The Stanly News and Press (Albemarle, NC)

Opinion & Letters to the Editor

April 15, 2009

The importance of scouting

Tuesday, April 14, 2009 — My name is Danny Storm and I am the chairman for the 2009 Friends of Scouting (FOS) campaign for Stanly County. We have seven counties in this Central North Carolina district serving more than 14,000 youth and leaders in these counties, of which approximately 1,700 are in Stanly County and our goal for Stanly County is to raise $97,000. So far this year with our kick off we are almost half way to where we need to be and your help is much appreciated to support this great organization.

Why is scouting important to me?

The Boy Scouts of America was incorporated on Feb. 8, 1910, and chartered by Congress in 1916, and provides an educational program for young adults to build character, to train in the responsibilities of participating citizenship, and to develop personal fitness.

As an Eagle Scout (highest rank in the boy scouts), I have seen what values scouting can bring. I truly believe scouting is building our future leaders with the values that our country needs.

FOS funds approximately 50 percent of the income needed for the Central North Carolina Council, so this campaign is essential for local scouts. I am aware of the economy turn down and know that these days are tough for all businesses; however scouting is generating our leaders of tomorrow and helping to set the values of our youth.

We are in need of some $250-$2,500 corporate sponsors to help us meet our goals for the FOS and I invite you to help support the Boy Scouts of America. All of these contributions are tax deductible.

The Oyster Roast, which I am sure everyone is familiar with, will be May 1 and this event is to say thanks for your support of the Friends of Scouting. These tickets are not sold and the number of passes is determined by the level of giving.

Text Only
Opinion & Letters to the Editor
  • Victimized by the 'marriage penalty'

    In a few short months, I'll pass the milestone that every little girl dreams of: the day she swears - before family and God, in sickness and in health, all in the name of love - that she's willing to pay a much higher tax rate.

    April 19, 2014

  • The case for separate beds

    WASHINGTON - The other night I slept on a twin bed in the guest room of the house I share with my husband and our two kids.
    It was the best night's sleep I've had in years.

    April 19, 2014

  • taylor.armerding.jpg Obama's equal pay exaggeration leads us all into danger

    The president's claims of national shame over gender-based pay inequity spring from distorted calculations, as well as some convenient political math.

    April 12, 2014 1 Photo

  • Teens trading naked selfies for mugshots

    Will teenagers ever learn? You think yours will. Maybe so. But it's likely that was also the hope of the parents of children who were so shamed by nude photos of themselves that went south - how else can they go - that they killed themselves.

    April 12, 2014

  • Brent Laurenz If you want to vote in primary, you need to register to vote now

    RALEIGH – North Carolina voters will head to the polls on May 6 this year to cast ballots in important primary elections across the state.

    April 11, 2014 1 Photo

  • Scott Mooneyham Heeding the voter fraud call in N.C.

    RALEIGH – Legislators found the findings outrageous.

    April 11, 2014 1 Photo

  • Doug Creamer Roots

    I took a few minutes over the weekend to enjoy our yard and the arrival of spring. There seems to be so much work that needs to be done, it is hard to decide what to do first. I am excited that I got to run my tiller through the garden. I didn’t go very deep, but I did at least break up the soil. I have a couple of raised beds and the soil in them was in very good shape. I didn’t plant my peas and now after the big rain we got on Monday I realize that I missed a window of opportunity.

    April 11, 2014 1 Photo

  • 10 tips for surviving a severe allergy season

    My colleague Brady Dennis reported recently that the arrival of warmer weather will soon unleash a pollen tsunami in parts of the country where the winter has been especially long and cold. Here are some survival tips from Clifford W. Bassett, an allergy specialist and assistant clinical professor of medicine at the New York University School of Medicine.

    April 11, 2014

  • Is a paleo vegetarian diet possible?

    Research shows most people can follow a regimented eating plan for a short time. That's not the challenge. The challenge is finding a healthful eating plan you can follow day after day and achieve your long-term health goals. At this point, it doesn't appear that the paleo eating plan meets these objectives for most people.

    April 10, 2014

  • Screen Shot 2014-04-08 at 2.16.35 PM.png Are Americans smart to stop drinking diet sodas?

    Recent data from Beverage Digest suggest many are cutting back on diet sodas. Consumption of diet sodas fell more than that of sugary sodas in 2013. This raises two questions: Why is total consumption declining, and is drinking diet soda harmful to health?

    April 10, 2014 1 Photo

House Ads
Seasonal Content