The Stanly News and Press (Albemarle, NC)

Opinion & Letters to the Editor

March 26, 2014

Aren’t rules meant to be enforced?

Tuesday, March 25, 2014 — (Editor’s note: Letters to the editor are the opinions of our readers and do not represent the views of The Stanly News & Press. Not all points presented as facts in the letters have been verified.)

Aren’t rules meant to be enforced?

Do we, or don’t we have a leash law in Stanly County?

There is a female dog that desires the attention of my dog. She has come to seek him out twice in the last six months.

The problem is when she visits she brings other male dogs seeking her attention. This creates another problem; they attack my dog.

Now mind you, my two dogs have wireless collars and cannot leave the yard. So, my male is being attacked on my property.

I called Animal Control only to find out they could do nothing if I didn’t know who owned the dogs. I have no idea who this female dog belongs to.

She appears and disappears mysteriously, so do the dogs accompanying her. But is that my job to find out whose dogs they are? I also called when stray dogs running loose in the neighborhood killed a neighbor’s small dog. I got the same answer.

According to Animal Control, I could request a trap on Mondays. I called on Wednesday and could not put my request in until Monday. There is also a waiting list so there is no telling when the trap would be available. And someone will have to be home to sign for the trap.

So, if you work or happen to have an appointment, what do you do?

Another option is I can get my dog neutered. I have a registered Boston terrier that I want to one day have an offspring from. Why should he have to be neutered?

I am being a responsible owner by keeping my dog on my property. The rescue dog I also have has been spayed.

Why are responsible pet owners being punished and why is the leash law not being enforced?

Mae Teal

Badin

1
Text Only
Opinion & Letters to the Editor
  • D.G. Martin Where did all these new voters in North Carolina come from?

    “Voters born elsewhere make up nearly half of N.C. electorate.”
    So begins the latest DataNet report from the UNC Program on Public Life, directed by former journalist Ferrel Guillory.

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • Patrick Gannon Some light for Dems in their time of darkness

    RALEIGH – Earlier this year, state Sen. Ben Clark, a Hoke County Democrat, became a hero for a day among his party and environmentalists when his amendment to require more well water testing near future fracking sites passed the Senate. It even gained the support of a number of GOP senators, against the wishes of the Republican bill sponsor.

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • mama.jpg What we get wrong about millennials living at home

    If the media is to be believed, America is facing a major crisis. "Kids," some age 25, 26, or even 30 years old, are living out of their childhood bedrooms and basements at alarmingly high numbers. The hand-wringing overlooks one problem: It's all overblown.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Doug Creamer Maintaining hope

    Gardeners are facing challenges with the weather this year. It seemed like we were getting great conditions in April and May. The weather was warm and we were getting some good rains. Then sometime in June the rain stopped. It got so dry that I didn’t have to cut the grass. While I enjoyed the break, the garden was not happy at all. I was having to water quite a bit to keep the vegetable garden alive and growing.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jason O. Boyd I may be a bit behind the times, but at least I can find ‘America’

    I seem to be reading about and dealing with technology a lot lately.
    I  love technology and have always been fascinated by gadgets of all kinds and the wonderful things they can do. You never seem to go through an entire day without some form of invention enhancing your life.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Brent Laurenz Meeting out in open helps negotiations move ahead

    RALEIGH – State lawmakers reconvened in Raleigh on May 14 promising a brief legislative session this summer, but as July moves along they are still in town and tackling big issues.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Larry's Sketch 7.16.14.tif They don’t give a darn for Duke University

    John “Duke” Wayne’s heirs are suing Duke University over trademark rights.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Your chocolate addiction is only going to get more expensive

    WASHINGTON - For nearly two years, cocoa prices have been on the rise. Finally, that's affecting the price you pay for a bar of chocolate - and there's reason to believe it's only the beginning.

    July 18, 2014

  • Patrick Gannon Don’t forget the losers in state lottery

    RALEIGH – Behind every state lottery dollar that goes to education is a loser.
    There’s also a winner – the teacher whose salary it pays, the student who gets a scholarship or the district where a new school gets built. But we hear about the winners in advertisements and in press releases.
    This column is about the losers.

    July 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • Hodgepodge Cooling an overheated hedgehog and other summer travel stories

    Anybody with a pet during the summer inevitably finds themselves facing this question: What do I do with my pet on vacation?
    There are kennels for dogs, day cares for cats. Shoot, you can even find a friend to take care of your guinea pig.
    But what do you do with a hedgehog?

    July 18, 2014 2 Photos

House Ads
Seasonal Content