The Stanly News and Press (Albemarle, NC)

Opinion & Letters to the Editor

April 5, 2013

Baseball, Broadway are theater in their own way

(Continued)

Friday, April 5, 2013 — Forget that Hall was traded to the Cleveland Indians. To Mantegna, once a Cub, always a Cub.

And finally, third baseman Ron Cey dominates the wall in a full-color, personally autographed post.

“Ron Cey was at Macy’s signing posters when the Cubs were in town,” Mantegna said. “Between plays on Wednesday I went over there and got him to sign one for me.”

A Tony Award winner standing in line at Macy’s department store for Ron Cey’s autograph. Perhaps no other way can the connection between baseball and Broadway be so graphically illustrated.

See, this baseball thing and its ties to Broadway isn’t a one-man love affair concerning Mantegna, as I came to find out.

If you go back almost 60 years you find out that Douglass Wallop III, a graduate of the University of Maryland, wrote an innocent little book in 1954 entitled “The Year the Yankees Lost the Pennant.”

It became “Damn Yankees” on Broadway and ran for more than three years, winning a Tony Award.

It was the story of Joe Hardy, who sold his soul to the devil so he could play for the Washington Senators and help them beat the New York Yankees.

Beating the Yankees was the dream in 1954, only it turned out to be the Cleveland Indians who did it, ending a string of five consecutive World Championships.

“I’d spent my life, starting as a 5- or 6-year-old in old Griffith Stadium in Washington,” Wallop said. “I can remember going to games in a Boy Scout uniform and getting into the bleachers for a dime. I’m old enough that I saw Walter Johnson pitch his last game and I saw Ty Cobb at the end of his career. I was what you would call a frustrated Senator fan.”

Text Only
Opinion & Letters to the Editor
  • Patrick Gannon Some light for Dems in their time of darkness

    RALEIGH – Earlier this year, state Sen. Ben Clark, a Hoke County Democrat, became a hero for a day among his party and environmentalists when his amendment to require more well water testing near future fracking sites passed the Senate. It even gained the support of a number of GOP senators, against the wishes of the Republican bill sponsor.

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • mama.jpg What we get wrong about millennials living at home

    If the media is to be believed, America is facing a major crisis. "Kids," some age 25, 26, or even 30 years old, are living out of their childhood bedrooms and basements at alarmingly high numbers. The hand-wringing overlooks one problem: It's all overblown.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Doug Creamer Maintaining hope

    Gardeners are facing challenges with the weather this year. It seemed like we were getting great conditions in April and May. The weather was warm and we were getting some good rains. Then sometime in June the rain stopped. It got so dry that I didn’t have to cut the grass. While I enjoyed the break, the garden was not happy at all. I was having to water quite a bit to keep the vegetable garden alive and growing.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jason O. Boyd I may be a bit behind the times, but at least I can find ‘America’

    I seem to be reading about and dealing with technology a lot lately.
    I  love technology and have always been fascinated by gadgets of all kinds and the wonderful things they can do. You never seem to go through an entire day without some form of invention enhancing your life.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Brent Laurenz Meeting out in open helps negotiations move ahead

    RALEIGH – State lawmakers reconvened in Raleigh on May 14 promising a brief legislative session this summer, but as July moves along they are still in town and tackling big issues.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Larry's Sketch 7.16.14.tif They don’t give a darn for Duke University

    John “Duke” Wayne’s heirs are suing Duke University over trademark rights.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Your chocolate addiction is only going to get more expensive

    WASHINGTON - For nearly two years, cocoa prices have been on the rise. Finally, that's affecting the price you pay for a bar of chocolate - and there's reason to believe it's only the beginning.

    July 18, 2014

  • Patrick Gannon Don’t forget the losers in state lottery

    RALEIGH – Behind every state lottery dollar that goes to education is a loser.
    There’s also a winner – the teacher whose salary it pays, the student who gets a scholarship or the district where a new school gets built. But we hear about the winners in advertisements and in press releases.
    This column is about the losers.

    July 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • Hodgepodge Cooling an overheated hedgehog and other summer travel stories

    Anybody with a pet during the summer inevitably finds themselves facing this question: What do I do with my pet on vacation?
    There are kennels for dogs, day cares for cats. Shoot, you can even find a friend to take care of your guinea pig.
    But what do you do with a hedgehog?

    July 18, 2014 2 Photos

  • North Carolina Boasts Top Wildlife Magazine and A Success Story

    The following opinion piece was released by the N.C. Wildlife Resources Commission:

    RALEIGH  — When Wildlife in North Carolina, the magazine published by the N.C. Wildlife Resources Commission, was named recently as the nation’s best in its category, it reflected more than accolades as a quality publication.

    July 17, 2014

House Ads
Seasonal Content