The Stanly News and Press (Albemarle, NC)

Opinion & Letters to the Editor

October 4, 2013

EDITORIALS: Messages about exercise; Opening the Vatican's bank

Exercise aids health, so why is message often ignored?

(The New Castle News / New Castle, Pa.)

Have a health-related problem? They have a pill for that.

In the modern world, medication is frequently seen as the answer for what ails you. But a new study appears to confirm what is really little more than common sense.

Proper diet and exercise can be very useful in dealing with a variety of human illnesses, in some cases proving just as helpful as drugs when dealing with health problems.

A report published by the British Medical Journal touted the benefits of exercise by stating that there was no statistical difference in results between test subjects who used exercise or drug treatments after suffering coronary disease or pre-diabetes.

Basically, the outcomes among the test subjects were the same, whether they opted for lifestyle changes or medications to deal with their conditions. The conclusion of the researchers was that physicians should stress the health benefits of proper diet and exercise — which we would hope they already do.

We’re not sure this research breaks any new ground. There is a litany of medical research indicating there are meaningful health benefits found in healthy lifestyles. This doesn’t mean people should be training for marathons or counting every calorie. But keeping active has been shown to reduce heart disease risks, high blood pressure and the impact of arthritis, among other things.

There’s no secret to any of this. Yet data constantly suggests Americans don’t get enough exercise, and obesity is literally a growing problem. So why aren’t people taking better care of themselves?

The main answer, we suppose, is that people like to eat, and exercise takes time and effort. And a culture that prizes instant gratification will opt to reach for medication because it can work quickly to address a problem with minimal effort.

Text Only
Opinion & Letters to the Editor
  • Darth Vader is polling higher than all potential 2016 presidential candidates

    On the other hand, with a net favorability of -8, Jar Jar is considerably more popular than the U.S. Congress, which currently enjoys a net favorability rating of -65.

    July 23, 2014

  • D.G. Martin Where did all these new voters in North Carolina come from?

    “Voters born elsewhere make up nearly half of N.C. electorate.”
    So begins the latest DataNet report from the UNC Program on Public Life, directed by former journalist Ferrel Guillory.

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • Patrick Gannon Some light for Dems in their time of darkness

    RALEIGH – Earlier this year, state Sen. Ben Clark, a Hoke County Democrat, became a hero for a day among his party and environmentalists when his amendment to require more well water testing near future fracking sites passed the Senate. It even gained the support of a number of GOP senators, against the wishes of the Republican bill sponsor.

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • mama.jpg What we get wrong about millennials living at home

    If the media is to be believed, America is facing a major crisis. "Kids," some age 25, 26, or even 30 years old, are living out of their childhood bedrooms and basements at alarmingly high numbers. The hand-wringing overlooks one problem: It's all overblown.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Doug Creamer Maintaining hope

    Gardeners are facing challenges with the weather this year. It seemed like we were getting great conditions in April and May. The weather was warm and we were getting some good rains. Then sometime in June the rain stopped. It got so dry that I didn’t have to cut the grass. While I enjoyed the break, the garden was not happy at all. I was having to water quite a bit to keep the vegetable garden alive and growing.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jason O. Boyd I may be a bit behind the times, but at least I can find ‘America’

    I seem to be reading about and dealing with technology a lot lately.
    I  love technology and have always been fascinated by gadgets of all kinds and the wonderful things they can do. You never seem to go through an entire day without some form of invention enhancing your life.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Brent Laurenz Meeting out in open helps negotiations move ahead

    RALEIGH – State lawmakers reconvened in Raleigh on May 14 promising a brief legislative session this summer, but as July moves along they are still in town and tackling big issues.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Larry's Sketch 7.16.14.tif They don’t give a darn for Duke University

    John “Duke” Wayne’s heirs are suing Duke University over trademark rights.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Your chocolate addiction is only going to get more expensive

    WASHINGTON - For nearly two years, cocoa prices have been on the rise. Finally, that's affecting the price you pay for a bar of chocolate - and there's reason to believe it's only the beginning.

    July 18, 2014

  • Patrick Gannon Don’t forget the losers in state lottery

    RALEIGH – Behind every state lottery dollar that goes to education is a loser.
    There’s also a winner – the teacher whose salary it pays, the student who gets a scholarship or the district where a new school gets built. But we hear about the winners in advertisements and in press releases.
    This column is about the losers.

    July 18, 2014 1 Photo

House Ads
Seasonal Content