The Stanly News and Press (Albemarle, NC)

Opinion & Letters to the Editor

April 15, 2009

The importance of scouting

Tuesday, April 14, 2009 — My name is Danny Storm and I am the chairman for the 2009 Friends of Scouting (FOS) campaign for Stanly County. We have seven counties in this Central North Carolina district serving more than 14,000 youth and leaders in these counties, of which approximately 1,700 are in Stanly County and our goal for Stanly County is to raise $97,000. So far this year with our kick off we are almost half way to where we need to be and your help is much appreciated to support this great organization.

Why is scouting important to me?

The Boy Scouts of America was incorporated on Feb. 8, 1910, and chartered by Congress in 1916, and provides an educational program for young adults to build character, to train in the responsibilities of participating citizenship, and to develop personal fitness.

As an Eagle Scout (highest rank in the boy scouts), I have seen what values scouting can bring. I truly believe scouting is building our future leaders with the values that our country needs.

FOS funds approximately 50 percent of the income needed for the Central North Carolina Council, so this campaign is essential for local scouts. I am aware of the economy turn down and know that these days are tough for all businesses; however scouting is generating our leaders of tomorrow and helping to set the values of our youth.

We are in need of some $250-$2,500 corporate sponsors to help us meet our goals for the FOS and I invite you to help support the Boy Scouts of America. All of these contributions are tax deductible.

The Oyster Roast, which I am sure everyone is familiar with, will be May 1 and this event is to say thanks for your support of the Friends of Scouting. These tickets are not sold and the number of passes is determined by the level of giving.

Text Only
Opinion & Letters to the Editor
  • Almost half of America's obese youth don't know they're obese

    WASHINGTON - The good news is that after decades of furious growth, obesity rates finally seem to be leveling off in the U.S.. The bad news is that America's youth still appear to be dangerously unaware of the problem.

    July 23, 2014

  • Darth Vader is polling higher than all potential 2016 presidential candidates

    On the other hand, with a net favorability of -8, Jar Jar is considerably more popular than the U.S. Congress, which currently enjoys a net favorability rating of -65.

    July 23, 2014

  • D.G. Martin Where did all these new voters in North Carolina come from?

    “Voters born elsewhere make up nearly half of N.C. electorate.”
    So begins the latest DataNet report from the UNC Program on Public Life, directed by former journalist Ferrel Guillory.

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • Patrick Gannon Some light for Dems in their time of darkness

    RALEIGH – Earlier this year, state Sen. Ben Clark, a Hoke County Democrat, became a hero for a day among his party and environmentalists when his amendment to require more well water testing near future fracking sites passed the Senate. It even gained the support of a number of GOP senators, against the wishes of the Republican bill sponsor.

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • mama.jpg What we get wrong about millennials living at home

    If the media is to be believed, America is facing a major crisis. "Kids," some age 25, 26, or even 30 years old, are living out of their childhood bedrooms and basements at alarmingly high numbers. The hand-wringing overlooks one problem: It's all overblown.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Doug Creamer Maintaining hope

    Gardeners are facing challenges with the weather this year. It seemed like we were getting great conditions in April and May. The weather was warm and we were getting some good rains. Then sometime in June the rain stopped. It got so dry that I didn’t have to cut the grass. While I enjoyed the break, the garden was not happy at all. I was having to water quite a bit to keep the vegetable garden alive and growing.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jason O. Boyd I may be a bit behind the times, but at least I can find ‘America’

    I seem to be reading about and dealing with technology a lot lately.
    I  love technology and have always been fascinated by gadgets of all kinds and the wonderful things they can do. You never seem to go through an entire day without some form of invention enhancing your life.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Brent Laurenz Meeting out in open helps negotiations move ahead

    RALEIGH – State lawmakers reconvened in Raleigh on May 14 promising a brief legislative session this summer, but as July moves along they are still in town and tackling big issues.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Larry's Sketch 7.16.14.tif They don’t give a darn for Duke University

    John “Duke” Wayne’s heirs are suing Duke University over trademark rights.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Your chocolate addiction is only going to get more expensive

    WASHINGTON - For nearly two years, cocoa prices have been on the rise. Finally, that's affecting the price you pay for a bar of chocolate - and there's reason to believe it's only the beginning.

    July 18, 2014

House Ads
Seasonal Content