s moratorium on fracking, the method of extracting natural gas from shale, in 13 months, even if the state had not approved a set of safety regulations by then.

The N.C. Mining and Energy Commission is expected to have 120 safety rules ready for legislative approval next January. Until last week, the general sentiment was that the legislature had promised not to allow fracking permits until it reviewed each of the rules.

Inter-chamber politics were expected to slow that process. The Senate wants to go gang-busters with fracking; the House has shown more restraint. So, senators wanted a July 1, 2015, start-up date to gain negotiating leverage in any dispute with the House next year.

When the Senate bill reached the House, it was rewritten, but not to slow fracking, but to accelerate it. Now, with Gov. Pat McCrory’s signature on the bill, the state will start issuing permits 60 days after the commission presents the safety regulations to the legislature.

Duke’s coal ash spill shows that even responsible energy companies make environment-fouling mistakes.

But we don’t know if these drillers are as responsible as Duke. We only know they won’t be companies that, like Duke, have been here for a century and will be here until the Rapture. The drillers will come, drill, tear up our roads and landscape, maybe pollute our water, maybe disrupt our geologic foundations and cause seismic problems, and then leave when the gas tank is empty.

While the coal ash threat is bad enough, it pales in comparison to the dangers of irresponsible fracking. Drillers use a nasty, secret recipe of chemicals to recover the natural gas. Responsible scientists fear it will pollute our groundwater.

All through the fracking debate, supporters have said that, when done properly, fracking is safe. But legislators passed a bill that may not be taking all the precautions necessary.

Come January, those with a gung-ho attitude toward fracking will have the legislative advantage and should be able to assure that even weak rules are adopted.

Paul O’Connor is a syndicated columnist for Capitol Press Association and covers activities of the N.C. Legislature.

1
Text Only
Opinion & Letters to the Editor
  • Doug Creamer Friends and contentment

    Last week I made my annual trip up the mountain to Sparta. My friends have a secluded home near a babbling brook. Their home and property are a haven for peace. It’s a two-plus hour ride to their home that doesn’t feel that long because I look so forward to my time with this great couple. When I arrive, the conversation seems to pick up right where we left it the last time we saw each other.

    July 29, 2014 1 Photo

  • Thanks for the honest deed

    I would like to thank the person that found my wallet in the parking lot of Harris Teeter on July 23 and turned it in to the Albemarle Police.

    July 29, 2014

  • cleaning supplies Don't judge mothers with messy homes

    I was building shelves in my garage when a neighbor girl, one of my 4-year-old daughter's friends, approached me and said, "I just saw in your house. It's pretty dirty. Norah's mommy needs to clean more."

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • We need your help

    Hurray for the Albemarle City Council. Council plans to battle N.C. Department of Transportation’s ranking of all 13 projects in Stanly County to the bottom of their priority list. Council is setting up petitions in various city buildings for citizens to sign.

    July 28, 2014

  • Council asks veterans to seek office

    The terms of office for the leaders of the Stanly County Veterans Council ended June 30. A call is being sent to veterans council members requesting candidates for the four elective offices of the council. A meeting has been set for 6:30 p.m. Aug. 12 at the DAV building. All council members are urged to attend.

    July 28, 2014

  • Mike Walden The gains and gaps in our economy

    Twice a year, I pull out my cloudy crystal ball and attempt to make some predictions about the direction and pace of the North Carolina economy. I just finished my latest effort and, as usual, the results are a combination of pluses and minuses.

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jason O. Boyd Yellow journalism takes on new form, people are dumber for it

    Time to get on the soapbox for a few minutes.
    Let me clear my throat. Eh ... hem!
    People are dumb.

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • Brent Laurenz Special election adds to the mix

    RALEIGH – A busy slate of judicial elections this November got even busier recently when Judge John Martin of the N.C. Court of Appeals announced his retirement.
    A special statewide election to fill Martin’s seat will be added to the general election ballot, joining the four N.C. Supreme Court seats and three N.C. Court of Appeals races already slated for this fall.

    July 25, 2014 1 Photo

  • Patrick Gannon Fake news or sign of some more trouble?

    RALEIGH – Of the three situations I can recall where agencies receiving large sums of taxpayer dollars wouldn’t divulge employees’ salaries, two of them ended badly. The third – involving a group of charter schools in Southeastern North Carolina – is playing out right now.

    July 25, 2014 1 Photo

  • Almost half of America's obese youth don't know they're obese

    WASHINGTON - The good news is that after decades of furious growth, obesity rates finally seem to be leveling off in the U.S.. The bad news is that America's youth still appear to be dangerously unaware of the problem.

    July 23, 2014

House Ads
Seasonal Content