The Stanly News and Press (Albemarle, NC)

Opinion & Letters to the Editor

January 9, 2013

‘Les Miserables’: A musical treat?

Wednesday, January 9, 2013 — I should begin by stating that I have seen “Les Mis” multiple times on the stage. I think when one is familiar with the source material, whether it is a book, a stage play or whatever, this affects how one views a film. In my case, I know the story of Jean Valjean backwards, forwards and sideways.  

It is a wonderful story. A man seeks to redeem his life after a crime (albeit a small crime), a term in prison and a bit of grace from a bishop. And that is the heart of the story, the balance of law versus grace. The Christian faith has always struggled with finding that balance. Most people tend to lean one direction or the other. Our current national political situation is proof of this. “Les Miserables,” as well as any story, demonstrates the tragedy that can occur when legalism trumps grace. The character Javert is a man who seeks justice always, even when perhaps grace would provide the more just alternative.  

But I do not write today to praise Victor Hugo’s story. It is a fine one filled with meaning. However, I am writing to critique the new film version.

First, it is the best film adaptation of “Les Mis” that I have ever seen. I have seen quite a few, none of which are musicals except the new version. The most recent one starred Liam Neeson and Geoffrey Rush. That version lacked passion completely.

This new version, with all the music and spectacle has a great deal of passion and emotion. Hugh Jackman gives it his all as Jean Valjean. Russell Crowe, perhaps the weakest singer in the cast, captures the emotional struggle of Javert, seeking to do the right thing as the law defines it but ultimately questioning his own decisions.  

Then there is Anne Hathaway as Fantine (I like the character of Fantine so much I named a cat after her 15 years ago. She has since passed but I still have Fantine’s granddaughter who is a wonderful calico cat).

Hathaway is by far the best thing about this version of “Les Mis.” When she cries, the audience cries with her. And when she sings, the audience cries ever more. She is currently the frontrunner for the Best Supporting Actress. Some say her screen time is too short, but Beatrice Straight had one good scene in “Network” and Judi Dench was on screen about eight minutes in “Shakespeare in Love” and they both won Oscars for their films respectively. Hathaway could too, and I personally hope this is her year.

There is more to like about “Les Mis.” The music, of course, is phenomenal, though I did not find the one new song, “Suddenly,” (which was not in the stage production) to be overly impressive. The sets and costumes are good, but there have been a lot of spectacular productions this year and nothing really singles out this film. It is a well-made entertaining spectacle.  

Which brings me back to my opening remarks. I know this story. I know the stage musical. I knew what was going to happen in the movie, almost every line, note and action. For me, the joy of discovery really did not exist as I watched the film. My greatest surprise was actually how much I was touched by Hathaway’s one great scene.

So, “Les Miserables” is not one of my favorite films of 2012. It will probably get a Best Picture Nomination. It has been getting quite a bit of “awards attention.” And it is a good film just not a great one.  

However, if you are one of the ones who has never experienced the story of Jean Valjean, Javert, Fantine and Cosette, I urge you to go. Your introduction to this story may be one of the best experiences you have had at the cinema in quite a while.

 

1
Text Only
Opinion & Letters to the Editor
  • Almost half of America's obese youth don't know they're obese

    WASHINGTON - The good news is that after decades of furious growth, obesity rates finally seem to be leveling off in the U.S.. The bad news is that America's youth still appear to be dangerously unaware of the problem.

    July 23, 2014

  • Darth Vader is polling higher than all potential 2016 presidential candidates

    On the other hand, with a net favorability of -8, Jar Jar is considerably more popular than the U.S. Congress, which currently enjoys a net favorability rating of -65.

    July 23, 2014

  • D.G. Martin Where did all these new voters in North Carolina come from?

    “Voters born elsewhere make up nearly half of N.C. electorate.”
    So begins the latest DataNet report from the UNC Program on Public Life, directed by former journalist Ferrel Guillory.

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • Patrick Gannon Some light for Dems in their time of darkness

    RALEIGH – Earlier this year, state Sen. Ben Clark, a Hoke County Democrat, became a hero for a day among his party and environmentalists when his amendment to require more well water testing near future fracking sites passed the Senate. It even gained the support of a number of GOP senators, against the wishes of the Republican bill sponsor.

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • mama.jpg What we get wrong about millennials living at home

    If the media is to be believed, America is facing a major crisis. "Kids," some age 25, 26, or even 30 years old, are living out of their childhood bedrooms and basements at alarmingly high numbers. The hand-wringing overlooks one problem: It's all overblown.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Doug Creamer Maintaining hope

    Gardeners are facing challenges with the weather this year. It seemed like we were getting great conditions in April and May. The weather was warm and we were getting some good rains. Then sometime in June the rain stopped. It got so dry that I didn’t have to cut the grass. While I enjoyed the break, the garden was not happy at all. I was having to water quite a bit to keep the vegetable garden alive and growing.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jason O. Boyd I may be a bit behind the times, but at least I can find ‘America’

    I seem to be reading about and dealing with technology a lot lately.
    I  love technology and have always been fascinated by gadgets of all kinds and the wonderful things they can do. You never seem to go through an entire day without some form of invention enhancing your life.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Brent Laurenz Meeting out in open helps negotiations move ahead

    RALEIGH – State lawmakers reconvened in Raleigh on May 14 promising a brief legislative session this summer, but as July moves along they are still in town and tackling big issues.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Larry's Sketch 7.16.14.tif They don’t give a darn for Duke University

    John “Duke” Wayne’s heirs are suing Duke University over trademark rights.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Your chocolate addiction is only going to get more expensive

    WASHINGTON - For nearly two years, cocoa prices have been on the rise. Finally, that's affecting the price you pay for a bar of chocolate - and there's reason to believe it's only the beginning.

    July 18, 2014

House Ads
Seasonal Content