The Stanly News and Press (Albemarle, NC)

Opinion & Letters to the Editor

March 26, 2014

Aren’t rules meant to be enforced?

Tuesday, March 25, 2014 — (Editor’s note: Letters to the editor are the opinions of our readers and do not represent the views of The Stanly News & Press. Not all points presented as facts in the letters have been verified.)

Aren’t rules meant to be enforced?

Do we, or don’t we have a leash law in Stanly County?

There is a female dog that desires the attention of my dog. She has come to seek him out twice in the last six months.

The problem is when she visits she brings other male dogs seeking her attention. This creates another problem; they attack my dog.

Now mind you, my two dogs have wireless collars and cannot leave the yard. So, my male is being attacked on my property.

I called Animal Control only to find out they could do nothing if I didn’t know who owned the dogs. I have no idea who this female dog belongs to.

She appears and disappears mysteriously, so do the dogs accompanying her. But is that my job to find out whose dogs they are? I also called when stray dogs running loose in the neighborhood killed a neighbor’s small dog. I got the same answer.

According to Animal Control, I could request a trap on Mondays. I called on Wednesday and could not put my request in until Monday. There is also a waiting list so there is no telling when the trap would be available. And someone will have to be home to sign for the trap.

So, if you work or happen to have an appointment, what do you do?

Another option is I can get my dog neutered. I have a registered Boston terrier that I want to one day have an offspring from. Why should he have to be neutered?

I am being a responsible owner by keeping my dog on my property. The rescue dog I also have has been spayed.

Why are responsible pet owners being punished and why is the leash law not being enforced?

Mae Teal

Badin

1
Text Only
Opinion & Letters to the Editor
  • D.G. Martin Read others’ views to be better informed, decide for yourself

    “I don’t read The Washington Post. That is not where I get my ideas.”

    July 30, 2014 1 Photo

  • Patrick Gannon This isn’t medical marijuana

    As state legislators debated allowing the use of an extract from marijuana plants to treat seizure disorders over the past couple of weeks, it was evident that social conservatives – there are many of them in the General Assembly – felt a tinge of unease about it, even as almost every one of them voted yes.

    July 30, 2014 1 Photo

  • Doug Creamer Friends and contentment

    Last week I made my annual trip up the mountain to Sparta. My friends have a secluded home near a babbling brook. Their home and property are a haven for peace. It’s a two-plus hour ride to their home that doesn’t feel that long because I look so forward to my time with this great couple. When I arrive, the conversation seems to pick up right where we left it the last time we saw each other.

    July 29, 2014 1 Photo

  • Thanks for the honest deed

    I would like to thank the person that found my wallet in the parking lot of Harris Teeter on July 23 and turned it in to the Albemarle Police.

    July 29, 2014

  • cleaning supplies Don't judge mothers with messy homes

    I was building shelves in my garage when a neighbor girl, one of my 4-year-old daughter's friends, approached me and said, "I just saw in your house. It's pretty dirty. Norah's mommy needs to clean more."

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • We need your help

    Hurray for the Albemarle City Council. Council plans to battle N.C. Department of Transportation’s ranking of all 13 projects in Stanly County to the bottom of their priority list. Council is setting up petitions in various city buildings for citizens to sign.

    July 28, 2014

  • Council asks veterans to seek office

    The terms of office for the leaders of the Stanly County Veterans Council ended June 30. A call is being sent to veterans council members requesting candidates for the four elective offices of the council. A meeting has been set for 6:30 p.m. Aug. 12 at the DAV building. All council members are urged to attend.

    July 28, 2014

  • Mike Walden The gains and gaps in our economy

    Twice a year, I pull out my cloudy crystal ball and attempt to make some predictions about the direction and pace of the North Carolina economy. I just finished my latest effort and, as usual, the results are a combination of pluses and minuses.

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jason O. Boyd Yellow journalism takes on new form, people are dumber for it

    Time to get on the soapbox for a few minutes.
    Let me clear my throat. Eh ... hem!
    People are dumb.

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • Brent Laurenz Special election adds to the mix

    RALEIGH – A busy slate of judicial elections this November got even busier recently when Judge John Martin of the N.C. Court of Appeals announced his retirement.
    A special statewide election to fill Martin’s seat will be added to the general election ballot, joining the four N.C. Supreme Court seats and three N.C. Court of Appeals races already slated for this fall.

    July 25, 2014 1 Photo

House Ads
Seasonal Content