The Stanly News and Press (Albemarle, NC)

Opinion & Letters to the Editor

September 21, 2013

Summer has left challenges for SCCM

Saturday, September 21, 2013 — Editor’s Note: The following item went out to frequent supporters of SCCM recently:

To all who support SCCM, first, allow me to thank you for all the ways you have supported Stanly Community Christian Ministry over the years. We could not have assisted the vast number of people who have come to us for aid without donations from individuals, families, businesses and churches.

One of the dilemmas of our world is that need never goes away.

During the summer months we have seen a very large increase in requests for assistance. This increase was caused by two separate events. The first was the destructive storm that hit Stanly County on June 13. Many of our clients lost their food and requested items from our pantry to replace it.

The second factor is the new food stamp program implemented by the North Carolina Department of Social Services.

Due to this program most of our clients are experiencing long delays in receiving their food stamps. Consequently, we have seen a significant increase in the demand for food from our pantry and in the numbers of people dining at both community tables.

We continue to have food drives; however, we must also purchase food. The reality is that we need funds to purchase more food and pay our operating expenses as our volume of services continues to increase.

This summer has also reminded us that all our facilities are aging. We have replaced one of the heating/air units at the Assistance Center. We have also had issues with the units at both Community Tables and the Clothing Closet. We have had to repair the roof on Community Table 1 and Community Table 2 needs a new roof.

During the summer storms, lightning struck one of our office computers, and we have had to seek repairs on one of our large freezer units.

A great deal of our time, energy and money has been used to maintain our properties so we can continue to be about the task of ministering in Christ’s name.

I am writing to ask you to prayerfully consider contributing to SCCM in the near future. If you have recently given to us, please know that we are very thankful for your generosity.

To those who have not made a contribution in recent months, I would invite you to consider what you can do to assist SCCM and ultimately those who are struggling.

Please know we will strive always to be good stewards of all that you give.

May God bless you and your family abundantly for your donation.

Roger W. Thomas is the executive director of Stanly Community Christian Ministry.

1
Text Only
Opinion & Letters to the Editor
  • taylor.armerding.jpg Obama's equal pay exaggeration leads us all into danger

    The president's claims of national shame over gender-based pay inequity spring from distorted calculations, as well as some convenient political math.

    April 12, 2014 1 Photo

  • Teens trading naked selfies for mugshots

    Will teenagers ever learn? You think yours will. Maybe so. But it's likely that was also the hope of the parents of children who were so shamed by nude photos of themselves that went south - how else can they go - that they killed themselves.

    April 12, 2014

  • Brent Laurenz If you want to vote in primary, you need to register to vote now

    RALEIGH – North Carolina voters will head to the polls on May 6 this year to cast ballots in important primary elections across the state.

    April 11, 2014 1 Photo

  • Scott Mooneyham Heeding the voter fraud call in N.C.

    RALEIGH – Legislators found the findings outrageous.

    April 11, 2014 1 Photo

  • Doug Creamer Roots

    I took a few minutes over the weekend to enjoy our yard and the arrival of spring. There seems to be so much work that needs to be done, it is hard to decide what to do first. I am excited that I got to run my tiller through the garden. I didn’t go very deep, but I did at least break up the soil. I have a couple of raised beds and the soil in them was in very good shape. I didn’t plant my peas and now after the big rain we got on Monday I realize that I missed a window of opportunity.

    April 11, 2014 1 Photo

  • 10 tips for surviving a severe allergy season

    My colleague Brady Dennis reported recently that the arrival of warmer weather will soon unleash a pollen tsunami in parts of the country where the winter has been especially long and cold. Here are some survival tips from Clifford W. Bassett, an allergy specialist and assistant clinical professor of medicine at the New York University School of Medicine.

    April 11, 2014

  • Is a paleo vegetarian diet possible?

    Research shows most people can follow a regimented eating plan for a short time. That's not the challenge. The challenge is finding a healthful eating plan you can follow day after day and achieve your long-term health goals. At this point, it doesn't appear that the paleo eating plan meets these objectives for most people.

    April 10, 2014

  • Screen Shot 2014-04-08 at 2.16.35 PM.png Are Americans smart to stop drinking diet sodas?

    Recent data from Beverage Digest suggest many are cutting back on diet sodas. Consumption of diet sodas fell more than that of sugary sodas in 2013. This raises two questions: Why is total consumption declining, and is drinking diet soda harmful to health?

    April 10, 2014 1 Photo

  • To get quality care, it helps to be the right kind of patient

    I am a family physician. Sometimes I must step out of the comfort of my clinical role and into that of patient or family caregiver. Generally, these trips to the other side of the exam table inspire a fair amount of anxiety.

    April 10, 2014

  • Hospice of Stanly County should be the one we support

    Regarding your recent article about Community Hospice relocating its offices from one location in Troy to another, let me point out a few things.

    April 10, 2014

House Ads
Seasonal Content