The Stanly News and Press (Albemarle, NC)

Opinion & Letters to the Editor

April 13, 2012

Where does Cameron’s ‘Titanic’ rank?

Friday, April 13, 2012 — Perhaps, I should begin with a confession. I like James Cameron’s film “Titanic”. I liked it when I saw it 15 years ago.

I have enjoyed it the numerous times I have seen it on video, and occasionally if I catch it playing on television, I will stop and watch, waiting for my favorite moments.

That being said, I do not think “Titanic” belongs alongside ”Schindler’s List”, “The Godfather”, or the ”Lord of the Rings Trilogy”. All of those films have affected me in more powerful ways than the saga of Rose Dewitt Bukator and Jack Dawson.

On the other hand, I have a great respect for Cameron’s determination to make an old-fashion epic love story set to the backdrop of one of the most horrendous disasters of human history. “Titanic” was not a film of 90’s.

 It was a film of 40’s or 50’s made with 90’s technology. (I would offer that Steven Spielberg did the same thing this year with his film “War Horse”. No one would argue that “War Horse” offered a realistic depiction of war as did Spielberg’s own “Saving Private Ryan”.

“War Horse” and “Titanic” are films from the past made in the present. They harken back to a time when Hollywood made epics routinely.)

As for “Titanic”, all the proof one needs that it was made well is found in the 11 Oscars the film eventually won. (A record held by “Ben-Hur” alone for 38 years which has only been matched once since “Titanic” by “The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King”.)

Over the last 15 years, “Titanic” has certainly had its critics. Some of the harsher criticisms have dealt with the writing. One should note that among the staggering 14 Oscar nominations the film received, it did not get a nomination for screenplay.

And if it had, it would have lost to the superior script written by two struggling actors, Matt Damon and Ben Affleck; that pair of nearly unknowns won their first, and thus far only, Oscars for “Good Will Hunting”.  

And yes, “Titanic” has poorly envisioned one dimensional villains. And do you really need a scene with gunplay as the great ship is sinking? Is there not enough real drama without someone firing shots? No and yes.

But Cameron was more interested in the spectacle than dialogue or plot and as one who believes a great script is paramount, I concede it is permissible that the director went for the spectacle.

As a spectacle, the movie succeeds. And not just in the scenes after the iceberg.

When the ship leaves port, it is spectacular. When Rose stands on the front of the ship and the wind blows through her hair as the sun sets, it is beautiful. When Jack and Rose dance down among the third class passengers, it is hard not to tap your feet. And who can forget Jack and Rose running through the ship to avoid Rose’s fiancé and his butler.

Cameron’s skill in showing us every part of the great ship is a masterwork all on its own.

There is far more to celebrate in “Titanic’ than some critics want to acknowledge such as two great performances by the leads.

There is great attention to detail in art direction, costumes and cinematography and staggering effects. And ultimately, two characters we do not want to go down with the ship.  

I would offer one detail about the film that I have never heard or read from any other source. From the first time I saw it, I noticed that Cameron spends a lot of time filming hands.

In fact, Jack even shows Rose some sketches of hands he has drawn. Over and over again, the screen fills with images of hands. I wonder if the director’s point in all these shots of hands is a reminder that the “Titanic’ was built by human hands, and the handiwork of man can always fail. There are greater forces in the world than what we can make with our hands.  

I have not seen the new 3D version of the film, released to coincide with the 100th anniversary of “Titanic’s” ill-fated maiden voyage.

I am not sure whether I will see the new version, but I am sure I will watch “Titanic” several more times through the years because there is much that I admire about the film, and in the end, I want to again see Jack and Rose fall in love and then do all they can to ensure that their love survives. 

1
Text Only
Opinion & Letters to the Editor
  • mama.jpg What we get wrong about millennials living at home

    If the media is to be believed, America is facing a major crisis. "Kids," some age 25, 26, or even 30 years old, are living out of their childhood bedrooms and basements at alarmingly high numbers. The hand-wringing overlooks one problem: It's all overblown.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Doug Creamer Maintaining hope

    Gardeners are facing challenges with the weather this year. It seemed like we were getting great conditions in April and May. The weather was warm and we were getting some good rains. Then sometime in June the rain stopped. It got so dry that I didn’t have to cut the grass. While I enjoyed the break, the garden was not happy at all. I was having to water quite a bit to keep the vegetable garden alive and growing.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jason O. Boyd I may be a bit behind the times, but at least I can find ‘America’

    I seem to be reading about and dealing with technology a lot lately.
    I  love technology and have always been fascinated by gadgets of all kinds and the wonderful things they can do. You never seem to go through an entire day without some form of invention enhancing your life.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Brent Laurenz Meeting out in open helps negotiations move ahead

    RALEIGH – State lawmakers reconvened in Raleigh on May 14 promising a brief legislative session this summer, but as July moves along they are still in town and tackling big issues.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Larry's Sketch 7.16.14.tif They don’t give a darn for Duke University

    John “Duke” Wayne’s heirs are suing Duke University over trademark rights.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Your chocolate addiction is only going to get more expensive

    WASHINGTON - For nearly two years, cocoa prices have been on the rise. Finally, that's affecting the price you pay for a bar of chocolate - and there's reason to believe it's only the beginning.

    July 18, 2014

  • Patrick Gannon Don’t forget the losers in state lottery

    RALEIGH – Behind every state lottery dollar that goes to education is a loser.
    There’s also a winner – the teacher whose salary it pays, the student who gets a scholarship or the district where a new school gets built. But we hear about the winners in advertisements and in press releases.
    This column is about the losers.

    July 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • Hodgepodge Cooling an overheated hedgehog and other summer travel stories

    Anybody with a pet during the summer inevitably finds themselves facing this question: What do I do with my pet on vacation?
    There are kennels for dogs, day cares for cats. Shoot, you can even find a friend to take care of your guinea pig.
    But what do you do with a hedgehog?

    July 18, 2014 2 Photos

  • North Carolina Boasts Top Wildlife Magazine and A Success Story

    The following opinion piece was released by the N.C. Wildlife Resources Commission:

    RALEIGH  — When Wildlife in North Carolina, the magazine published by the N.C. Wildlife Resources Commission, was named recently as the nation’s best in its category, it reflected more than accolades as a quality publication.

    July 17, 2014

  • 130408_NT_BEA_good kids We're raising a generation of timid kids

    CHICAGO - A week ago, a woman was charged with leaving her child in the car while she went into a store. Her 11-year-old child. This week, a woman was arrested for allowing her 9-year-old daughter to go to the park alone. Which raises just one question: America, what the heck is wrong with you?

    July 17, 2014 1 Photo

House Ads
Seasonal Content