The Stanly News and Press (Albemarle, NC)

Opinion & Letters to the Editor

April 5, 2013

Baseball, Broadway are theater in their own way

(Continued)

Friday, April 5, 2013 — One day, in 1953, Wallop noticed his wife had left “Faust” sheet music on the family piano.

“Something just came together in my head,” he said.

Three months later the book was complete and even before it was published it was being clamored over by those wanting to buy the rights to put it on Broadway.

Mantegna’s story isn’t much different from Wallop’s. He would go to the Cubs games rather than Washington Senator games as a youth, and as a 12-year-old he might not have seen Walter Johnson pitch but he saw Glen Hobby win 16 games, and if there was no Ty Cobb there was a skinny shortstop named Ernie Banks who hit 45 home runs that year on his way to an MVP season.

He tells the story of going to the games with his father and gazing through a hole in a rickety wood wall, catching bits and pieces of the game. As the writer Joe Posnansky recently repeated the tale, “Joe would look up at his father, see the wonder in his face, hear the passion in his voice. And he would think: ‘Dad, who gives a hoot? Let’s go get a hot dog.’”

Knowing his dedication to the game of baseball, although that, too, is part of the baseball experience. However, in this case it is likely a story told in jest, for when I spoke with him the Cubs and baseball were closer to a religious experience than a sporting event and that is what led him to write his play “Bleacher Bums.” This is how I tried to explain it then.

One day, as he sat in the bleachers, a thought crossed Joe Mantegna’s mind.

“I’m sitting there and I got to thinking, ‘What’s going on here in the bleachers is more interesting than what’s going on down on the field.’ Then I thought, ‘How come there are 35,000 people here and you can’t get 2,000 into the theater?’”

Text Only
Opinion & Letters to the Editor
  • Brent Laurenz Special election adds to the mix

    RALEIGH – A busy slate of judicial elections this November got even busier recently when Judge John Martin of the N.C. Court of Appeals announced his retirement.
    A special statewide election to fill Martin’s seat will be added to the general election ballot, joining the four N.C. Supreme Court seats and three N.C. Court of Appeals races already slated for this fall.

    July 25, 2014 1 Photo

  • Patrick Gannon Fake news or sign of some more trouble?

    RALEIGH – Of the three situations I can recall where agencies receiving large sums of taxpayer dollars wouldn’t divulge employees’ salaries, two of them ended badly. The third – involving a group of charter schools in Southeastern North Carolina – is playing out right now.

    July 25, 2014 1 Photo

  • Almost half of America's obese youth don't know they're obese

    WASHINGTON - The good news is that after decades of furious growth, obesity rates finally seem to be leveling off in the U.S.. The bad news is that America's youth still appear to be dangerously unaware of the problem.

    July 23, 2014

  • Darth Vader is polling higher than all potential 2016 presidential candidates

    On the other hand, with a net favorability of -8, Jar Jar is considerably more popular than the U.S. Congress, which currently enjoys a net favorability rating of -65.

    July 23, 2014

  • D.G. Martin Where did all these new voters in North Carolina come from?

    “Voters born elsewhere make up nearly half of N.C. electorate.”
    So begins the latest DataNet report from the UNC Program on Public Life, directed by former journalist Ferrel Guillory.

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • Patrick Gannon Some light for Dems in their time of darkness

    RALEIGH – Earlier this year, state Sen. Ben Clark, a Hoke County Democrat, became a hero for a day among his party and environmentalists when his amendment to require more well water testing near future fracking sites passed the Senate. It even gained the support of a number of GOP senators, against the wishes of the Republican bill sponsor.

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • mama.jpg What we get wrong about millennials living at home

    If the media is to be believed, America is facing a major crisis. "Kids," some age 25, 26, or even 30 years old, are living out of their childhood bedrooms and basements at alarmingly high numbers. The hand-wringing overlooks one problem: It's all overblown.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Doug Creamer Maintaining hope

    Gardeners are facing challenges with the weather this year. It seemed like we were getting great conditions in April and May. The weather was warm and we were getting some good rains. Then sometime in June the rain stopped. It got so dry that I didn’t have to cut the grass. While I enjoyed the break, the garden was not happy at all. I was having to water quite a bit to keep the vegetable garden alive and growing.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jason O. Boyd I may be a bit behind the times, but at least I can find ‘America’

    I seem to be reading about and dealing with technology a lot lately.
    I  love technology and have always been fascinated by gadgets of all kinds and the wonderful things they can do. You never seem to go through an entire day without some form of invention enhancing your life.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Brent Laurenz Meeting out in open helps negotiations move ahead

    RALEIGH – State lawmakers reconvened in Raleigh on May 14 promising a brief legislative session this summer, but as July moves along they are still in town and tackling big issues.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

House Ads
Seasonal Content