The Stanly News and Press (Albemarle, NC)

Opinion & Letters to the Editor

January 24, 2014

Passing Inspection

Friday, January 24, 2014 — I have to take my car up to the shop today for an inspection. I am not concerned about whether it will pass or not, I think everything is in order. I like the fact that we have to have our cars checked once a year to make sure things are alright. How am I supposed to know if a light is out in the back of my vehicle unless someone tells me? I want everything to be in good working order so other drivers will know where I am and what I am planning to do.

Our school system has invited OSHA in to inspect us. If you volunteer for an inspection you have the opportunity to get into compliance and avoid some of the fines. As standards change it also gives us the opportunity to learn how to stay in compliance. One of the things teachers have had to do is make sure we have MSDS sheets in our rooms for cleaning products. MSDS sheets explain the hazardous materials in products and how to provide medical treatment for exposure to those chemicals. This kind of inspection should be helpful so we can keep both the students and the employees in our schools safe.

Last week we did an inspection on our students to be sure they had learned what we taught them in our courses. We took exams. I was pleased with the progress of most of my students. There are always a few who refuse to study or prepare for the exams and their scores show their lack of effort. An inspection of the students’ progress and abilities through testing often reflects on their individual motivation and their personal preparation. Like cars and schools, we hope students prepare and pass their inspections.

We ought to do an inspection on our spiritual houses. Every house needs a firm foundation, so does our spiritual home. Have you built your foundation on Jesus Christ? The storms of life will affect all of us at times. If our foundation is not securely on Christ, then our spiritual homes might come crashing down. Jesus and his saving grace should be the starting place of any spiritual journey that will end in eternity with God.

Text Only
Opinion & Letters to the Editor
  • taylor.armerding.jpg Obama's equal pay exaggeration leads us all into danger

    The president's claims of national shame over gender-based pay inequity spring from distorted calculations, as well as some convenient political math.

    April 12, 2014 1 Photo

  • Teens trading naked selfies for mugshots

    Will teenagers ever learn? You think yours will. Maybe so. But it's likely that was also the hope of the parents of children who were so shamed by nude photos of themselves that went south - how else can they go - that they killed themselves.

    April 12, 2014

  • Brent Laurenz If you want to vote in primary, you need to register to vote now

    RALEIGH – North Carolina voters will head to the polls on May 6 this year to cast ballots in important primary elections across the state.

    April 11, 2014 1 Photo

  • Scott Mooneyham Heeding the voter fraud call in N.C.

    RALEIGH – Legislators found the findings outrageous.

    April 11, 2014 1 Photo

  • Doug Creamer Roots

    I took a few minutes over the weekend to enjoy our yard and the arrival of spring. There seems to be so much work that needs to be done, it is hard to decide what to do first. I am excited that I got to run my tiller through the garden. I didn’t go very deep, but I did at least break up the soil. I have a couple of raised beds and the soil in them was in very good shape. I didn’t plant my peas and now after the big rain we got on Monday I realize that I missed a window of opportunity.

    April 11, 2014 1 Photo

  • 10 tips for surviving a severe allergy season

    My colleague Brady Dennis reported recently that the arrival of warmer weather will soon unleash a pollen tsunami in parts of the country where the winter has been especially long and cold. Here are some survival tips from Clifford W. Bassett, an allergy specialist and assistant clinical professor of medicine at the New York University School of Medicine.

    April 11, 2014

  • Is a paleo vegetarian diet possible?

    Research shows most people can follow a regimented eating plan for a short time. That's not the challenge. The challenge is finding a healthful eating plan you can follow day after day and achieve your long-term health goals. At this point, it doesn't appear that the paleo eating plan meets these objectives for most people.

    April 10, 2014

  • Screen Shot 2014-04-08 at 2.16.35 PM.png Are Americans smart to stop drinking diet sodas?

    Recent data from Beverage Digest suggest many are cutting back on diet sodas. Consumption of diet sodas fell more than that of sugary sodas in 2013. This raises two questions: Why is total consumption declining, and is drinking diet soda harmful to health?

    April 10, 2014 1 Photo

  • To get quality care, it helps to be the right kind of patient

    I am a family physician. Sometimes I must step out of the comfort of my clinical role and into that of patient or family caregiver. Generally, these trips to the other side of the exam table inspire a fair amount of anxiety.

    April 10, 2014

  • Hospice of Stanly County should be the one we support

    Regarding your recent article about Community Hospice relocating its offices from one location in Troy to another, let me point out a few things.

    April 10, 2014

House Ads
Seasonal Content