The Stanly News and Press (Albemarle, NC)

Opinion & Letters to the Editor

June 18, 2013

Shining stars in a time of darkness

Tuesday, June 18, 2013 — The acts of kindness shown during the aftermath of Thursday night’s storm is a nice sign for humanity.

First, we have to thank the fire fighters, police officers, state troopers, first responders, emergency service personnel, medical teams and others who may have helped from the beginning of the storms. Many of these individuals are probably still out helping sort out this horrific mess.

We also think of the American Red Cross and emergency services who opened up an emergency shelter at Albemarle High School. We did not hear of anyone using the shelter, but it is nice to know that it was available if needed.

We like the signs of neighbors helping neighbors, such as the many members of the community who digged out their chainsaws and came to the need of many who were either trapped in their homes or driveways from the rest of society.

Neighbors also helped by offering free meals, such as the one Friday at High Rock Community Church. We know that many others may be helping provide meals, shelters or free services in the coming days. We look forward to sharing these acts of kindness as well.

Speaking of kindness, the North Carolina Baptist Men Disaster Relief Team spread out throughout Albemarle Friday, offering to clean up areas for free. One team was near Anderson Grove Baptist Church and other teams from throughout the state, including at least one group from Union County, were analyzing the situation and deciding on the best aim of attacking the debris.

Thursday night was scary for a few moments. While we have many thunderstorms that may send shockwaves through many in the area, we do not usually have storms like the microbursts that hit us that night. We had Hurricane Hugo in 1989 and the tornadoes in 1999, but thank goodness we don’t have storms like this often.

And thank goodness that this was not as severe as Oklahoma. We have to be thankful for that. We also have to be thankful that we survived.

Homes can be repaired. Cars can be replaced. People can’t.

1
Text Only
Opinion & Letters to the Editor
  • Mike Walden The gains and gaps in our economy

    Twice a year, I pull out my cloudy crystal ball and attempt to make some predictions about the direction and pace of the North Carolina economy. I just finished my latest effort and, as usual, the results are a combination of pluses and minuses.

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jason O. Boyd Yellow journalism takes on new form, people are dumber for it

    Time to get on the soapbox for a few minutes.
    Let me clear my throat. Eh ... hem!
    People are dumb.

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • Brent Laurenz Special election adds to the mix

    RALEIGH – A busy slate of judicial elections this November got even busier recently when Judge John Martin of the N.C. Court of Appeals announced his retirement.
    A special statewide election to fill Martin’s seat will be added to the general election ballot, joining the four N.C. Supreme Court seats and three N.C. Court of Appeals races already slated for this fall.

    July 25, 2014 1 Photo

  • Patrick Gannon Fake news or sign of some more trouble?

    RALEIGH – Of the three situations I can recall where agencies receiving large sums of taxpayer dollars wouldn’t divulge employees’ salaries, two of them ended badly. The third – involving a group of charter schools in Southeastern North Carolina – is playing out right now.

    July 25, 2014 1 Photo

  • Almost half of America's obese youth don't know they're obese

    WASHINGTON - The good news is that after decades of furious growth, obesity rates finally seem to be leveling off in the U.S.. The bad news is that America's youth still appear to be dangerously unaware of the problem.

    July 23, 2014

  • Darth Vader is polling higher than all potential 2016 presidential candidates

    On the other hand, with a net favorability of -8, Jar Jar is considerably more popular than the U.S. Congress, which currently enjoys a net favorability rating of -65.

    July 23, 2014

  • D.G. Martin Where did all these new voters in North Carolina come from?

    “Voters born elsewhere make up nearly half of N.C. electorate.”
    So begins the latest DataNet report from the UNC Program on Public Life, directed by former journalist Ferrel Guillory.

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • Patrick Gannon Some light for Dems in their time of darkness

    RALEIGH – Earlier this year, state Sen. Ben Clark, a Hoke County Democrat, became a hero for a day among his party and environmentalists when his amendment to require more well water testing near future fracking sites passed the Senate. It even gained the support of a number of GOP senators, against the wishes of the Republican bill sponsor.

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • mama.jpg What we get wrong about millennials living at home

    If the media is to be believed, America is facing a major crisis. "Kids," some age 25, 26, or even 30 years old, are living out of their childhood bedrooms and basements at alarmingly high numbers. The hand-wringing overlooks one problem: It's all overblown.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Doug Creamer Maintaining hope

    Gardeners are facing challenges with the weather this year. It seemed like we were getting great conditions in April and May. The weather was warm and we were getting some good rains. Then sometime in June the rain stopped. It got so dry that I didn’t have to cut the grass. While I enjoyed the break, the garden was not happy at all. I was having to water quite a bit to keep the vegetable garden alive and growing.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

House Ads
Seasonal Content