The Stanly News and Press (Albemarle, NC)

Opinion & Letters to the Editor

August 6, 2013

One of the best films of the year

Tuesday, August 6, 2013 — “Fruitvale Station” is a film that tells the true story of a young black man whose life ends tragically after midnight on Jan. 1, 2009. The filmmakers waste no time telling the audience what is going to happen. It opens with actual footage of the shooting recorded on a cell phone by an innocent bystander. There is no mystery here; just a story of the last 24 hours of a young man’s life before he is killed, perhaps accidently, perhaps because tempers flared and cooler heads did not prevail. This is a sad, moving, brilliant film.

Following the real footage of the shooting, the film recreates the events which began just after midnight, Dec. 31, 2008. We meet Oscar Grant, his girlfriend, and their daughter. This is a loving family. Over the next hour or so (the total running time of the film is a mere 85 minutes, proving that much can be packed into a small amount of screen time), we come to understand who Oscar is and with whom he shares his life. Some scenes are moving. Some are humorous. Some disturbing.

One of the strengths of the film is that Oscar is not drawn as a perfect hero or victim. The audience learns he has been in prison. And Oscar’s temper flares more than once almost to the point of violence. He has been and is involved with drugs. However, he is a young man who loves his mother, his girlfriend, his grandmother, his family and friends and especially his sweet little girl. As each of these relationships is portrayed, it is difficult to not grieve for these people because unlike them, the audience knows what lies ahead. When the mother is depicted as almost begging her son to ride the train rather than driving into San Francisco for New Year’s Eve, one realizes that is a request she will carry with her forever.

Another strength of the film is found in the small stories that offer glimpses of who the real Oscar Grant was. (I am assuming that these stories are based on actual events that he experienced the last day of his life.) Helping a female stranger who wants to know how to fry fish by calling his grandmother for instructions, aiding a pregnant woman who desperately needs a restroom, or assisting a dog who has just be struck by a car, each of these clarifies who Oscar is and who he might have become.  

Then there is Michael B. Jordan’s depiction of Oscar that should earn him an Oscar nomination. Octavia Spencer, a previous Oscar winner for “The Help,” plays Oscar’s mother and has her best scenes following the shooting. Add to these a whole host of others who do great work.  

There is no way to watch “Fruitvale Station” and not reflect on the Travan Martin case. Regardless of where one stands on the encounter between Martin and George Zimmerman, almost everyone agrees that in the end, it is a tragedy that a young man died. Oscar Grant was another young man who may or may not be judged as responsible for his own demise. (In this case, the cell phone film helps to sort out the blame. If only there was something similar in the Martin case, the verdict might have been less divisive.)  The absolute truth in both cases is that a young man with his whole life before him will never get to live that life because of a situation that could have been easily avoided.

I commented to a friend a few days after seeing “Fruitvale Station” that I wondered if some filmmaker would offer a story on Martin like the one told so expressively about Oscar Grant. He bet it is already in the works. I am not so sure, but if it is, I hope it is made with the same dignity and courage as “Fruitvale Station.”  

This is one of the best films of the year and I hope many will seek it out.

Roger W. Thomas of Albemarle reviews films for The Stanly News & Press.

1
Text Only
Opinion & Letters to the Editor
  • D.G. Martin Read others’ views to be better informed, decide for yourself

    “I don’t read The Washington Post. That is not where I get my ideas.”

    July 30, 2014 1 Photo

  • Patrick Gannon This isn’t medical marijuana

    As state legislators debated allowing the use of an extract from marijuana plants to treat seizure disorders over the past couple of weeks, it was evident that social conservatives – there are many of them in the General Assembly – felt a tinge of unease about it, even as almost every one of them voted yes.

    July 30, 2014 1 Photo

  • Doug Creamer Friends and contentment

    Last week I made my annual trip up the mountain to Sparta. My friends have a secluded home near a babbling brook. Their home and property are a haven for peace. It’s a two-plus hour ride to their home that doesn’t feel that long because I look so forward to my time with this great couple. When I arrive, the conversation seems to pick up right where we left it the last time we saw each other.

    July 29, 2014 1 Photo

  • Thanks for the honest deed

    I would like to thank the person that found my wallet in the parking lot of Harris Teeter on July 23 and turned it in to the Albemarle Police.

    July 29, 2014

  • cleaning supplies Don't judge mothers with messy homes

    I was building shelves in my garage when a neighbor girl, one of my 4-year-old daughter's friends, approached me and said, "I just saw in your house. It's pretty dirty. Norah's mommy needs to clean more."

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • We need your help

    Hurray for the Albemarle City Council. Council plans to battle N.C. Department of Transportation’s ranking of all 13 projects in Stanly County to the bottom of their priority list. Council is setting up petitions in various city buildings for citizens to sign.

    July 28, 2014

  • Council asks veterans to seek office

    The terms of office for the leaders of the Stanly County Veterans Council ended June 30. A call is being sent to veterans council members requesting candidates for the four elective offices of the council. A meeting has been set for 6:30 p.m. Aug. 12 at the DAV building. All council members are urged to attend.

    July 28, 2014

  • Mike Walden The gains and gaps in our economy

    Twice a year, I pull out my cloudy crystal ball and attempt to make some predictions about the direction and pace of the North Carolina economy. I just finished my latest effort and, as usual, the results are a combination of pluses and minuses.

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jason O. Boyd Yellow journalism takes on new form, people are dumber for it

    Time to get on the soapbox for a few minutes.
    Let me clear my throat. Eh ... hem!
    People are dumb.

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • Brent Laurenz Special election adds to the mix

    RALEIGH – A busy slate of judicial elections this November got even busier recently when Judge John Martin of the N.C. Court of Appeals announced his retirement.
    A special statewide election to fill Martin’s seat will be added to the general election ballot, joining the four N.C. Supreme Court seats and three N.C. Court of Appeals races already slated for this fall.

    July 25, 2014 1 Photo

House Ads
Seasonal Content