The Stanly News and Press (Albemarle, NC)

Opinion & Letters to the Editor

July 28, 2013

Only one dish for the rest of your life: What would you pick?

I don't know how your family is, but over the dinner table my family can get into some pretty interesting conversation.

A few nights ago, we had a doozy of a topic, with a hypothetical questions presented to us by our 21-year-old son, Andrew. Most were of the "would you rather" category. One that immediately comes to mind is "Would you rather be able to run 100 miles per hour or fly at 5 miles per hour?" The question that the drew the most discussion was a food question, and so now, readers, I ask you:

"If you were stranded on an island for the rest of your life, and you could only eat one dish, what would that dish be?"

At first we were throwing around random comments, but then the gravity of the question began to sink in. We are all self-professed foodies, and we are talking about the rest of our lives, with just one dish.

So of course, being argumentative foodies dealing with a really serious topic, we had to negotiate and lay down some realistic and acceptable ground rules for this conversation, because, you know ... this could really happen.

First ground rule: No consideration is given to health. In other words, a greasy cheeseburger would have the same impact on your cholesterol level as a head of lettuce. Mind you, a head of lettuce was not in the running, not even with my wife, Liz. But it was a valid point.

Second ground rule: If you chose pizza, you could only order a one-item pizza with cheese and sauce. Otherwise you could just load pizzas with every possible topping and your entire universe of food groups would be covered, which eliminates the point of the discussion. Think about it. Ham, bacon, olives, peppers, anchovies, pineapple, chicken, you get the point. An easy cop out answer.

Text Only
Opinion & Letters to the Editor
  • Patrick Gannon Fake news or sign of some more trouble?

    RALEIGH – Of the three situations I can recall where agencies receiving large sums of taxpayer dollars wouldn’t divulge employees’ salaries, two of them ended badly. The third – involving a group of charter schools in Southeastern North Carolina – is playing out right now.

    July 25, 2014 1 Photo

  • Almost half of America's obese youth don't know they're obese

    WASHINGTON - The good news is that after decades of furious growth, obesity rates finally seem to be leveling off in the U.S.. The bad news is that America's youth still appear to be dangerously unaware of the problem.

    July 23, 2014

  • Darth Vader is polling higher than all potential 2016 presidential candidates

    On the other hand, with a net favorability of -8, Jar Jar is considerably more popular than the U.S. Congress, which currently enjoys a net favorability rating of -65.

    July 23, 2014

  • D.G. Martin Where did all these new voters in North Carolina come from?

    “Voters born elsewhere make up nearly half of N.C. electorate.”
    So begins the latest DataNet report from the UNC Program on Public Life, directed by former journalist Ferrel Guillory.

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • Patrick Gannon Some light for Dems in their time of darkness

    RALEIGH – Earlier this year, state Sen. Ben Clark, a Hoke County Democrat, became a hero for a day among his party and environmentalists when his amendment to require more well water testing near future fracking sites passed the Senate. It even gained the support of a number of GOP senators, against the wishes of the Republican bill sponsor.

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • mama.jpg What we get wrong about millennials living at home

    If the media is to be believed, America is facing a major crisis. "Kids," some age 25, 26, or even 30 years old, are living out of their childhood bedrooms and basements at alarmingly high numbers. The hand-wringing overlooks one problem: It's all overblown.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Doug Creamer Maintaining hope

    Gardeners are facing challenges with the weather this year. It seemed like we were getting great conditions in April and May. The weather was warm and we were getting some good rains. Then sometime in June the rain stopped. It got so dry that I didn’t have to cut the grass. While I enjoyed the break, the garden was not happy at all. I was having to water quite a bit to keep the vegetable garden alive and growing.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jason O. Boyd I may be a bit behind the times, but at least I can find ‘America’

    I seem to be reading about and dealing with technology a lot lately.
    I  love technology and have always been fascinated by gadgets of all kinds and the wonderful things they can do. You never seem to go through an entire day without some form of invention enhancing your life.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Brent Laurenz Meeting out in open helps negotiations move ahead

    RALEIGH – State lawmakers reconvened in Raleigh on May 14 promising a brief legislative session this summer, but as July moves along they are still in town and tackling big issues.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Larry's Sketch 7.16.14.tif They don’t give a darn for Duke University

    John “Duke” Wayne’s heirs are suing Duke University over trademark rights.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

House Ads
Seasonal Content