The Stanly News and Press (Albemarle, NC)

Opinion & Letters to the Editor

August 16, 2013

Pet snakes can slither their way into your heart

For some animal lovers, watching these exotic creatures slither across the Animal Planet screen isn't enough -- you want to bring the thrill of snake ownership into your own home. 

While snakes seem exciting and manageable through a television screen or from behind a glass wall, there are a few things that aspiring snake owners must know before bringing these exotic creatures into their homes.

The most common snakes kept by enthusiasts are cornsnakes, kingsnakes, and ball pythons. Many of these snakes, like the corn and king, are well suited for older children and first-time snake owners, due to their simple feeding methods and docile temperament. However, some species reach very large sizes in captivity, and their considerable space requirements must be anticipated.

"Other popular snakes like boa constrictors and carpet python are better for an owner comfortable with larger snakes, as they often get 7 or more feet long," explained Dr. Jordan Gentry, zoological medicine resident at the Texas A&M College of Veterinary Medicine & Biomedical Sciences. "Green tree python, rainbow boas, and tree boas have slightly more specialized care and are less tolerant to handling, but can make great pets for an owner that has researched the species."

Large constricting snakes, venomous snakes, and snakes with difficult care requirements do not make suitable pets and should only be kept by experienced herpetologists.

Doing research on the individual snake species you are interested in will provide you with recommendations for their care, including environmental, sanitation, and dietary considerations.

"The habitat for the snake depends entirely on the species of snake, as some are from an arid environment that does not require as much humidity as a snake from a tropical environment," said Gentry.

As for feeding requirements, almost all pet snakes should be on a whole prey diet of pre-killed rodents, such as mice or rats. 

Text Only
Opinion & Letters to the Editor
  • Jason O. Boyd Yellow journalism takes on new form, people are dumber for it

    Time to get on the soapbox for a few minutes.
    Let me clear my throat. Eh ... hem!
    People are dumb.

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • Brent Laurenz Special election adds to the mix

    RALEIGH – A busy slate of judicial elections this November got even busier recently when Judge John Martin of the N.C. Court of Appeals announced his retirement.
    A special statewide election to fill Martin’s seat will be added to the general election ballot, joining the four N.C. Supreme Court seats and three N.C. Court of Appeals races already slated for this fall.

    July 25, 2014 1 Photo

  • Patrick Gannon Fake news or sign of some more trouble?

    RALEIGH – Of the three situations I can recall where agencies receiving large sums of taxpayer dollars wouldn’t divulge employees’ salaries, two of them ended badly. The third – involving a group of charter schools in Southeastern North Carolina – is playing out right now.

    July 25, 2014 1 Photo

  • Almost half of America's obese youth don't know they're obese

    WASHINGTON - The good news is that after decades of furious growth, obesity rates finally seem to be leveling off in the U.S.. The bad news is that America's youth still appear to be dangerously unaware of the problem.

    July 23, 2014

  • Darth Vader is polling higher than all potential 2016 presidential candidates

    On the other hand, with a net favorability of -8, Jar Jar is considerably more popular than the U.S. Congress, which currently enjoys a net favorability rating of -65.

    July 23, 2014

  • D.G. Martin Where did all these new voters in North Carolina come from?

    “Voters born elsewhere make up nearly half of N.C. electorate.”
    So begins the latest DataNet report from the UNC Program on Public Life, directed by former journalist Ferrel Guillory.

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • Patrick Gannon Some light for Dems in their time of darkness

    RALEIGH – Earlier this year, state Sen. Ben Clark, a Hoke County Democrat, became a hero for a day among his party and environmentalists when his amendment to require more well water testing near future fracking sites passed the Senate. It even gained the support of a number of GOP senators, against the wishes of the Republican bill sponsor.

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • mama.jpg What we get wrong about millennials living at home

    If the media is to be believed, America is facing a major crisis. "Kids," some age 25, 26, or even 30 years old, are living out of their childhood bedrooms and basements at alarmingly high numbers. The hand-wringing overlooks one problem: It's all overblown.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Doug Creamer Maintaining hope

    Gardeners are facing challenges with the weather this year. It seemed like we were getting great conditions in April and May. The weather was warm and we were getting some good rains. Then sometime in June the rain stopped. It got so dry that I didn’t have to cut the grass. While I enjoyed the break, the garden was not happy at all. I was having to water quite a bit to keep the vegetable garden alive and growing.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jason O. Boyd I may be a bit behind the times, but at least I can find ‘America’

    I seem to be reading about and dealing with technology a lot lately.
    I  love technology and have always been fascinated by gadgets of all kinds and the wonderful things they can do. You never seem to go through an entire day without some form of invention enhancing your life.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

House Ads
Seasonal Content