The Stanly News and Press (Albemarle, NC)

Opinion & Letters to the Editor

October 12, 2012

Fixing something that is actually broken

Friday, October 12, 2012 — RALEIGH — It is a rather remarkable campaign season in North Carolina.

Some politicians argue that government is broken. Against that backdrop, state legislators huddle to draft a major overhaul of tax policy.

Meanwhile, few talk about what is very near the breaking point in North Carolina: the state’s system of financing road construction and maintenance.

The signs that the breaking point is near are everywhere, and they go back quite a bit in time.

They can be seen in legislators’ comments that the state can’t afford a new major coastal bridge, even when tolls would pick up 30 percent of the cost. They can be seen in the state’s ambivalent and piecemeal approach to tolls, where it isn’t exactly clear what the priority is for tolling.

They can even be seen in a decade-old change to road financing that allowed road construction dollars to be used more effectively, a change that the then secretary of transportation deemed the most significant change to state road-building policy since the creation of the state’s Highway Trust Fund.

That a change in cash-flow management could be characterized that way is a bigger reflection on the looming problems than the actual policy.

The policy problems for road building and maintenance are pretty straightforward.

The state’s road building and maintenance money largely flows from the gasoline taxes paid by motorists. As more cars and truck move to alternative sources of fuel, and more cars become more fuel efficient, that source of money will dwindle.

Already the cost of road construction and maintenance is rising. One reason is that a primary component of asphalt is petroleum.

So far, the state’s road-building finances haven’t suffered drastically because of a rising population and an increase in miles driven by motorists has meant that dollars collected in the state’s two road-building accounts have risen too.

Text Only
Opinion & Letters to the Editor
  • Thanks for the honest deed

    I would like to thank the person that found my wallet in the parking lot of Harris Teeter on July 23 and turned it in to the Albemarle Police.

    July 29, 2014

  • cleaning supplies Don't judge mothers with messy homes

    I was building shelves in my garage when a neighbor girl, one of my 4-year-old daughter's friends, approached me and said, "I just saw in your house. It's pretty dirty. Norah's mommy needs to clean more."

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • We need your help

    Hurray for the Albemarle City Council. Council plans to battle N.C. Department of Transportation’s ranking of all 13 projects in Stanly County to the bottom of their priority list. Council is setting up petitions in various city buildings for citizens to sign.

    July 28, 2014

  • Council asks veterans to seek office

    The terms of office for the leaders of the Stanly County Veterans Council ended June 30. A call is being sent to veterans council members requesting candidates for the four elective offices of the council. A meeting has been set for 6:30 p.m. Aug. 12 at the DAV building. All council members are urged to attend.

    July 28, 2014

  • Mike Walden The gains and gaps in our economy

    Twice a year, I pull out my cloudy crystal ball and attempt to make some predictions about the direction and pace of the North Carolina economy. I just finished my latest effort and, as usual, the results are a combination of pluses and minuses.

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jason O. Boyd Yellow journalism takes on new form, people are dumber for it

    Time to get on the soapbox for a few minutes.
    Let me clear my throat. Eh ... hem!
    People are dumb.

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • Brent Laurenz Special election adds to the mix

    RALEIGH – A busy slate of judicial elections this November got even busier recently when Judge John Martin of the N.C. Court of Appeals announced his retirement.
    A special statewide election to fill Martin’s seat will be added to the general election ballot, joining the four N.C. Supreme Court seats and three N.C. Court of Appeals races already slated for this fall.

    July 25, 2014 1 Photo

  • Patrick Gannon Fake news or sign of some more trouble?

    RALEIGH – Of the three situations I can recall where agencies receiving large sums of taxpayer dollars wouldn’t divulge employees’ salaries, two of them ended badly. The third – involving a group of charter schools in Southeastern North Carolina – is playing out right now.

    July 25, 2014 1 Photo

  • Almost half of America's obese youth don't know they're obese

    WASHINGTON - The good news is that after decades of furious growth, obesity rates finally seem to be leveling off in the U.S.. The bad news is that America's youth still appear to be dangerously unaware of the problem.

    July 23, 2014

  • Darth Vader is polling higher than all potential 2016 presidential candidates

    On the other hand, with a net favorability of -8, Jar Jar is considerably more popular than the U.S. Congress, which currently enjoys a net favorability rating of -65.

    July 23, 2014

House Ads
Seasonal Content