The Stanly News and Press (Albemarle, NC)

Opinion & Letters to the Editor

June 25, 2014

‘Saving Texas,’ forget Scotland

Tuesday, June 24, 2014 — How does Harry Potter feel about the hotly contested proposal to separate Scotland from the United Kingdom?

Edinburgh-based author, JK Rowling who created Harry Potter, opposes the proposal. She donated one million pounds to an organization fighting the proposal, which comes to a vote this fall. She worries that Scottish universities would lose funding for important research if Scotland was independent.

Other opponents of independence point out a variety of problems that Scotland would face. What kind of currency would it use? How would it manage its defense? Could it be a member of NATO and the European Union? What would be the impact on its universities? Would the Scots living in England and the English living in Scotland have to choose which country would be their homeland?

It is a complicated and interesting situation. But why should North Carolinians care?

Remember that North Carolina and Scotland share a common heritage. A good reminder comes fall when UNC Press releases “Wayfaring Strangers: The Musical Voyage from Scotland and Ulster to Appalachia” by Doug Orr and Fiona Richie.

Remember that we also separated from Great Britain ourselves almost 230 years ago. Scottish immigrants in North Carolina fought on both sides during out Revolutionary War, divided on the separation question just like today’s Scots.

Then, 150 years ago, North Carolinians and other Southerners tried to separate from the United States, ironically adopting a battle flag with a St. Andrew’s cross, similar in design to the Scottish flag.

Even today, as North Carolina rejects national programs like Common Core and expanded Medicaid, there is a light breeze of independence stirring.

But our light breeze of discontent is nothing like Texas. We do not have active major political leaders making careless pro-secessionist sounding remarks like those of Texas governor Rick Perry. Even though Perry never seriously advocated Texas secession, he winked at the idea, and paid a price for it in his unsuccessful 2012 presidential campaign.

Possible Texas secession is a serious underpinning of a new novel, “Saving Texas,” by Charlotte writer Nancy Stancill, a former reporter at The Houston Chronicle and The Charlotte Observer.

Along with secession, Stancill uses murder, assassination plots, illegal militia, higher education fraud, Mexican drug kingpins, newsroom competition and backstabbing, adulterous sex and travel through the vast reaches of Texas from Dallas, Houston, and Austin to the dry country of West Texas. All this keeps us turning the pages until her reporter heroine brings down a plot to win control of Texas government and lead the state out of the union.

Annie Price, a reporter for the fictional Houston Times writes a profile of Tom Marr, a West Texas rancher who is planning a campaign for governor. While interviewing Marr about his platform and secessionist platform, the two develop a strong attraction for each other, a complication that spices up the remainder of the story.

Meanwhile, Marr’s two closest friends are using a community college to steal money from the Texas and Federal governments to fund Marr’s campaign and to recruit and train a private militia. One of Marr’s friends hires, and loves, a beautiful and accomplished Peruvian assassin who, with creativity and precision, gets rid of the group’s enemies.

It is no spoiler to tell you that in the end, the good guys win. Sort of. The bad guys are still alive and could come back to cause more trouble should Stancill decide to write a sequel.

In the meantime, thanks to Nancy Stancill for clearing my mind. While I was flipping the pages of her mesmerizing book, I did not worry one bit about Scotland leaving the United Kingdom.

 

D.G. Martin hosts “North Carolina Bookwatch,” which airs Sundays at 12 p.m. and Thursdays at 5 p.m. on UNC-TV.

1
Text Only
Opinion & Letters to the Editor
  • Jason O. Boyd Yellow journalism takes on new form, people are dumber for it

    Time to get on the soapbox for a few minutes.
    Let me clear my throat. Eh ... hem!
    People are dumb.

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • Brent Laurenz Special election adds to the mix

    RALEIGH – A busy slate of judicial elections this November got even busier recently when Judge John Martin of the N.C. Court of Appeals announced his retirement.
    A special statewide election to fill Martin’s seat will be added to the general election ballot, joining the four N.C. Supreme Court seats and three N.C. Court of Appeals races already slated for this fall.

    July 25, 2014 1 Photo

  • Patrick Gannon Fake news or sign of some more trouble?

    RALEIGH – Of the three situations I can recall where agencies receiving large sums of taxpayer dollars wouldn’t divulge employees’ salaries, two of them ended badly. The third – involving a group of charter schools in Southeastern North Carolina – is playing out right now.

    July 25, 2014 1 Photo

  • Almost half of America's obese youth don't know they're obese

    WASHINGTON - The good news is that after decades of furious growth, obesity rates finally seem to be leveling off in the U.S.. The bad news is that America's youth still appear to be dangerously unaware of the problem.

    July 23, 2014

  • Darth Vader is polling higher than all potential 2016 presidential candidates

    On the other hand, with a net favorability of -8, Jar Jar is considerably more popular than the U.S. Congress, which currently enjoys a net favorability rating of -65.

    July 23, 2014

  • D.G. Martin Where did all these new voters in North Carolina come from?

    “Voters born elsewhere make up nearly half of N.C. electorate.”
    So begins the latest DataNet report from the UNC Program on Public Life, directed by former journalist Ferrel Guillory.

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • Patrick Gannon Some light for Dems in their time of darkness

    RALEIGH – Earlier this year, state Sen. Ben Clark, a Hoke County Democrat, became a hero for a day among his party and environmentalists when his amendment to require more well water testing near future fracking sites passed the Senate. It even gained the support of a number of GOP senators, against the wishes of the Republican bill sponsor.

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • mama.jpg What we get wrong about millennials living at home

    If the media is to be believed, America is facing a major crisis. "Kids," some age 25, 26, or even 30 years old, are living out of their childhood bedrooms and basements at alarmingly high numbers. The hand-wringing overlooks one problem: It's all overblown.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Doug Creamer Maintaining hope

    Gardeners are facing challenges with the weather this year. It seemed like we were getting great conditions in April and May. The weather was warm and we were getting some good rains. Then sometime in June the rain stopped. It got so dry that I didn’t have to cut the grass. While I enjoyed the break, the garden was not happy at all. I was having to water quite a bit to keep the vegetable garden alive and growing.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jason O. Boyd I may be a bit behind the times, but at least I can find ‘America’

    I seem to be reading about and dealing with technology a lot lately.
    I  love technology and have always been fascinated by gadgets of all kinds and the wonderful things they can do. You never seem to go through an entire day without some form of invention enhancing your life.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

House Ads
Seasonal Content