The Stanly News and Press (Albemarle, NC)

Opinion & Letters to the Editor

February 9, 2014

Death penalty warranted in Boston Marathon bombing case

(Continued)

To say that death would make Tsarnaev a martyr for striking a blow for jihad against the Great Satan while he would be quickly forgotten if rots in prison is a political guess. Forgotten? You mean like Nelson Mandela?

Finally, the argument that justice should not be about revenge is half right. It should not be about individual revenge. That is why cases like this are not left to vigilante or mob justice. Not even the victims themselves or their families are allowed to take vengeance.

I suspect if Tsarnaev had been released to a Boston crowd right after he was caught, he would not have enjoyed the humane treatment; multiple defense lawyers, all at public expense; and other benefits of civilization. He would likely have been lynched.

We should give thanks that he will not.

Instead, the crime is a crime against society – against the state. And it is the state that has the right, and responsibility, to take vengeance, so mob rule does not prevail.

To contend otherwise is tantamount to saying we should not have sought to destroy al Qaeda after the 9/11 attacks, or spent the blood and treasure it took to hunt down and kill Osama bin Laden.

The death penalty should be rare. But in this case, it would not be cruel and unusual. It would be just and fair.

Taylor Armerding is an independent columnist. Contact him at t.armerding@verizon.net

Text Only
Opinion & Letters to the Editor
  • cleaning supplies Don't judge mothers with messy homes

    I was building shelves in my garage when a neighbor girl, one of my 4-year-old daughter's friends, approached me and said, "I just saw in your house. It's pretty dirty. Norah's mommy needs to clean more."

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • We need your help

    Hurray for the Albemarle City Council. Council plans to battle N.C. Department of Transportation’s ranking of all 13 projects in Stanly County to the bottom of their priority list. Council is setting up petitions in various city buildings for citizens to sign.

    July 28, 2014

  • Council asks veterans to seek office

    The terms of office for the leaders of the Stanly County Veterans Council ended June 30. A call is being sent to veterans council members requesting candidates for the four elective offices of the council. A meeting has been set for 6:30 p.m. Aug. 12 at the DAV building. All council members are urged to attend.

    July 28, 2014

  • Mike Walden The gains and gaps in our economy

    Twice a year, I pull out my cloudy crystal ball and attempt to make some predictions about the direction and pace of the North Carolina economy. I just finished my latest effort and, as usual, the results are a combination of pluses and minuses.

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jason O. Boyd Yellow journalism takes on new form, people are dumber for it

    Time to get on the soapbox for a few minutes.
    Let me clear my throat. Eh ... hem!
    People are dumb.

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • Brent Laurenz Special election adds to the mix

    RALEIGH – A busy slate of judicial elections this November got even busier recently when Judge John Martin of the N.C. Court of Appeals announced his retirement.
    A special statewide election to fill Martin’s seat will be added to the general election ballot, joining the four N.C. Supreme Court seats and three N.C. Court of Appeals races already slated for this fall.

    July 25, 2014 1 Photo

  • Patrick Gannon Fake news or sign of some more trouble?

    RALEIGH – Of the three situations I can recall where agencies receiving large sums of taxpayer dollars wouldn’t divulge employees’ salaries, two of them ended badly. The third – involving a group of charter schools in Southeastern North Carolina – is playing out right now.

    July 25, 2014 1 Photo

  • Almost half of America's obese youth don't know they're obese

    WASHINGTON - The good news is that after decades of furious growth, obesity rates finally seem to be leveling off in the U.S.. The bad news is that America's youth still appear to be dangerously unaware of the problem.

    July 23, 2014

  • Darth Vader is polling higher than all potential 2016 presidential candidates

    On the other hand, with a net favorability of -8, Jar Jar is considerably more popular than the U.S. Congress, which currently enjoys a net favorability rating of -65.

    July 23, 2014

  • D.G. Martin Where did all these new voters in North Carolina come from?

    “Voters born elsewhere make up nearly half of N.C. electorate.”
    So begins the latest DataNet report from the UNC Program on Public Life, directed by former journalist Ferrel Guillory.

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

House Ads
Seasonal Content