The Stanly News and Press (Albemarle, NC)

Opinion & Letters to the Editor

January 31, 2014

Complaints about code words a diversion to silence Obama's critics

(Continued)

But are we supposed to believe that Christie, who gets insulted regularly in all kinds of ways, is the object of a racial slur?

And that is just the most recent example. A host of white politicians have been called thugs including former presidents John F. Kennedy, Lyndon Johnson, Ronald Reagan, George H. W. Bush, Bill Clinton and, of course, George W. Bush.

The entire Republican Party, which has far fewer black members than the Democratic Party, is routinely called “Rethuglicans.”

And the “Chicago” part? Gee, is it possible that the reference might have something to do with the fact that Obama is from Chicago, and his former chief of staff (who is every bit as much a political thug as Christie, and is also white) is now the mayor of Chicago? Would it be just as racist if Obama was from Seattle and his critics called him a Seattle thug?

It might be worth the Obama team rethinking this latest effort at speech control. But I doubt there will be a mea culpa from anywhere in the “progressive” (watch out before that term gets labeled as racist code as well) camp. The real agenda here, after all, is to deflect any substantive criticism of the president with another tired, guilt-trip distraction.

That was especially crucial this past week, given that the most notable elements in a pedestrian, cliché-ridden State of the Union address was that Obama intends to ignore laws he finds inconvenient, and also to ignore the legislative branch unless it rubber stamps his initiatives. Only then is he “eager” to work with Congress.

If everybody who has a problem with the speech has to sort through the words they are allowed to use when taking issue with the president, well, there is a better chance of defanging their criticism.

Text Only
Opinion & Letters to the Editor
  • Almost half of America's obese youth don't know they're obese

    WASHINGTON - The good news is that after decades of furious growth, obesity rates finally seem to be leveling off in the U.S.. The bad news is that America's youth still appear to be dangerously unaware of the problem.

    July 23, 2014

  • Darth Vader is polling higher than all potential 2016 presidential candidates

    On the other hand, with a net favorability of -8, Jar Jar is considerably more popular than the U.S. Congress, which currently enjoys a net favorability rating of -65.

    July 23, 2014

  • D.G. Martin Where did all these new voters in North Carolina come from?

    “Voters born elsewhere make up nearly half of N.C. electorate.”
    So begins the latest DataNet report from the UNC Program on Public Life, directed by former journalist Ferrel Guillory.

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • Patrick Gannon Some light for Dems in their time of darkness

    RALEIGH – Earlier this year, state Sen. Ben Clark, a Hoke County Democrat, became a hero for a day among his party and environmentalists when his amendment to require more well water testing near future fracking sites passed the Senate. It even gained the support of a number of GOP senators, against the wishes of the Republican bill sponsor.

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • mama.jpg What we get wrong about millennials living at home

    If the media is to be believed, America is facing a major crisis. "Kids," some age 25, 26, or even 30 years old, are living out of their childhood bedrooms and basements at alarmingly high numbers. The hand-wringing overlooks one problem: It's all overblown.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Doug Creamer Maintaining hope

    Gardeners are facing challenges with the weather this year. It seemed like we were getting great conditions in April and May. The weather was warm and we were getting some good rains. Then sometime in June the rain stopped. It got so dry that I didn’t have to cut the grass. While I enjoyed the break, the garden was not happy at all. I was having to water quite a bit to keep the vegetable garden alive and growing.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jason O. Boyd I may be a bit behind the times, but at least I can find ‘America’

    I seem to be reading about and dealing with technology a lot lately.
    I  love technology and have always been fascinated by gadgets of all kinds and the wonderful things they can do. You never seem to go through an entire day without some form of invention enhancing your life.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Brent Laurenz Meeting out in open helps negotiations move ahead

    RALEIGH – State lawmakers reconvened in Raleigh on May 14 promising a brief legislative session this summer, but as July moves along they are still in town and tackling big issues.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Larry's Sketch 7.16.14.tif They don’t give a darn for Duke University

    John “Duke” Wayne’s heirs are suing Duke University over trademark rights.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Your chocolate addiction is only going to get more expensive

    WASHINGTON - For nearly two years, cocoa prices have been on the rise. Finally, that's affecting the price you pay for a bar of chocolate - and there's reason to believe it's only the beginning.

    July 18, 2014

House Ads
Seasonal Content