The Stanly News and Press (Albemarle, NC)

Opinion & Letters to the Editor

January 7, 2013

Remembering 27 who didn’t return

Monday, January 7, 2013 — I spent a little time over the holidays looking back at some of the stories I’ve covered during the last three decades of my career.

I get really sentimental around New Year’s Day and it’s as good a time as any to reflect back and look forward.

There was one story in particular that I had tucked away in the memory banks, but haven’t dusted it off lately.

It was from a cold, sunny morning in December 2010.

I was sent to Fort Knox to cover the deployment ceremony of 3,500 young men and women who were preparing for a year’s stay on the Pakistan/Afghanistan border.

The grandstands were full of color and faces.

Those colors were the familiar red, white and blue and the faces were those of the family and friends of these troops who were one plane ride away from the rest of their lives.

While I can’t recall all the names of the soldiers I talked to, I remember one as clear as if it were yesterday.

As proud an American as I am, I would be the last one who could adequately submit myself to the punishing weather and way of life these soldiers have to endure. Not to mention, the idea you may never see home again.

But, I asked this one soldier about those very things.

“It’s just in our training,” I remember him responding. “We know what is ahead and we are ready for it.”

I had already spoken to their commander who said where these troops were going was probably the most dangerous area in which to be sent.

“You just can’t think about that,” the soldier told me. “Yeah, it’s always there in the back of your mind. But, you have to go do your job. We can’t let anything affect that.”

When I asked him if he was nervous about the flight they would take within a few hours, he said not at all.

Text Only
Opinion & Letters to the Editor
  • Almost half of America's obese youth don't know they're obese

    WASHINGTON - The good news is that after decades of furious growth, obesity rates finally seem to be leveling off in the U.S.. The bad news is that America's youth still appear to be dangerously unaware of the problem.

    July 23, 2014

  • Darth Vader is polling higher than all potential 2016 presidential candidates

    On the other hand, with a net favorability of -8, Jar Jar is considerably more popular than the U.S. Congress, which currently enjoys a net favorability rating of -65.

    July 23, 2014

  • D.G. Martin Where did all these new voters in North Carolina come from?

    “Voters born elsewhere make up nearly half of N.C. electorate.”
    So begins the latest DataNet report from the UNC Program on Public Life, directed by former journalist Ferrel Guillory.

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • Patrick Gannon Some light for Dems in their time of darkness

    RALEIGH – Earlier this year, state Sen. Ben Clark, a Hoke County Democrat, became a hero for a day among his party and environmentalists when his amendment to require more well water testing near future fracking sites passed the Senate. It even gained the support of a number of GOP senators, against the wishes of the Republican bill sponsor.

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • mama.jpg What we get wrong about millennials living at home

    If the media is to be believed, America is facing a major crisis. "Kids," some age 25, 26, or even 30 years old, are living out of their childhood bedrooms and basements at alarmingly high numbers. The hand-wringing overlooks one problem: It's all overblown.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Doug Creamer Maintaining hope

    Gardeners are facing challenges with the weather this year. It seemed like we were getting great conditions in April and May. The weather was warm and we were getting some good rains. Then sometime in June the rain stopped. It got so dry that I didn’t have to cut the grass. While I enjoyed the break, the garden was not happy at all. I was having to water quite a bit to keep the vegetable garden alive and growing.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jason O. Boyd I may be a bit behind the times, but at least I can find ‘America’

    I seem to be reading about and dealing with technology a lot lately.
    I  love technology and have always been fascinated by gadgets of all kinds and the wonderful things they can do. You never seem to go through an entire day without some form of invention enhancing your life.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Brent Laurenz Meeting out in open helps negotiations move ahead

    RALEIGH – State lawmakers reconvened in Raleigh on May 14 promising a brief legislative session this summer, but as July moves along they are still in town and tackling big issues.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Larry's Sketch 7.16.14.tif They don’t give a darn for Duke University

    John “Duke” Wayne’s heirs are suing Duke University over trademark rights.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Your chocolate addiction is only going to get more expensive

    WASHINGTON - For nearly two years, cocoa prices have been on the rise. Finally, that's affecting the price you pay for a bar of chocolate - and there's reason to believe it's only the beginning.

    July 18, 2014

House Ads
Seasonal Content