The Stanly News and Press (Albemarle, NC)

Opinion & Letters to the Editor

October 17, 2012

Change the world, but don’t change my tea

Wednesday, October 17, 2012 — As I make my way to and fro throughout Albemarle on my many adventures for the SNAP, I couldn’t help but notice a large sign hanging in front of the Old Central Elementary School building: For Sale.

I went to this school for the entirety of my elementary years and have many a fond memory of the place.

What will happen to it now?

Who would buy it? What will they do with it? Is it going to become some sort of government building or an outlet mall?

Who knows?

What I do know is that change is coming. That’s not necessarily a bad thing, either, but it does make the world seem a little more strange and confusing.

During my Central years around when I was in the first and second grade, I used to go to my Aunt Jody’s house after school until one of my parents got off work.

Aunt Jody made the best sweet tea.

I remember it vividly because my mother didn’t make it at the time, so to have it was special.

I never tasted anything so good, the perfect combination of tea bitterness with the cloyingly sweet accompanying sugar.

It was the perfect drink to begin my afternoon of play. Tea and fun went together for me like sunshine and happiness.

These memories of playing after school with cousins and drinking tea are some of the fondest of my childhood.

Nowadays, the only times of the year I can depend on to get a refreshing glass of Aunt Jody Tea are holidays.

With Halloween just around the corner and the other major holidays soon to come, I know my nostalgic beverage will be coming into the circle of my life yet again.

And with the contemporary obsession with Splenda spilling over into the world of my beverages — my mother makes Splenda tea, now — I depend on my aunt’s sugar-infused concoction now more than ever.

The Thanksgiving turkey just doesn’t taste right unless I’ve got a glass of Aunt Jody Tea to wash it down with.

I look forward to the tea over the presents tossed out at Christmas time.

I know her tea will taste just like it always has. That I can depend on. I hope it never changes.

This is one of the places where I derive solace.

Change can be good or bad, depending on how one wants to let it effect them.

Enjoy changes and revel in nostalgia, everyone needs a little bit of both to keep on going in today’s world.

 

1
Text Only
Opinion & Letters to the Editor
  • cleaning supplies Don't judge mothers with messy homes

    I was building shelves in my garage when a neighbor girl, one of my 4-year-old daughter's friends, approached me and said, "I just saw in your house. It's pretty dirty. Norah's mommy needs to clean more."

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • We need your help

    Hurray for the Albemarle City Council. Council plans to battle N.C. Department of Transportation’s ranking of all 13 projects in Stanly County to the bottom of their priority list. Council is setting up petitions in various city buildings for citizens to sign.

    July 28, 2014

  • Council asks veterans to seek office

    The terms of office for the leaders of the Stanly County Veterans Council ended June 30. A call is being sent to veterans council members requesting candidates for the four elective offices of the council. A meeting has been set for 6:30 p.m. Aug. 12 at the DAV building. All council members are urged to attend.

    July 28, 2014

  • Mike Walden The gains and gaps in our economy

    Twice a year, I pull out my cloudy crystal ball and attempt to make some predictions about the direction and pace of the North Carolina economy. I just finished my latest effort and, as usual, the results are a combination of pluses and minuses.

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jason O. Boyd Yellow journalism takes on new form, people are dumber for it

    Time to get on the soapbox for a few minutes.
    Let me clear my throat. Eh ... hem!
    People are dumb.

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • Brent Laurenz Special election adds to the mix

    RALEIGH – A busy slate of judicial elections this November got even busier recently when Judge John Martin of the N.C. Court of Appeals announced his retirement.
    A special statewide election to fill Martin’s seat will be added to the general election ballot, joining the four N.C. Supreme Court seats and three N.C. Court of Appeals races already slated for this fall.

    July 25, 2014 1 Photo

  • Patrick Gannon Fake news or sign of some more trouble?

    RALEIGH – Of the three situations I can recall where agencies receiving large sums of taxpayer dollars wouldn’t divulge employees’ salaries, two of them ended badly. The third – involving a group of charter schools in Southeastern North Carolina – is playing out right now.

    July 25, 2014 1 Photo

  • Almost half of America's obese youth don't know they're obese

    WASHINGTON - The good news is that after decades of furious growth, obesity rates finally seem to be leveling off in the U.S.. The bad news is that America's youth still appear to be dangerously unaware of the problem.

    July 23, 2014

  • Darth Vader is polling higher than all potential 2016 presidential candidates

    On the other hand, with a net favorability of -8, Jar Jar is considerably more popular than the U.S. Congress, which currently enjoys a net favorability rating of -65.

    July 23, 2014

  • D.G. Martin Where did all these new voters in North Carolina come from?

    “Voters born elsewhere make up nearly half of N.C. electorate.”
    So begins the latest DataNet report from the UNC Program on Public Life, directed by former journalist Ferrel Guillory.

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

House Ads
Seasonal Content