The Stanly News and Press (Albemarle, NC)

Opinion & Letters to the Editor

September 25, 2013

EDITORIALS: Iranian diplomacy; Banned Books Week

Thawing of diplomatic ice may lead to nuclear agreement in Iran

(New Castle News / New Castle, Pa.)

So what are we to make of Iran’s most recent overtures to the United States?

Well, it would appear that economic sanctions imposed on that country — in response to its advancing nuclear program — are inflicting pain. The new Iranian president, Hasan Rouhani, indicates he is hoping to open a dialogue with the West in an effort to ease those sanctions.

Iran’s economy is struggling under sanctions. And Rouhani is a moderate (at least in Iranian terms) who is interested in finding solutions to his nation’s economic hardships. Hence the professed willingness to discuss nuclear matters.

But talking and doing are two different things. And where Iran is concerned, no one should lose sight of the fact that no matter how agreeable the president may seem to be, it’s the fundamentalist clerics and the Revolutionary Guard who call the shots in that country.

Still, the current effort is newsworthy, because it has been 35 years since the United States and Iran held high-level talks. Not surprisingly, this shift — even if it is little more than symbolic — is drawing interest and criticism.

As you might suspect, concerns are being raised in some quarters that talks might lead to an easing of pressure on Iran to make its nuclear program more transparent and to ensure it is not developing atomic weapons.

Obviously, any agreements need to be verified in a manner that opens the door on Iran’s nuclear activities. Empty promises are worthless.

Despite the potential for failure or other problems, we support talks with Iran. We believe it is in America’s long-term interests to explore options for achieving this nation’s goals in the Middle East short of armed intervention. And that’s precisely what has been considered as an option for thwarting Iranian nuclear ambitions.

Text Only
Opinion & Letters to the Editor
  • Almost half of America's obese youth don't know they're obese

    WASHINGTON - The good news is that after decades of furious growth, obesity rates finally seem to be leveling off in the U.S.. The bad news is that America's youth still appear to be dangerously unaware of the problem.

    July 23, 2014

  • Darth Vader is polling higher than all potential 2016 presidential candidates

    On the other hand, with a net favorability of -8, Jar Jar is considerably more popular than the U.S. Congress, which currently enjoys a net favorability rating of -65.

    July 23, 2014

  • D.G. Martin Where did all these new voters in North Carolina come from?

    “Voters born elsewhere make up nearly half of N.C. electorate.”
    So begins the latest DataNet report from the UNC Program on Public Life, directed by former journalist Ferrel Guillory.

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • Patrick Gannon Some light for Dems in their time of darkness

    RALEIGH – Earlier this year, state Sen. Ben Clark, a Hoke County Democrat, became a hero for a day among his party and environmentalists when his amendment to require more well water testing near future fracking sites passed the Senate. It even gained the support of a number of GOP senators, against the wishes of the Republican bill sponsor.

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • mama.jpg What we get wrong about millennials living at home

    If the media is to be believed, America is facing a major crisis. "Kids," some age 25, 26, or even 30 years old, are living out of their childhood bedrooms and basements at alarmingly high numbers. The hand-wringing overlooks one problem: It's all overblown.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Doug Creamer Maintaining hope

    Gardeners are facing challenges with the weather this year. It seemed like we were getting great conditions in April and May. The weather was warm and we were getting some good rains. Then sometime in June the rain stopped. It got so dry that I didn’t have to cut the grass. While I enjoyed the break, the garden was not happy at all. I was having to water quite a bit to keep the vegetable garden alive and growing.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jason O. Boyd I may be a bit behind the times, but at least I can find ‘America’

    I seem to be reading about and dealing with technology a lot lately.
    I  love technology and have always been fascinated by gadgets of all kinds and the wonderful things they can do. You never seem to go through an entire day without some form of invention enhancing your life.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Brent Laurenz Meeting out in open helps negotiations move ahead

    RALEIGH – State lawmakers reconvened in Raleigh on May 14 promising a brief legislative session this summer, but as July moves along they are still in town and tackling big issues.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Larry's Sketch 7.16.14.tif They don’t give a darn for Duke University

    John “Duke” Wayne’s heirs are suing Duke University over trademark rights.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Your chocolate addiction is only going to get more expensive

    WASHINGTON - For nearly two years, cocoa prices have been on the rise. Finally, that's affecting the price you pay for a bar of chocolate - and there's reason to believe it's only the beginning.

    July 18, 2014

House Ads
Seasonal Content