The Stanly News and Press (Albemarle, NC)

Opinion & Letters to the Editor

September 21, 2013

Summer has left challenges for SCCM

Saturday, September 21, 2013 — Editor’s Note: The following item went out to frequent supporters of SCCM recently:

To all who support SCCM, first, allow me to thank you for all the ways you have supported Stanly Community Christian Ministry over the years. We could not have assisted the vast number of people who have come to us for aid without donations from individuals, families, businesses and churches.

One of the dilemmas of our world is that need never goes away.

During the summer months we have seen a very large increase in requests for assistance. This increase was caused by two separate events. The first was the destructive storm that hit Stanly County on June 13. Many of our clients lost their food and requested items from our pantry to replace it.

The second factor is the new food stamp program implemented by the North Carolina Department of Social Services.

Due to this program most of our clients are experiencing long delays in receiving their food stamps. Consequently, we have seen a significant increase in the demand for food from our pantry and in the numbers of people dining at both community tables.

We continue to have food drives; however, we must also purchase food. The reality is that we need funds to purchase more food and pay our operating expenses as our volume of services continues to increase.

This summer has also reminded us that all our facilities are aging. We have replaced one of the heating/air units at the Assistance Center. We have also had issues with the units at both Community Tables and the Clothing Closet. We have had to repair the roof on Community Table 1 and Community Table 2 needs a new roof.

During the summer storms, lightning struck one of our office computers, and we have had to seek repairs on one of our large freezer units.

A great deal of our time, energy and money has been used to maintain our properties so we can continue to be about the task of ministering in Christ’s name.

I am writing to ask you to prayerfully consider contributing to SCCM in the near future. If you have recently given to us, please know that we are very thankful for your generosity.

To those who have not made a contribution in recent months, I would invite you to consider what you can do to assist SCCM and ultimately those who are struggling.

Please know we will strive always to be good stewards of all that you give.

May God bless you and your family abundantly for your donation.

Roger W. Thomas is the executive director of Stanly Community Christian Ministry.

1
Text Only
Opinion & Letters to the Editor
  • Darth Vader is polling higher than all potential 2016 presidential candidates

    On the other hand, with a net favorability of -8, Jar Jar is considerably more popular than the U.S. Congress, which currently enjoys a net favorability rating of -65.

    July 23, 2014

  • D.G. Martin Where did all these new voters in North Carolina come from?

    “Voters born elsewhere make up nearly half of N.C. electorate.”
    So begins the latest DataNet report from the UNC Program on Public Life, directed by former journalist Ferrel Guillory.

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • Patrick Gannon Some light for Dems in their time of darkness

    RALEIGH – Earlier this year, state Sen. Ben Clark, a Hoke County Democrat, became a hero for a day among his party and environmentalists when his amendment to require more well water testing near future fracking sites passed the Senate. It even gained the support of a number of GOP senators, against the wishes of the Republican bill sponsor.

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • mama.jpg What we get wrong about millennials living at home

    If the media is to be believed, America is facing a major crisis. "Kids," some age 25, 26, or even 30 years old, are living out of their childhood bedrooms and basements at alarmingly high numbers. The hand-wringing overlooks one problem: It's all overblown.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Doug Creamer Maintaining hope

    Gardeners are facing challenges with the weather this year. It seemed like we were getting great conditions in April and May. The weather was warm and we were getting some good rains. Then sometime in June the rain stopped. It got so dry that I didn’t have to cut the grass. While I enjoyed the break, the garden was not happy at all. I was having to water quite a bit to keep the vegetable garden alive and growing.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jason O. Boyd I may be a bit behind the times, but at least I can find ‘America’

    I seem to be reading about and dealing with technology a lot lately.
    I  love technology and have always been fascinated by gadgets of all kinds and the wonderful things they can do. You never seem to go through an entire day without some form of invention enhancing your life.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Brent Laurenz Meeting out in open helps negotiations move ahead

    RALEIGH – State lawmakers reconvened in Raleigh on May 14 promising a brief legislative session this summer, but as July moves along they are still in town and tackling big issues.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Larry's Sketch 7.16.14.tif They don’t give a darn for Duke University

    John “Duke” Wayne’s heirs are suing Duke University over trademark rights.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Your chocolate addiction is only going to get more expensive

    WASHINGTON - For nearly two years, cocoa prices have been on the rise. Finally, that's affecting the price you pay for a bar of chocolate - and there's reason to believe it's only the beginning.

    July 18, 2014

  • Patrick Gannon Don’t forget the losers in state lottery

    RALEIGH – Behind every state lottery dollar that goes to education is a loser.
    There’s also a winner – the teacher whose salary it pays, the student who gets a scholarship or the district where a new school gets built. But we hear about the winners in advertisements and in press releases.
    This column is about the losers.

    July 18, 2014 1 Photo

House Ads
Seasonal Content