The Stanly News and Press (Albemarle, NC)

Opinion & Letters to the Editor

June 9, 2014

Fracking legislation outpaces caution

Monday, June 9, 2014 — RALEIGH — One might expect legislators to be leery of big energy companies after Duke Energy spilled 39,000 tons of coal ash into a river that flows right through the Senate president pro tem’s hometown.

But recently, neither senators nor representatives had any such qualms when they rushed passage of a shale-gas drilling bill that will actually accelerate the permitting of drilling companies in North Carolina.

In February, coal ash spilled out of a Duke storage pond, into the Dan River and then flowed through Eden, home of Sen. Phil Berger, the Republican Senate leader. Subsequent reports indicate that Duke and state environmental regulators have had a cozy coal ash relationship for years, especially after former Duke Energy official Pat McCrory became governor.

With tangible proof that the combination of an energy company’s mistakes and lax government oversight can create a gooey, expensive-to-clean, tourism-killing mess, the Senate still passed a bill on May 22 that would have lifted the state’s moratorium on fracking, the method of extracting natural gas from shale, in 13 months, even if the state had not approved a set of safety regulations by then.

The N.C. Mining and Energy Commission is expected to have 120 safety rules ready for legislative approval next January. Until last week, the general sentiment was that the legislature had promised not to allow fracking permits until it reviewed each of the rules.

Inter-chamber politics were expected to slow that process. The Senate wants to go gang-busters with fracking; the House has shown more restraint. So, senators wanted a July 1, 2015, start-up date to gain negotiating leverage in any dispute with the House next year.

When the Senate bill reached the House, it was rewritten, but not to slow fracking, but to accelerate it. Now, with Gov. Pat McCrory’s signature on the bill, the state will start issuing permits 60 days after the commission presents the safety regulations to the legislature.

Duke’s coal ash spill shows that even responsible energy companies make environment-fouling mistakes.

But we don’t know if these drillers are as responsible as Duke. We only know they won’t be companies that, like Duke, have been here for a century and will be here until the Rapture. The drillers will come, drill, tear up our roads and landscape, maybe pollute our water, maybe disrupt our geologic foundations and cause seismic problems, and then leave when the gas tank is empty.

While the coal ash threat is bad enough, it pales in comparison to the dangers of irresponsible fracking. Drillers use a nasty, secret recipe of chemicals to recover the natural gas. Responsible scientists fear it will pollute our groundwater.

All through the fracking debate, supporters have said that, when done properly, fracking is safe. But legislators passed a bill that may not be taking all the precautions necessary.

Come January, those with a gung-ho attitude toward fracking will have the legislative advantage and should be able to assure that even weak rules are adopted.

Paul O’Connor is a syndicated columnist for Capitol Press Association and covers activities of the N.C. Legislature.

1
Text Only
Opinion & Letters to the Editor
  • Doug Creamer Maintaining hope

    Gardeners are facing challenges with the weather this year. It seemed like we were getting great conditions in April and May. The weather was warm and we were getting some good rains. Then sometime in June the rain stopped. It got so dry that I didn’t have to cut the grass. While I enjoyed the break, the garden was not happy at all. I was having to water quite a bit to keep the vegetable garden alive and growing.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jason O. Boyd I may be a bit behind the times, but at least I can find ‘America’

    I seem to be reading about and dealing with technology a lot lately.
    I  love technology and have always been fascinated by gadgets of all kinds and the wonderful things they can do. You never seem to go through an entire day without some form of invention enhancing your life.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Brent Laurenz Meeting out in open helps negotiations move ahead

    RALEIGH – State lawmakers reconvened in Raleigh on May 14 promising a brief legislative session this summer, but as July moves along they are still in town and tackling big issues.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Larry's Sketch 7.16.14.tif They don’t give a darn for Duke University

    John “Duke” Wayne’s heirs are suing Duke University over trademark rights.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Your chocolate addiction is only going to get more expensive

    WASHINGTON - For nearly two years, cocoa prices have been on the rise. Finally, that's affecting the price you pay for a bar of chocolate - and there's reason to believe it's only the beginning.

    July 18, 2014

  • Patrick Gannon Don’t forget the losers in state lottery

    RALEIGH – Behind every state lottery dollar that goes to education is a loser.
    There’s also a winner – the teacher whose salary it pays, the student who gets a scholarship or the district where a new school gets built. But we hear about the winners in advertisements and in press releases.
    This column is about the losers.

    July 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • Hodgepodge Cooling an overheated hedgehog and other summer travel stories

    Anybody with a pet during the summer inevitably finds themselves facing this question: What do I do with my pet on vacation?
    There are kennels for dogs, day cares for cats. Shoot, you can even find a friend to take care of your guinea pig.
    But what do you do with a hedgehog?

    July 18, 2014 2 Photos

  • North Carolina Boasts Top Wildlife Magazine and A Success Story

    The following opinion piece was released by the N.C. Wildlife Resources Commission:

    RALEIGH  — When Wildlife in North Carolina, the magazine published by the N.C. Wildlife Resources Commission, was named recently as the nation’s best in its category, it reflected more than accolades as a quality publication.

    July 17, 2014

  • 130408_NT_BEA_good kids We're raising a generation of timid kids

    CHICAGO - A week ago, a woman was charged with leaving her child in the car while she went into a store. Her 11-year-old child. This week, a woman was arrested for allowing her 9-year-old daughter to go to the park alone. Which raises just one question: America, what the heck is wrong with you?

    July 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • 25 hidden secrets in "Weird Al's" "Word Crimes" video

    Yankovic's 14th album was released this week, and it warms my heart containers that he's kept up his geeky brand of humor for so long. While he has written so many incredible songs, none have spoken to my love of proper grammar.
    Until "Word Crimes."

    July 16, 2014

House Ads
Seasonal Content