The Stanly News and Press (Albemarle, NC)

Opinion & Letters to the Editor

February 18, 2013

It is what you know and who you know

Monday, February 18, 2013 — The Stanly County Chamber of Commerce’s annual meeting was different, to say the least.

There was a guy in a red suit that wasn’t Santa Claus, people were pointing fingers at one another, strangers were hugging and men, including a senator, were doing push-ups. (You had to be there to believe it.)

But aside from all that, the message was clear — connections are everything. The speaker stressed the point of being positive, but also that of getting your message out there and meeting people.

Speaking of making connections, it is so hard to believe that some people do not want free publicity. Sometimes we call a business and it does not want a story written, even if it is one in a positive light. That does not make good business sense.

I guess for some the slogan is true, that no news is good news.

But yet if you’re a celebrity or someone of fame, any action can be turned into a positive reaction.

Marco Rubio, who some people believe may be a presidential candidate next time, took a pause during his State of the Union response to take a sip of water.

That scene went so much over Twitter and the rest of the Internet that Rubio posted a photo of his water bottle soon thereafter. By the end of the week, Rubio water bottles were being sold for a $25 donation.

He made a connection. He took a negative and turned it into a positive.

David Grigg was named Citizen of the Year Wednesday night. I can’t recall if we have ever come face to face, but our paths did cross at one point. He gave the speech at my high school graduation, which was a long 15 years ago. That was a few years after he led the newly-merged Albemarle City Schools and Stanly County Schools.

Like our guest speaker at the annual meeting said, we shouldn’t have to be prodded to clap and acknowledge when someone does something great.

Since I have been battling a cold this week, I didn’t stick around too long to meet people Wednesday night. I didn’t get to personally congratulate him, so I do so now.

I’m not a big fan of shaking hands anyway, so all the touching at the meeting didn’t really do anything for me. Maybe we just need to do a head bob of acknowledging someone or a variation of the military salute.

Anyway, maybe one day I’ll get to meet Mr. Grigg.

Maybe he’ll have another inspirational speech to offer.

B.J. Drye is editor of The Stanly News & Press. Send comments or story ideas to bj@stanlynewspress. com or PO Box 488, Albemarle, NC 28002.

1
Text Only
Opinion & Letters to the Editor
  • Council asks veterans to seek office

    The terms of office for the leaders of the Stanly County Veterans Council ended June 30. A call is being sent to veterans council members requesting candidates for the four elective offices of the council. A meeting has been set for 6:30 p.m. Aug. 12 at the DAV building. All council members are urged to attend.

    July 28, 2014

  • Mike Walden The gains and gaps in our economy

    Twice a year, I pull out my cloudy crystal ball and attempt to make some predictions about the direction and pace of the North Carolina economy. I just finished my latest effort and, as usual, the results are a combination of pluses and minuses.

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jason O. Boyd Yellow journalism takes on new form, people are dumber for it

    Time to get on the soapbox for a few minutes.
    Let me clear my throat. Eh ... hem!
    People are dumb.

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • Brent Laurenz Special election adds to the mix

    RALEIGH – A busy slate of judicial elections this November got even busier recently when Judge John Martin of the N.C. Court of Appeals announced his retirement.
    A special statewide election to fill Martin’s seat will be added to the general election ballot, joining the four N.C. Supreme Court seats and three N.C. Court of Appeals races already slated for this fall.

    July 25, 2014 1 Photo

  • Patrick Gannon Fake news or sign of some more trouble?

    RALEIGH – Of the three situations I can recall where agencies receiving large sums of taxpayer dollars wouldn’t divulge employees’ salaries, two of them ended badly. The third – involving a group of charter schools in Southeastern North Carolina – is playing out right now.

    July 25, 2014 1 Photo

  • Almost half of America's obese youth don't know they're obese

    WASHINGTON - The good news is that after decades of furious growth, obesity rates finally seem to be leveling off in the U.S.. The bad news is that America's youth still appear to be dangerously unaware of the problem.

    July 23, 2014

  • Darth Vader is polling higher than all potential 2016 presidential candidates

    On the other hand, with a net favorability of -8, Jar Jar is considerably more popular than the U.S. Congress, which currently enjoys a net favorability rating of -65.

    July 23, 2014

  • D.G. Martin Where did all these new voters in North Carolina come from?

    “Voters born elsewhere make up nearly half of N.C. electorate.”
    So begins the latest DataNet report from the UNC Program on Public Life, directed by former journalist Ferrel Guillory.

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • Patrick Gannon Some light for Dems in their time of darkness

    RALEIGH – Earlier this year, state Sen. Ben Clark, a Hoke County Democrat, became a hero for a day among his party and environmentalists when his amendment to require more well water testing near future fracking sites passed the Senate. It even gained the support of a number of GOP senators, against the wishes of the Republican bill sponsor.

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • mama.jpg What we get wrong about millennials living at home

    If the media is to be believed, America is facing a major crisis. "Kids," some age 25, 26, or even 30 years old, are living out of their childhood bedrooms and basements at alarmingly high numbers. The hand-wringing overlooks one problem: It's all overblown.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

House Ads
Seasonal Content