The Stanly News and Press (Albemarle, NC)

Opinion & Letters to the Editor

November 28, 2012

America and Johnny Cash

Wednesday, November 28, 2012 — America is one of the greatest countries in the world. Why? We are a nation comprised of numerous cultures, traditions and societies. We are the “melting pot,” so to speak; a country of diversity, we take pride in our differences and similarities, using both to create a splendidly unique civilization and strengthen our standing as a whole on this planet.

That being said, I think one of my favorite examples of the plethora of diversity in these United States lies with the late, great Johnny Cash.

This Tennessee native embodies the idea of “American” in a number of ways. As a musician, Cash spanned the various genres, not allowing himself to be limited by a certain musical style; most would call him country, but he’s played rock’n’roll, rockabilly, bluegrass, gospel, blues, folk and even techno, he covered a Nine Inch Nails’ song. He performed for a variety of audiences from convicted felons in prison to Richard Nixon in the White House.

As an icon, Cash broke the mold for a “superstar.” He was one of the original bad boys. Playing for prisoners, recreationally abusing drugs and alcohol, wearing black at a time before it was popular as everyday attire and actively pursuing a married woman whilst still being married himself, Cash defied what was thought of to be a typical icon. Through his life, he showed people that there are two sides to humanity, a light and dark side, and that these two sides often coincide.

Not only was he a singer, song-writer and performer, but the man was also an actor and author, writing many autobiographies.

Cash didn’t let his tastes lie in one particular area, but span across a wide range of styles, categories and philosophies. My favorite example of the diversity in Cash’s life is the song “Highway Man,” and that is probably because this is my favorite song by Cash.

The major theme of the song is reincarnation. This idea originated in India well over 5,000 years ago, and here it is in a Johnny Cash song. According to Indian religious belief, reincarnation is the idea that human spirits are re-embodied after a person dies; this re-embodiment can happen at any time throughout the ages and can land a spirit in another human body, an animal or an inanimate object.

The lyrics in the song reflect this idea of reincarnation. “I was a highway man...” the song begins. Next, Cash relates that “I was a sailor...” Then, “I was a dam builder, across the river deep and wide.” Also, “I'll fly a starship, across the universe divide.” The song ends with, “Or perhaps I may simply be a single drop of rain, but I will remain, and I'll be back again and again...” The idea is that his spirit has lived through many lives, suffered many deaths, but it will remain and carry on, in one form or another.

I find it amazing that Cash, a renowned Christian, found the idea of reincarnation so appealing that he decided to write a song about it. While the idea of reincarnation is Indian, Cash has taken it, internalized it and made it reflect the culture of America throughout the years.

From singing about highway robbery to flying across the universe, Cash has greatly contributed to the idea of American diversity through his works and life. Thanks Johnny, rest in peace.

 

1
Text Only
Opinion & Letters to the Editor
  • D.G. Martin Read others’ views to be better informed, decide for yourself

    “I don’t read The Washington Post. That is not where I get my ideas.”

    July 30, 2014 1 Photo

  • Patrick Gannon This isn’t medical marijuana

    As state legislators debated allowing the use of an extract from marijuana plants to treat seizure disorders over the past couple of weeks, it was evident that social conservatives – there are many of them in the General Assembly – felt a tinge of unease about it, even as almost every one of them voted yes.

    July 30, 2014 1 Photo

  • Doug Creamer Friends and contentment

    Last week I made my annual trip up the mountain to Sparta. My friends have a secluded home near a babbling brook. Their home and property are a haven for peace. It’s a two-plus hour ride to their home that doesn’t feel that long because I look so forward to my time with this great couple. When I arrive, the conversation seems to pick up right where we left it the last time we saw each other.

    July 29, 2014 1 Photo

  • Thanks for the honest deed

    I would like to thank the person that found my wallet in the parking lot of Harris Teeter on July 23 and turned it in to the Albemarle Police.

    July 29, 2014

  • cleaning supplies Don't judge mothers with messy homes

    I was building shelves in my garage when a neighbor girl, one of my 4-year-old daughter's friends, approached me and said, "I just saw in your house. It's pretty dirty. Norah's mommy needs to clean more."

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • We need your help

    Hurray for the Albemarle City Council. Council plans to battle N.C. Department of Transportation’s ranking of all 13 projects in Stanly County to the bottom of their priority list. Council is setting up petitions in various city buildings for citizens to sign.

    July 28, 2014

  • Council asks veterans to seek office

    The terms of office for the leaders of the Stanly County Veterans Council ended June 30. A call is being sent to veterans council members requesting candidates for the four elective offices of the council. A meeting has been set for 6:30 p.m. Aug. 12 at the DAV building. All council members are urged to attend.

    July 28, 2014

  • Mike Walden The gains and gaps in our economy

    Twice a year, I pull out my cloudy crystal ball and attempt to make some predictions about the direction and pace of the North Carolina economy. I just finished my latest effort and, as usual, the results are a combination of pluses and minuses.

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jason O. Boyd Yellow journalism takes on new form, people are dumber for it

    Time to get on the soapbox for a few minutes.
    Let me clear my throat. Eh ... hem!
    People are dumb.

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • Brent Laurenz Special election adds to the mix

    RALEIGH – A busy slate of judicial elections this November got even busier recently when Judge John Martin of the N.C. Court of Appeals announced his retirement.
    A special statewide election to fill Martin’s seat will be added to the general election ballot, joining the four N.C. Supreme Court seats and three N.C. Court of Appeals races already slated for this fall.

    July 25, 2014 1 Photo

House Ads
Seasonal Content