The Stanly News and Press (Albemarle, NC)

Opinion & Letters to the Editor

January 7, 2013

UNC report avoids main questions of scandal

Monday, January 7, 2013 — RALEIGH – To conclude that former Gov. Jim Martin’s review of the athletic and academic scandal that has enveloped the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill was a meaningless exercise would be unfair.  

Unfortunately, many people will come to that conclusion because the report from Martin and the management consulting firm Baker-Tilly fails to answer critical questions raised by revelations regarding student-athletes enrolled in bogus or questionable courses at the school.

The real value of the 77-page report resides in findings that show, in detail, how bogus lecture courses and questionable independent study courses offered by the university’s African and Afro-American Studies Department spiked from 2003 until 2008, while going back as far as 1997.

That is the report’s strength.

The weaknesses include a sweeping conclusion that the scandal is “isolated” and is academic in its origins and not athletic.

How Martin et al could reach that conclusion without answering the most basic question facing the university, the one that all those associated with UNC-Chapel Hill appear willing to go to any lengths to avoid, is a mystery.

That basic question: Who was responsible for steering athletes to these courses?

To come to the conclusion that the Martin report reaches, one has to believe that two people, a professor and his departmental administrator, invented the scheme out of whole cloth and without intending to benefit athletes.

One also must believe that football and basketball players found out about the courses through osmosis.

The evidence from investigative reporters Dan Kane and Andy Curliss of The News & Observer of Raleigh establishes an open-and-shut case that it simply didn’t happen that way.

Former UNC football player Marvin Austin was enrolled in a questionable, upper-level course in the summer before beginning his first full semester as a freshman. How did he know to do that, and who arranged it?

Eighteen football players and a former player filled up a bogus summer course within four days of its creation. So, we are to believe that the good professor called the players, without ever speaking to anyone in academic advising or the athletics department?

And how about that naval weapons course, attended by six basketball players just as an adjunct professor eased up on the course requirements?

The Martin report’s explanation of that course is that departmental administrators were looking to counter bad publicity for ROTC courses, evidenced by graffiti on campus and cast a wider net for students.

There is no mention of whether the dog ate the old syllabus.

The report also states that no evidence was found that academic advisers colluded with professors to create the courses. Interestingly enough, it doesn’t specifically mention whether the review looked for collusion between the athletics department and instructors.

That university officials and those whom they employ have again avoided the central question posed by two years of unsavory revelations leads to the obvious conclusion that the answers must be pretty awful.

Still, they continue to deceive themselves that the stain can be washed away without answering it.

 

1
Text Only
Opinion & Letters to the Editor
  • Do White Castle prices tell us anything about the minimum wage?

    NEW YORK - Economists love hamburgers. Specifically fast-food burgers. This is partly because all right-thinking human beings love ground meat on a bun, but it's also because the sandwich makes a handy yardstick for international financial comparisons. The ingredients and labor involved in preparing a Big Mac are pretty much the same no matter where you are in the world, so by looking at how many hours of toiling it takes a worker to earn enough to purchase one, you can get a sense of how wages really stack up across countries. The Economist famously created the Big Mac index in 1986 to see which currencies were overvalued. It started as a joke. Now, as the magazine proudly notes, it's a subject of academic study.

    April 22, 2014

  • Can Hillary Clinton rock the cradle and the world?

    WASHINGTON - What's most interesting to contemplate is the effect becoming a grandmother will have on Hillary's ambition. It's one of life's unfairnesses that a woman's peak career years often coincide with her peak childbearing years.

    April 22, 2014

  • Doug Creamer All in the Family

    We had a family get-together at my brother’s house on Easter Sunday. It’s hard to get our family together because we are spread out, especially when you consider nieces and nephews. My parents and siblings all made the gathering this year. Some of my nieces and nephews are far away, but they all remember gathering at my brother’s house for the holidays. Easter is known for the Jell-O eggs and the famous Easter egg hunt.

    April 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Victimized by the 'marriage penalty'

    In a few short months, I'll pass the milestone that every little girl dreams of: the day she swears - before family and God, in sickness and in health, all in the name of love - that she's willing to pay a much higher tax rate.

    April 19, 2014

  • The case for separate beds

    WASHINGTON - The other night I slept on a twin bed in the guest room of the house I share with my husband and our two kids.
    It was the best night's sleep I've had in years.

    April 19, 2014

  • taylor.armerding.jpg Obama's equal pay exaggeration leads us all into danger

    The president's claims of national shame over gender-based pay inequity spring from distorted calculations, as well as some convenient political math.

    April 12, 2014 1 Photo

  • Teens trading naked selfies for mugshots

    Will teenagers ever learn? You think yours will. Maybe so. But it's likely that was also the hope of the parents of children who were so shamed by nude photos of themselves that went south - how else can they go - that they killed themselves.

    April 12, 2014

  • Brent Laurenz If you want to vote in primary, you need to register to vote now

    RALEIGH – North Carolina voters will head to the polls on May 6 this year to cast ballots in important primary elections across the state.

    April 11, 2014 1 Photo

  • Scott Mooneyham Heeding the voter fraud call in N.C.

    RALEIGH – Legislators found the findings outrageous.

    April 11, 2014 1 Photo

  • Doug Creamer Roots

    I took a few minutes over the weekend to enjoy our yard and the arrival of spring. There seems to be so much work that needs to be done, it is hard to decide what to do first. I am excited that I got to run my tiller through the garden. I didn’t go very deep, but I did at least break up the soil. I have a couple of raised beds and the soil in them was in very good shape. I didn’t plant my peas and now after the big rain we got on Monday I realize that I missed a window of opportunity.

    April 11, 2014 1 Photo

House Ads
Seasonal Content