The Stanly News and Press (Albemarle, NC)

Opinion & Letters to the Editor

January 24, 2014

Passing Inspection

Friday, January 24, 2014 — I have to take my car up to the shop today for an inspection. I am not concerned about whether it will pass or not, I think everything is in order. I like the fact that we have to have our cars checked once a year to make sure things are alright. How am I supposed to know if a light is out in the back of my vehicle unless someone tells me? I want everything to be in good working order so other drivers will know where I am and what I am planning to do.

Our school system has invited OSHA in to inspect us. If you volunteer for an inspection you have the opportunity to get into compliance and avoid some of the fines. As standards change it also gives us the opportunity to learn how to stay in compliance. One of the things teachers have had to do is make sure we have MSDS sheets in our rooms for cleaning products. MSDS sheets explain the hazardous materials in products and how to provide medical treatment for exposure to those chemicals. This kind of inspection should be helpful so we can keep both the students and the employees in our schools safe.

Last week we did an inspection on our students to be sure they had learned what we taught them in our courses. We took exams. I was pleased with the progress of most of my students. There are always a few who refuse to study or prepare for the exams and their scores show their lack of effort. An inspection of the students’ progress and abilities through testing often reflects on their individual motivation and their personal preparation. Like cars and schools, we hope students prepare and pass their inspections.

We ought to do an inspection on our spiritual houses. Every house needs a firm foundation, so does our spiritual home. Have you built your foundation on Jesus Christ? The storms of life will affect all of us at times. If our foundation is not securely on Christ, then our spiritual homes might come crashing down. Jesus and his saving grace should be the starting place of any spiritual journey that will end in eternity with God.

Text Only
Opinion & Letters to the Editor
  • Brent Laurenz Special election adds to the mix

    RALEIGH – A busy slate of judicial elections this November got even busier recently when Judge John Martin of the N.C. Court of Appeals announced his retirement.
    A special statewide election to fill Martin’s seat will be added to the general election ballot, joining the four N.C. Supreme Court seats and three N.C. Court of Appeals races already slated for this fall.

    July 25, 2014 1 Photo

  • Patrick Gannon Fake news or sign of some more trouble?

    RALEIGH – Of the three situations I can recall where agencies receiving large sums of taxpayer dollars wouldn’t divulge employees’ salaries, two of them ended badly. The third – involving a group of charter schools in Southeastern North Carolina – is playing out right now.

    July 25, 2014 1 Photo

  • Almost half of America's obese youth don't know they're obese

    WASHINGTON - The good news is that after decades of furious growth, obesity rates finally seem to be leveling off in the U.S.. The bad news is that America's youth still appear to be dangerously unaware of the problem.

    July 23, 2014

  • Darth Vader is polling higher than all potential 2016 presidential candidates

    On the other hand, with a net favorability of -8, Jar Jar is considerably more popular than the U.S. Congress, which currently enjoys a net favorability rating of -65.

    July 23, 2014

  • D.G. Martin Where did all these new voters in North Carolina come from?

    “Voters born elsewhere make up nearly half of N.C. electorate.”
    So begins the latest DataNet report from the UNC Program on Public Life, directed by former journalist Ferrel Guillory.

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • Patrick Gannon Some light for Dems in their time of darkness

    RALEIGH – Earlier this year, state Sen. Ben Clark, a Hoke County Democrat, became a hero for a day among his party and environmentalists when his amendment to require more well water testing near future fracking sites passed the Senate. It even gained the support of a number of GOP senators, against the wishes of the Republican bill sponsor.

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • mama.jpg What we get wrong about millennials living at home

    If the media is to be believed, America is facing a major crisis. "Kids," some age 25, 26, or even 30 years old, are living out of their childhood bedrooms and basements at alarmingly high numbers. The hand-wringing overlooks one problem: It's all overblown.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Doug Creamer Maintaining hope

    Gardeners are facing challenges with the weather this year. It seemed like we were getting great conditions in April and May. The weather was warm and we were getting some good rains. Then sometime in June the rain stopped. It got so dry that I didn’t have to cut the grass. While I enjoyed the break, the garden was not happy at all. I was having to water quite a bit to keep the vegetable garden alive and growing.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jason O. Boyd I may be a bit behind the times, but at least I can find ‘America’

    I seem to be reading about and dealing with technology a lot lately.
    I  love technology and have always been fascinated by gadgets of all kinds and the wonderful things they can do. You never seem to go through an entire day without some form of invention enhancing your life.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Brent Laurenz Meeting out in open helps negotiations move ahead

    RALEIGH – State lawmakers reconvened in Raleigh on May 14 promising a brief legislative session this summer, but as July moves along they are still in town and tackling big issues.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

House Ads
Seasonal Content