The Stanly News and Press (Albemarle, NC)

Opinion & Letters to the Editor

August 16, 2013

Pet snakes can slither their way into your heart

(Continued)

Health and sanitation are also considerations that shouldn’t be overlooked when choosing your pet. 

"Hygiene is important," said Gentry. "Salmonella is a bacteria that can be carried by pet reptiles and can be transmitted to humans, so washing hands is recommended after handling a pet snake."

Though there are many snakes that make suitable pets for adults and children alike, the safety of owning a snake as a pet is sometimes called into question. Just recently, two young boys in Canada were strangled to death while they were slept by an escaped pet python.

However, Gentry noted that isolated tragic incidents involving large constrictors or poisonous snakes shouldn't discourage people from choosing an appropriate snake species as a pet.

"It is significantly less common for a snake to harm its owner in any way than for a dog," Gentry said.

About 2 percent of the US population is bitten by a dog every year, leading to more than 30 deaths per year, Gentry said. Large constrictor snakes have killed fewer than 20 people in the United States since 1978.

Gentry explained that the most common causes of a pet snake to bite is a feeding error, where the snake missed the food item and bit the owner's hand, or a handling mistake where the snake clearly demonstrated its intent to bite, but was handled anyway.

"The human animal bond with any pet should not be underestimated," said Gentry. "The risks of owning a pet snake are no greater than owning a dog or cat and absolutely do not outweigh the benefits."

Pet Talk is a service of the College of Veterinary Medicine & Biomedical Sciences at Texas A&M University.

Text Only
Opinion & Letters to the Editor
  • mama.jpg What we get wrong about millennials living at home

    If the media is to be believed, America is facing a major crisis. "Kids," some age 25, 26, or even 30 years old, are living out of their childhood bedrooms and basements at alarmingly high numbers. The hand-wringing overlooks one problem: It's all overblown.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Doug Creamer Maintaining hope

    Gardeners are facing challenges with the weather this year. It seemed like we were getting great conditions in April and May. The weather was warm and we were getting some good rains. Then sometime in June the rain stopped. It got so dry that I didn’t have to cut the grass. While I enjoyed the break, the garden was not happy at all. I was having to water quite a bit to keep the vegetable garden alive and growing.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jason O. Boyd I may be a bit behind the times, but at least I can find ‘America’

    I seem to be reading about and dealing with technology a lot lately.
    I  love technology and have always been fascinated by gadgets of all kinds and the wonderful things they can do. You never seem to go through an entire day without some form of invention enhancing your life.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Brent Laurenz Meeting out in open helps negotiations move ahead

    RALEIGH – State lawmakers reconvened in Raleigh on May 14 promising a brief legislative session this summer, but as July moves along they are still in town and tackling big issues.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Larry's Sketch 7.16.14.tif They don’t give a darn for Duke University

    John “Duke” Wayne’s heirs are suing Duke University over trademark rights.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Your chocolate addiction is only going to get more expensive

    WASHINGTON - For nearly two years, cocoa prices have been on the rise. Finally, that's affecting the price you pay for a bar of chocolate - and there's reason to believe it's only the beginning.

    July 18, 2014

  • Patrick Gannon Don’t forget the losers in state lottery

    RALEIGH – Behind every state lottery dollar that goes to education is a loser.
    There’s also a winner – the teacher whose salary it pays, the student who gets a scholarship or the district where a new school gets built. But we hear about the winners in advertisements and in press releases.
    This column is about the losers.

    July 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • Hodgepodge Cooling an overheated hedgehog and other summer travel stories

    Anybody with a pet during the summer inevitably finds themselves facing this question: What do I do with my pet on vacation?
    There are kennels for dogs, day cares for cats. Shoot, you can even find a friend to take care of your guinea pig.
    But what do you do with a hedgehog?

    July 18, 2014 2 Photos

  • North Carolina Boasts Top Wildlife Magazine and A Success Story

    The following opinion piece was released by the N.C. Wildlife Resources Commission:

    RALEIGH  — When Wildlife in North Carolina, the magazine published by the N.C. Wildlife Resources Commission, was named recently as the nation’s best in its category, it reflected more than accolades as a quality publication.

    July 17, 2014

  • 130408_NT_BEA_good kids We're raising a generation of timid kids

    CHICAGO - A week ago, a woman was charged with leaving her child in the car while she went into a store. Her 11-year-old child. This week, a woman was arrested for allowing her 9-year-old daughter to go to the park alone. Which raises just one question: America, what the heck is wrong with you?

    July 17, 2014 1 Photo

House Ads
Seasonal Content