The Stanly News and Press (Albemarle, NC)

Opinion & Letters to the Editor

January 24, 2014

Passing Inspection

(Continued)

Friday, January 24, 2014 —

If your foundation is on Christ, then you need to look at your spiritual home and determine what materials you used to build upon the solid rock of Christ. The three little pigs all built homes but they used different building materials. The big, bad wolf came and blew away the homes made out of straw and wood, but he could not destroy the house of brick. I promise you that Satan will rise up against your house, and if it is made of wood and straw or laid on a foundation of sand, your house will fall.

Building your spiritual house takes time if you want to build it strong. The building materials include spending time in God’s word and in prayer. Some people can read the Bible like reading the paper, an hour later they don’t remember a thing they read. To build a strong house we have to think about God’s word, meditate on it and apply it to our lives. It’s the application that makes the strongest bricks.

Our home is near some trees and I am amazed at how much they protect us from the blistering summer sun. In the same way, we need to build our spiritual homes in the shadow of God’s wings. We need to remember that God is our strong tower in times of trouble. We need to put our faith, hope and trust in the Lord. When the enemy attacks we have to stand our ground and remember that the Lord will fight on our side. Many people believe that we don’t have to fight, but David had to fight Goliath. When the walls of Jericho fell, the Israelites had to go in and take the city. God fights with us, but we have to do our part in the battle.

Text Only
Opinion & Letters to the Editor
  • Schyler Martin As wonderful as Ireland was, there’s just no place like home

    I expected a lot of things from my six-week study abroad program in Dublin, Ireland.
    I expected to miss family and friends, I expected to see a lot of things that I’d never seen before and I expected, more than anything else, to yearn for sweet tea. For the record, I did miss sweet tea quite terribly.

    August 1, 2014 3 Photos

  • taylor.armerding.jpg Impeachment arms Democrats, doesn't end the Obama disaster

    Republicans may have grounds to impeach President Barack Obama but they would be daft to pursue a case they cannot win in a Senate controlled by Democrats. Impeachment would only drive the Democrats' fundraising and potentially squander the GOP's best opportunity in years to capture both houses of Congress then, in two years, the White House.

    August 1, 2014 1 Photo

  • Brent Laurenz Wrangling over pay for teachers

    RALEIGH – When the N.C. General Assembly reconvened in mid-May, there was talk of a short, efficient session.

    August 1, 2014 1 Photo

  • Medical marijuana opponents' most powerful argument is at odds with a mountain of research

    Opponents of marijuana legalization are rapidly losing the battle for hearts and minds. Simply put, the public understands that however you measure the consequences of marijuana use, the drug is significantly less harmful to users and society than tobacco or alcohol.

    August 1, 2014

  • Patrick Gannon Two sides in debate about film incentives

    RALEIGH – It’s looking like the current film incentives program may be scrapped for a much different grant program for TV and movie production companies.

    August 1, 2014 1 Photo

  • D.G. Martin Read others’ views to be better informed, decide for yourself

    “I don’t read The Washington Post. That is not where I get my ideas.”

    July 30, 2014 1 Photo

  • Patrick Gannon This isn’t medical marijuana

    As state legislators debated allowing the use of an extract from marijuana plants to treat seizure disorders over the past couple of weeks, it was evident that social conservatives – there are many of them in the General Assembly – felt a tinge of unease about it, even as almost every one of them voted yes.

    July 30, 2014 1 Photo

  • Doug Creamer Friends and contentment

    Last week I made my annual trip up the mountain to Sparta. My friends have a secluded home near a babbling brook. Their home and property are a haven for peace. It’s a two-plus hour ride to their home that doesn’t feel that long because I look so forward to my time with this great couple. When I arrive, the conversation seems to pick up right where we left it the last time we saw each other.

    July 29, 2014 1 Photo

  • Thanks for the honest deed

    I would like to thank the person that found my wallet in the parking lot of Harris Teeter on July 23 and turned it in to the Albemarle Police.

    July 29, 2014

  • cleaning supplies Don't judge mothers with messy homes

    I was building shelves in my garage when a neighbor girl, one of my 4-year-old daughter's friends, approached me and said, "I just saw in your house. It's pretty dirty. Norah's mommy needs to clean more."

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

House Ads
Seasonal Content