The Stanly News and Press (Albemarle, NC)

Opinion & Letters to the Editor

October 17, 2012

Change the world, but don’t change my tea

Wednesday, October 17, 2012 — As I make my way to and fro throughout Albemarle on my many adventures for the SNAP, I couldn’t help but notice a large sign hanging in front of the Old Central Elementary School building: For Sale.

I went to this school for the entirety of my elementary years and have many a fond memory of the place.

What will happen to it now?

Who would buy it? What will they do with it? Is it going to become some sort of government building or an outlet mall?

Who knows?

What I do know is that change is coming. That’s not necessarily a bad thing, either, but it does make the world seem a little more strange and confusing.

During my Central years around when I was in the first and second grade, I used to go to my Aunt Jody’s house after school until one of my parents got off work.

Aunt Jody made the best sweet tea.

I remember it vividly because my mother didn’t make it at the time, so to have it was special.

I never tasted anything so good, the perfect combination of tea bitterness with the cloyingly sweet accompanying sugar.

It was the perfect drink to begin my afternoon of play. Tea and fun went together for me like sunshine and happiness.

These memories of playing after school with cousins and drinking tea are some of the fondest of my childhood.

Nowadays, the only times of the year I can depend on to get a refreshing glass of Aunt Jody Tea are holidays.

With Halloween just around the corner and the other major holidays soon to come, I know my nostalgic beverage will be coming into the circle of my life yet again.

And with the contemporary obsession with Splenda spilling over into the world of my beverages — my mother makes Splenda tea, now — I depend on my aunt’s sugar-infused concoction now more than ever.

The Thanksgiving turkey just doesn’t taste right unless I’ve got a glass of Aunt Jody Tea to wash it down with.

I look forward to the tea over the presents tossed out at Christmas time.

I know her tea will taste just like it always has. That I can depend on. I hope it never changes.

This is one of the places where I derive solace.

Change can be good or bad, depending on how one wants to let it effect them.

Enjoy changes and revel in nostalgia, everyone needs a little bit of both to keep on going in today’s world.

 

1
Text Only
Opinion & Letters to the Editor
  • Darth Vader is polling higher than all potential 2016 presidential candidates

    On the other hand, with a net favorability of -8, Jar Jar is considerably more popular than the U.S. Congress, which currently enjoys a net favorability rating of -65.

    July 23, 2014

  • D.G. Martin Where did all these new voters in North Carolina come from?

    “Voters born elsewhere make up nearly half of N.C. electorate.”
    So begins the latest DataNet report from the UNC Program on Public Life, directed by former journalist Ferrel Guillory.

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • Patrick Gannon Some light for Dems in their time of darkness

    RALEIGH – Earlier this year, state Sen. Ben Clark, a Hoke County Democrat, became a hero for a day among his party and environmentalists when his amendment to require more well water testing near future fracking sites passed the Senate. It even gained the support of a number of GOP senators, against the wishes of the Republican bill sponsor.

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • mama.jpg What we get wrong about millennials living at home

    If the media is to be believed, America is facing a major crisis. "Kids," some age 25, 26, or even 30 years old, are living out of their childhood bedrooms and basements at alarmingly high numbers. The hand-wringing overlooks one problem: It's all overblown.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Doug Creamer Maintaining hope

    Gardeners are facing challenges with the weather this year. It seemed like we were getting great conditions in April and May. The weather was warm and we were getting some good rains. Then sometime in June the rain stopped. It got so dry that I didn’t have to cut the grass. While I enjoyed the break, the garden was not happy at all. I was having to water quite a bit to keep the vegetable garden alive and growing.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jason O. Boyd I may be a bit behind the times, but at least I can find ‘America’

    I seem to be reading about and dealing with technology a lot lately.
    I  love technology and have always been fascinated by gadgets of all kinds and the wonderful things they can do. You never seem to go through an entire day without some form of invention enhancing your life.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Brent Laurenz Meeting out in open helps negotiations move ahead

    RALEIGH – State lawmakers reconvened in Raleigh on May 14 promising a brief legislative session this summer, but as July moves along they are still in town and tackling big issues.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Larry's Sketch 7.16.14.tif They don’t give a darn for Duke University

    John “Duke” Wayne’s heirs are suing Duke University over trademark rights.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Your chocolate addiction is only going to get more expensive

    WASHINGTON - For nearly two years, cocoa prices have been on the rise. Finally, that's affecting the price you pay for a bar of chocolate - and there's reason to believe it's only the beginning.

    July 18, 2014

  • Patrick Gannon Don’t forget the losers in state lottery

    RALEIGH – Behind every state lottery dollar that goes to education is a loser.
    There’s also a winner – the teacher whose salary it pays, the student who gets a scholarship or the district where a new school gets built. But we hear about the winners in advertisements and in press releases.
    This column is about the losers.

    July 18, 2014 1 Photo

House Ads
Seasonal Content