The Stanly News and Press (Albemarle, NC)

Opinion & Letters to the Editor

January 7, 2013

Remembering 27 who didn’t return

(Continued)

Monday, January 7, 2013 — “We’re excited, trained and ready to go,” he replied. “Although, I’m dreading that long plane ride.”

Having had the chance to fly in a military plane, I could understand that one.

I was only in one for a few hours and it is no luxury airliner.

I could not imagine the 12 to 14 hours these troops would have to endure on a bad plane ride to land in the middle of a hostile region from which they may not return.

But, I return to the enthusiasm and dedication I saw in these faces and heard in the voices who although 20 years younger than me demonstrated a matureness that far outweighed mine.

It recalled to me a quote from Gen. Dwight D. Eisenhower during World War II when he said, “Where do we find such men and women?”

As the troops made their ceremonial march in front of their commander, I was scurrying around trying to take all the pictures I could.

With every picture I took, I saw the faces. Those young faces and, while it may seem a morbid thought, I kept wondering, “Will that be the one who doesn’t come home?”

It’s been two years since I saluted the men and women of the Duke Brigade, 3rd Brigade Combat Team, 1st Infantry Division.

Their mission ended a year ago, and so I began looking around on the Internet to see how their mission went.

And I found the answer I had asked two years ago.

27.

That’s how many of those bright-eyed, excited young people didn’t take that long plane ride home the way they hoped.

Their names now grace a monument only yards from the fields where they marched with such pride and determination on that cold December day.

Frustrating for me, I don’t have any way of knowing if any of those 27 were ones I talked to or saw eye-to-eye on that day.

It sort of sends a chill through me thinking about those young warriors and wondering.

Everyone always takes those special, set-aside days to salute those who serve our country in uniform.

Remembering that story and the 27 is a reminder they serve us every day.

Appreciating what they do and the sacrifices they make should also be an every day event for all of us.

 

Text Only
Opinion & Letters to the Editor
  • Doug Creamer Friends and contentment

    Last week I made my annual trip up the mountain to Sparta. My friends have a secluded home near a babbling brook. Their home and property are a haven for peace. It’s a two-plus hour ride to their home that doesn’t feel that long because I look so forward to my time with this great couple. When I arrive, the conversation seems to pick up right where we left it the last time we saw each other.

    July 29, 2014 1 Photo

  • Thanks for the honest deed

    I would like to thank the person that found my wallet in the parking lot of Harris Teeter on July 23 and turned it in to the Albemarle Police.

    July 29, 2014

  • cleaning supplies Don't judge mothers with messy homes

    I was building shelves in my garage when a neighbor girl, one of my 4-year-old daughter's friends, approached me and said, "I just saw in your house. It's pretty dirty. Norah's mommy needs to clean more."

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • We need your help

    Hurray for the Albemarle City Council. Council plans to battle N.C. Department of Transportation’s ranking of all 13 projects in Stanly County to the bottom of their priority list. Council is setting up petitions in various city buildings for citizens to sign.

    July 28, 2014

  • Council asks veterans to seek office

    The terms of office for the leaders of the Stanly County Veterans Council ended June 30. A call is being sent to veterans council members requesting candidates for the four elective offices of the council. A meeting has been set for 6:30 p.m. Aug. 12 at the DAV building. All council members are urged to attend.

    July 28, 2014

  • Mike Walden The gains and gaps in our economy

    Twice a year, I pull out my cloudy crystal ball and attempt to make some predictions about the direction and pace of the North Carolina economy. I just finished my latest effort and, as usual, the results are a combination of pluses and minuses.

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jason O. Boyd Yellow journalism takes on new form, people are dumber for it

    Time to get on the soapbox for a few minutes.
    Let me clear my throat. Eh ... hem!
    People are dumb.

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • Brent Laurenz Special election adds to the mix

    RALEIGH – A busy slate of judicial elections this November got even busier recently when Judge John Martin of the N.C. Court of Appeals announced his retirement.
    A special statewide election to fill Martin’s seat will be added to the general election ballot, joining the four N.C. Supreme Court seats and three N.C. Court of Appeals races already slated for this fall.

    July 25, 2014 1 Photo

  • Patrick Gannon Fake news or sign of some more trouble?

    RALEIGH – Of the three situations I can recall where agencies receiving large sums of taxpayer dollars wouldn’t divulge employees’ salaries, two of them ended badly. The third – involving a group of charter schools in Southeastern North Carolina – is playing out right now.

    July 25, 2014 1 Photo

  • Almost half of America's obese youth don't know they're obese

    WASHINGTON - The good news is that after decades of furious growth, obesity rates finally seem to be leveling off in the U.S.. The bad news is that America's youth still appear to be dangerously unaware of the problem.

    July 23, 2014

House Ads
Seasonal Content