The Stanly News and Press (Albemarle, NC)

Opinion & Letters to the Editor

June 18, 2013

Shining stars in a time of darkness

Tuesday, June 18, 2013 — The acts of kindness shown during the aftermath of Thursday night’s storm is a nice sign for humanity.

First, we have to thank the fire fighters, police officers, state troopers, first responders, emergency service personnel, medical teams and others who may have helped from the beginning of the storms. Many of these individuals are probably still out helping sort out this horrific mess.

We also think of the American Red Cross and emergency services who opened up an emergency shelter at Albemarle High School. We did not hear of anyone using the shelter, but it is nice to know that it was available if needed.

We like the signs of neighbors helping neighbors, such as the many members of the community who digged out their chainsaws and came to the need of many who were either trapped in their homes or driveways from the rest of society.

Neighbors also helped by offering free meals, such as the one Friday at High Rock Community Church. We know that many others may be helping provide meals, shelters or free services in the coming days. We look forward to sharing these acts of kindness as well.

Speaking of kindness, the North Carolina Baptist Men Disaster Relief Team spread out throughout Albemarle Friday, offering to clean up areas for free. One team was near Anderson Grove Baptist Church and other teams from throughout the state, including at least one group from Union County, were analyzing the situation and deciding on the best aim of attacking the debris.

Thursday night was scary for a few moments. While we have many thunderstorms that may send shockwaves through many in the area, we do not usually have storms like the microbursts that hit us that night. We had Hurricane Hugo in 1989 and the tornadoes in 1999, but thank goodness we don’t have storms like this often.

And thank goodness that this was not as severe as Oklahoma. We have to be thankful for that. We also have to be thankful that we survived.

Homes can be repaired. Cars can be replaced. People can’t.

1
Text Only
Opinion & Letters to the Editor
  • taylor.armerding.jpg Obama's equal pay exaggeration leads us all into danger

    The president's claims of national shame over gender-based pay inequity spring from distorted calculations, as well as some convenient political math.

    April 12, 2014 1 Photo

  • Teens trading naked selfies for mugshots

    Will teenagers ever learn? You think yours will. Maybe so. But it's likely that was also the hope of the parents of children who were so shamed by nude photos of themselves that went south - how else can they go - that they killed themselves.

    April 12, 2014

  • Brent Laurenz If you want to vote in primary, you need to register to vote now

    RALEIGH – North Carolina voters will head to the polls on May 6 this year to cast ballots in important primary elections across the state.

    April 11, 2014 1 Photo

  • Scott Mooneyham Heeding the voter fraud call in N.C.

    RALEIGH – Legislators found the findings outrageous.

    April 11, 2014 1 Photo

  • Doug Creamer Roots

    I took a few minutes over the weekend to enjoy our yard and the arrival of spring. There seems to be so much work that needs to be done, it is hard to decide what to do first. I am excited that I got to run my tiller through the garden. I didn’t go very deep, but I did at least break up the soil. I have a couple of raised beds and the soil in them was in very good shape. I didn’t plant my peas and now after the big rain we got on Monday I realize that I missed a window of opportunity.

    April 11, 2014 1 Photo

  • 10 tips for surviving a severe allergy season

    My colleague Brady Dennis reported recently that the arrival of warmer weather will soon unleash a pollen tsunami in parts of the country where the winter has been especially long and cold. Here are some survival tips from Clifford W. Bassett, an allergy specialist and assistant clinical professor of medicine at the New York University School of Medicine.

    April 11, 2014

  • Is a paleo vegetarian diet possible?

    Research shows most people can follow a regimented eating plan for a short time. That's not the challenge. The challenge is finding a healthful eating plan you can follow day after day and achieve your long-term health goals. At this point, it doesn't appear that the paleo eating plan meets these objectives for most people.

    April 10, 2014

  • Screen Shot 2014-04-08 at 2.16.35 PM.png Are Americans smart to stop drinking diet sodas?

    Recent data from Beverage Digest suggest many are cutting back on diet sodas. Consumption of diet sodas fell more than that of sugary sodas in 2013. This raises two questions: Why is total consumption declining, and is drinking diet soda harmful to health?

    April 10, 2014 1 Photo

  • To get quality care, it helps to be the right kind of patient

    I am a family physician. Sometimes I must step out of the comfort of my clinical role and into that of patient or family caregiver. Generally, these trips to the other side of the exam table inspire a fair amount of anxiety.

    April 10, 2014

  • Hospice of Stanly County should be the one we support

    Regarding your recent article about Community Hospice relocating its offices from one location in Troy to another, let me point out a few things.

    April 10, 2014

House Ads
Seasonal Content