The Stanly News and Press (Albemarle, NC)

Opinion & Letters to the Editor

November 28, 2012

America and Johnny Cash

Wednesday, November 28, 2012 — America is one of the greatest countries in the world. Why? We are a nation comprised of numerous cultures, traditions and societies. We are the “melting pot,” so to speak; a country of diversity, we take pride in our differences and similarities, using both to create a splendidly unique civilization and strengthen our standing as a whole on this planet.

That being said, I think one of my favorite examples of the plethora of diversity in these United States lies with the late, great Johnny Cash.

This Tennessee native embodies the idea of “American” in a number of ways. As a musician, Cash spanned the various genres, not allowing himself to be limited by a certain musical style; most would call him country, but he’s played rock’n’roll, rockabilly, bluegrass, gospel, blues, folk and even techno, he covered a Nine Inch Nails’ song. He performed for a variety of audiences from convicted felons in prison to Richard Nixon in the White House.

As an icon, Cash broke the mold for a “superstar.” He was one of the original bad boys. Playing for prisoners, recreationally abusing drugs and alcohol, wearing black at a time before it was popular as everyday attire and actively pursuing a married woman whilst still being married himself, Cash defied what was thought of to be a typical icon. Through his life, he showed people that there are two sides to humanity, a light and dark side, and that these two sides often coincide.

Not only was he a singer, song-writer and performer, but the man was also an actor and author, writing many autobiographies.

Cash didn’t let his tastes lie in one particular area, but span across a wide range of styles, categories and philosophies. My favorite example of the diversity in Cash’s life is the song “Highway Man,” and that is probably because this is my favorite song by Cash.

The major theme of the song is reincarnation. This idea originated in India well over 5,000 years ago, and here it is in a Johnny Cash song. According to Indian religious belief, reincarnation is the idea that human spirits are re-embodied after a person dies; this re-embodiment can happen at any time throughout the ages and can land a spirit in another human body, an animal or an inanimate object.

The lyrics in the song reflect this idea of reincarnation. “I was a highway man...” the song begins. Next, Cash relates that “I was a sailor...” Then, “I was a dam builder, across the river deep and wide.” Also, “I'll fly a starship, across the universe divide.” The song ends with, “Or perhaps I may simply be a single drop of rain, but I will remain, and I'll be back again and again...” The idea is that his spirit has lived through many lives, suffered many deaths, but it will remain and carry on, in one form or another.

I find it amazing that Cash, a renowned Christian, found the idea of reincarnation so appealing that he decided to write a song about it. While the idea of reincarnation is Indian, Cash has taken it, internalized it and made it reflect the culture of America throughout the years.

From singing about highway robbery to flying across the universe, Cash has greatly contributed to the idea of American diversity through his works and life. Thanks Johnny, rest in peace.

 

1
Text Only
Opinion & Letters to the Editor
  • mama.jpg What we get wrong about millennials living at home

    If the media is to be believed, America is facing a major crisis. "Kids," some age 25, 26, or even 30 years old, are living out of their childhood bedrooms and basements at alarmingly high numbers. The hand-wringing overlooks one problem: It's all overblown.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Doug Creamer Maintaining hope

    Gardeners are facing challenges with the weather this year. It seemed like we were getting great conditions in April and May. The weather was warm and we were getting some good rains. Then sometime in June the rain stopped. It got so dry that I didn’t have to cut the grass. While I enjoyed the break, the garden was not happy at all. I was having to water quite a bit to keep the vegetable garden alive and growing.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jason O. Boyd I may be a bit behind the times, but at least I can find ‘America’

    I seem to be reading about and dealing with technology a lot lately.
    I  love technology and have always been fascinated by gadgets of all kinds and the wonderful things they can do. You never seem to go through an entire day without some form of invention enhancing your life.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Brent Laurenz Meeting out in open helps negotiations move ahead

    RALEIGH – State lawmakers reconvened in Raleigh on May 14 promising a brief legislative session this summer, but as July moves along they are still in town and tackling big issues.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Larry's Sketch 7.16.14.tif They don’t give a darn for Duke University

    John “Duke” Wayne’s heirs are suing Duke University over trademark rights.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Your chocolate addiction is only going to get more expensive

    WASHINGTON - For nearly two years, cocoa prices have been on the rise. Finally, that's affecting the price you pay for a bar of chocolate - and there's reason to believe it's only the beginning.

    July 18, 2014

  • Patrick Gannon Don’t forget the losers in state lottery

    RALEIGH – Behind every state lottery dollar that goes to education is a loser.
    There’s also a winner – the teacher whose salary it pays, the student who gets a scholarship or the district where a new school gets built. But we hear about the winners in advertisements and in press releases.
    This column is about the losers.

    July 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • Hodgepodge Cooling an overheated hedgehog and other summer travel stories

    Anybody with a pet during the summer inevitably finds themselves facing this question: What do I do with my pet on vacation?
    There are kennels for dogs, day cares for cats. Shoot, you can even find a friend to take care of your guinea pig.
    But what do you do with a hedgehog?

    July 18, 2014 2 Photos

  • North Carolina Boasts Top Wildlife Magazine and A Success Story

    The following opinion piece was released by the N.C. Wildlife Resources Commission:

    RALEIGH  — When Wildlife in North Carolina, the magazine published by the N.C. Wildlife Resources Commission, was named recently as the nation’s best in its category, it reflected more than accolades as a quality publication.

    July 17, 2014

  • 130408_NT_BEA_good kids We're raising a generation of timid kids

    CHICAGO - A week ago, a woman was charged with leaving her child in the car while she went into a store. Her 11-year-old child. This week, a woman was arrested for allowing her 9-year-old daughter to go to the park alone. Which raises just one question: America, what the heck is wrong with you?

    July 17, 2014 1 Photo

House Ads
Seasonal Content