The Stanly News and Press (Albemarle, NC)

Opinion & Letters to the Editor

April 5, 2013

Baseball, Broadway are theater in their own way

Friday, April 5, 2013 — It is, to be sure, the most magical day of the year -- the opening day of the baseball season.

There are any number of ways to show this, even in an era where baseball has been bypassed across the nation by the National Football League as the great American game. But I prefer to do it by going back almost 30 years into a sports writing career that was built upon the game of baseball.

It was 1985, mid-January, when the most wonderful sports editor I ever worked with sent me to New York City for a crossover story aimed at showing just what baseball meant in this land of ours. The subject of my search was a wonderful actor, a man who was appearing in the Broadway play “Glengarry Glen Ross,” a Pulitzer Prize-winning drama in which he had earned a Tony Award.

That role may be forgotten now across our land, but the actor is not, for he is Joe Mantegna, whose current presence is as a featured character on “Criminal Minds,” a show in which he portrays FBI Special Agent Joe Rossi.

What brought this itinerant baseball writer there in the dead of winter was that we had heard that Mantegna had a shrine within his dressing room dedicated to his beloved Chicago Cubs, with whom he had suffered as a youth and offered him the backdrop for the play he would author in 1977 about the famed bleachers in Wrigley Field called “Bleacher Bums” after the faithful who reside there.

So here is what I encountered as I walked into Mantegna’s dressing room.

One wall is a shrine to the Cubs. There is a New York Daily News sports page proclaiming the Cubs champions of the National League East. There are baseball cards and pictures, including one of Mel Hall as a Cub.

Text Only
Opinion & Letters to the Editor
  • Jason O. Boyd I may be a bit behind the times, but at least I can find ‘America’

    I seem to be reading about and dealing with technology a lot lately.
    I  love technology and have always been fascinated by gadgets of all kinds and the wonderful things they can do. You never seem to go through an entire day without some form of invention enhancing your life.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Brent Laurenz Meeting out in open helps negotiations move ahead

    RALEIGH – State lawmakers reconvened in Raleigh on May 14 promising a brief legislative session this summer, but as July moves along they are still in town and tackling big issues.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Larry's Sketch 7.16.14.tif They don’t give a darn for Duke University

    John “Duke” Wayne’s heirs are suing Duke University over trademark rights.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Your chocolate addiction is only going to get more expensive

    WASHINGTON - For nearly two years, cocoa prices have been on the rise. Finally, that's affecting the price you pay for a bar of chocolate - and there's reason to believe it's only the beginning.

    July 18, 2014

  • Patrick Gannon Don’t forget the losers in state lottery

    RALEIGH – Behind every state lottery dollar that goes to education is a loser.
    There’s also a winner – the teacher whose salary it pays, the student who gets a scholarship or the district where a new school gets built. But we hear about the winners in advertisements and in press releases.
    This column is about the losers.

    July 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • Hodgepodge Cooling an overheated hedgehog and other summer travel stories

    Anybody with a pet during the summer inevitably finds themselves facing this question: What do I do with my pet on vacation?
    There are kennels for dogs, day cares for cats. Shoot, you can even find a friend to take care of your guinea pig.
    But what do you do with a hedgehog?

    July 18, 2014 2 Photos

  • North Carolina Boasts Top Wildlife Magazine and A Success Story

    The following opinion piece was released by the N.C. Wildlife Resources Commission:

    RALEIGH  — When Wildlife in North Carolina, the magazine published by the N.C. Wildlife Resources Commission, was named recently as the nation’s best in its category, it reflected more than accolades as a quality publication.

    July 17, 2014

  • 130408_NT_BEA_good kids We're raising a generation of timid kids

    CHICAGO - A week ago, a woman was charged with leaving her child in the car while she went into a store. Her 11-year-old child. This week, a woman was arrested for allowing her 9-year-old daughter to go to the park alone. Which raises just one question: America, what the heck is wrong with you?

    July 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • 25 hidden secrets in "Weird Al's" "Word Crimes" video

    Yankovic's 14th album was released this week, and it warms my heart containers that he's kept up his geeky brand of humor for so long. While he has written so many incredible songs, none have spoken to my love of proper grammar.
    Until "Word Crimes."

    July 16, 2014

  • 90-plus welcome to birthday party 

    The Stanly County Senior Center will host our eighth annual 90+ Birthday Party for all Stanly County residents who are 90 years or greater. This event will be held at the Senior Center on July 30 at 2 p.m. The theme this year is “An Afternoon with Old Blue Eyes.”

    July 16, 2014

House Ads
Seasonal Content