The Stanly News and Press (Albemarle, NC)

Opinion & Letters to the Editor

January 31, 2014

Complaints about code words a diversion to silence Obama's critics

Editor's note: CNHI newspapers that are not weekly subscribers to Taylor Armerding's column may publish this one if they notify him at t.armerding@verizon.net.

The list of racist "dog whistle” terms got a little longer over the past couple of weeks, which is a clear signal that efforts to distract the public from the Obama administration’s scandals and failures are becoming increasingly desperate.

This past week’s savior for Obama’s acolytes was Richard Sherman, the amped-up Seattle Seahawks cornerback.

Sherman complained, after some people called him a “thug” for his over-the-top rant following Seattle’s victory over the San Francisco 49ers two weeks ago, that the term has become an “accepted way of calling somebody the N-word.”

Sherman is right to complain about the excessive criticism. What he said makes him one in a long line of tiresome, self-absorbed, athletic braggarts, but it doesn’t come close to making him a thug.

But he is dead wrong about “thug” being code. So are the usual crowd of lefties and race hustlers who've come rushing to say that Sherman is right and that anybody who has ever called President Obama a thug – or, in particular, a “Chicago thug” – is guilty of delivering a barely closeted racial slur.

Uh, no, they are not.

As other, more sane observers have pointed out, the word “thug” has been applied to the all-white Republican governor of New Jersey, Chris Christie, and his staff hundreds of times in the last few weeks – for good reason, at least when it comes to his staff. It was clearly political thuggery to cause major traffic jams by closing lanes to the George Washington Bridge from Fort Lee, N.J., for no apparent reason other than payback to one of Christie’s Democratic detractors.

Text Only
Opinion & Letters to the Editor
  • taylor.armerding.jpg Obama's equal pay exaggeration leads us all into danger

    The president's claims of national shame over gender-based pay inequity spring from distorted calculations, as well as some convenient political math.

    April 12, 2014 1 Photo

  • Teens trading naked selfies for mugshots

    Will teenagers ever learn? You think yours will. Maybe so. But it's likely that was also the hope of the parents of children who were so shamed by nude photos of themselves that went south - how else can they go - that they killed themselves.

    April 12, 2014

  • Brent Laurenz If you want to vote in primary, you need to register to vote now

    RALEIGH – North Carolina voters will head to the polls on May 6 this year to cast ballots in important primary elections across the state.

    April 11, 2014 1 Photo

  • Scott Mooneyham Heeding the voter fraud call in N.C.

    RALEIGH – Legislators found the findings outrageous.

    April 11, 2014 1 Photo

  • Doug Creamer Roots

    I took a few minutes over the weekend to enjoy our yard and the arrival of spring. There seems to be so much work that needs to be done, it is hard to decide what to do first. I am excited that I got to run my tiller through the garden. I didn’t go very deep, but I did at least break up the soil. I have a couple of raised beds and the soil in them was in very good shape. I didn’t plant my peas and now after the big rain we got on Monday I realize that I missed a window of opportunity.

    April 11, 2014 1 Photo

  • 10 tips for surviving a severe allergy season

    My colleague Brady Dennis reported recently that the arrival of warmer weather will soon unleash a pollen tsunami in parts of the country where the winter has been especially long and cold. Here are some survival tips from Clifford W. Bassett, an allergy specialist and assistant clinical professor of medicine at the New York University School of Medicine.

    April 11, 2014

  • Is a paleo vegetarian diet possible?

    Research shows most people can follow a regimented eating plan for a short time. That's not the challenge. The challenge is finding a healthful eating plan you can follow day after day and achieve your long-term health goals. At this point, it doesn't appear that the paleo eating plan meets these objectives for most people.

    April 10, 2014

  • Screen Shot 2014-04-08 at 2.16.35 PM.png Are Americans smart to stop drinking diet sodas?

    Recent data from Beverage Digest suggest many are cutting back on diet sodas. Consumption of diet sodas fell more than that of sugary sodas in 2013. This raises two questions: Why is total consumption declining, and is drinking diet soda harmful to health?

    April 10, 2014 1 Photo

  • To get quality care, it helps to be the right kind of patient

    I am a family physician. Sometimes I must step out of the comfort of my clinical role and into that of patient or family caregiver. Generally, these trips to the other side of the exam table inspire a fair amount of anxiety.

    April 10, 2014

  • Hospice of Stanly County should be the one we support

    Regarding your recent article about Community Hospice relocating its offices from one location in Troy to another, let me point out a few things.

    April 10, 2014

House Ads
Seasonal Content