The Stanly News and Press (Albemarle, NC)

Opinion & Letters to the Editor

February 12, 2014

I built the “so-and-so is typing” feature in chat

Thursday, February 13, 2014 — How do you feel about the typing indicator - "David is typing" - that appears on your buddy's screen while you're composing a message in chat? Does it make you feel self-conscious about how long you're taking to write a message? Do you feel paranoid when your friend appears to be typing for ages but the message you finally receive is only "ha ha"? Do you hate knowing that your "friend" is not typing anything and must be multitasking on something else? Do you hate it when you are multitasking and your erstwhile best friend keeps sending messages like "Are you still there? What are you doing? Do you still like me? Have I fallen in your heart?"

If so, you have me to blame, because I was one of the people who invented it. But I can explain everything.

The first professional software project I worked on was Microsoft's instant messenger client, saddled with the unwieldy name "MSN Messenger Service" - chosen by the same marketing experts that gave us Zune, Microsoft Bob, and .NET My Services. It shipped back in 1999 after a few years of development. During that time one of the issues that the team discussed was Gee, wouldn't it be nice to know whether the other person is responding, or waiting for you to say something?

The typing indicator tells you that something is going on, but leaves you to wonder what it is.

Back then, chatting in real time via text was for most people a very new thing. A good chunk of communication is knowing when it is and isn't your turn to speak (another chunk is vocal nuance, which is partly addressed by emoticons); on a line where only one person can speak at a time like a walkie-talkie, you really do have to say "over" to make sure your partner doesn't miss anything. But latent full-duplex, where people can talk at the same time but transmission is delayed until you, say, hit Enter, like instant messaging, has its own problems. If your chat partner's gone silent, it might be hard to know whether she was typing some huge message or if she was waiting for you to say something. We couldn't enforce any particular etiquette among users, hence the typing indicator.

 

 

1
Text Only
Opinion & Letters to the Editor
  • Brent Laurenz Special election adds to the mix

    RALEIGH – A busy slate of judicial elections this November got even busier recently when Judge John Martin of the N.C. Court of Appeals announced his retirement.
    A special statewide election to fill Martin’s seat will be added to the general election ballot, joining the four N.C. Supreme Court seats and three N.C. Court of Appeals races already slated for this fall.

    July 25, 2014 1 Photo

  • Patrick Gannon Fake news or sign of some more trouble?

    RALEIGH – Of the three situations I can recall where agencies receiving large sums of taxpayer dollars wouldn’t divulge employees’ salaries, two of them ended badly. The third – involving a group of charter schools in Southeastern North Carolina – is playing out right now.

    July 25, 2014 1 Photo

  • Almost half of America's obese youth don't know they're obese

    WASHINGTON - The good news is that after decades of furious growth, obesity rates finally seem to be leveling off in the U.S.. The bad news is that America's youth still appear to be dangerously unaware of the problem.

    July 23, 2014

  • Darth Vader is polling higher than all potential 2016 presidential candidates

    On the other hand, with a net favorability of -8, Jar Jar is considerably more popular than the U.S. Congress, which currently enjoys a net favorability rating of -65.

    July 23, 2014

  • D.G. Martin Where did all these new voters in North Carolina come from?

    “Voters born elsewhere make up nearly half of N.C. electorate.”
    So begins the latest DataNet report from the UNC Program on Public Life, directed by former journalist Ferrel Guillory.

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • Patrick Gannon Some light for Dems in their time of darkness

    RALEIGH – Earlier this year, state Sen. Ben Clark, a Hoke County Democrat, became a hero for a day among his party and environmentalists when his amendment to require more well water testing near future fracking sites passed the Senate. It even gained the support of a number of GOP senators, against the wishes of the Republican bill sponsor.

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • mama.jpg What we get wrong about millennials living at home

    If the media is to be believed, America is facing a major crisis. "Kids," some age 25, 26, or even 30 years old, are living out of their childhood bedrooms and basements at alarmingly high numbers. The hand-wringing overlooks one problem: It's all overblown.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Doug Creamer Maintaining hope

    Gardeners are facing challenges with the weather this year. It seemed like we were getting great conditions in April and May. The weather was warm and we were getting some good rains. Then sometime in June the rain stopped. It got so dry that I didn’t have to cut the grass. While I enjoyed the break, the garden was not happy at all. I was having to water quite a bit to keep the vegetable garden alive and growing.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jason O. Boyd I may be a bit behind the times, but at least I can find ‘America’

    I seem to be reading about and dealing with technology a lot lately.
    I  love technology and have always been fascinated by gadgets of all kinds and the wonderful things they can do. You never seem to go through an entire day without some form of invention enhancing your life.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Brent Laurenz Meeting out in open helps negotiations move ahead

    RALEIGH – State lawmakers reconvened in Raleigh on May 14 promising a brief legislative session this summer, but as July moves along they are still in town and tackling big issues.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

House Ads
Seasonal Content