The Stanly News and Press (Albemarle, NC)

Opinion & Letters to the Editor

August 16, 2013

Pet snakes can slither their way into your heart

(Continued)

Health and sanitation are also considerations that shouldn’t be overlooked when choosing your pet. 

"Hygiene is important," said Gentry. "Salmonella is a bacteria that can be carried by pet reptiles and can be transmitted to humans, so washing hands is recommended after handling a pet snake."

Though there are many snakes that make suitable pets for adults and children alike, the safety of owning a snake as a pet is sometimes called into question. Just recently, two young boys in Canada were strangled to death while they were slept by an escaped pet python.

However, Gentry noted that isolated tragic incidents involving large constrictors or poisonous snakes shouldn't discourage people from choosing an appropriate snake species as a pet.

"It is significantly less common for a snake to harm its owner in any way than for a dog," Gentry said.

About 2 percent of the US population is bitten by a dog every year, leading to more than 30 deaths per year, Gentry said. Large constrictor snakes have killed fewer than 20 people in the United States since 1978.

Gentry explained that the most common causes of a pet snake to bite is a feeding error, where the snake missed the food item and bit the owner's hand, or a handling mistake where the snake clearly demonstrated its intent to bite, but was handled anyway.

"The human animal bond with any pet should not be underestimated," said Gentry. "The risks of owning a pet snake are no greater than owning a dog or cat and absolutely do not outweigh the benefits."

Pet Talk is a service of the College of Veterinary Medicine & Biomedical Sciences at Texas A&M University.

Text Only
Opinion & Letters to the Editor
  • cleaning supplies Don't judge mothers with messy homes

    I was building shelves in my garage when a neighbor girl, one of my 4-year-old daughter's friends, approached me and said, "I just saw in your house. It's pretty dirty. Norah's mommy needs to clean more."

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • We need your help

    Hurray for the Albemarle City Council. Council plans to battle N.C. Department of Transportation’s ranking of all 13 projects in Stanly County to the bottom of their priority list. Council is setting up petitions in various city buildings for citizens to sign.

    July 28, 2014

  • Council asks veterans to seek office

    The terms of office for the leaders of the Stanly County Veterans Council ended June 30. A call is being sent to veterans council members requesting candidates for the four elective offices of the council. A meeting has been set for 6:30 p.m. Aug. 12 at the DAV building. All council members are urged to attend.

    July 28, 2014

  • Mike Walden The gains and gaps in our economy

    Twice a year, I pull out my cloudy crystal ball and attempt to make some predictions about the direction and pace of the North Carolina economy. I just finished my latest effort and, as usual, the results are a combination of pluses and minuses.

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jason O. Boyd Yellow journalism takes on new form, people are dumber for it

    Time to get on the soapbox for a few minutes.
    Let me clear my throat. Eh ... hem!
    People are dumb.

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • Brent Laurenz Special election adds to the mix

    RALEIGH – A busy slate of judicial elections this November got even busier recently when Judge John Martin of the N.C. Court of Appeals announced his retirement.
    A special statewide election to fill Martin’s seat will be added to the general election ballot, joining the four N.C. Supreme Court seats and three N.C. Court of Appeals races already slated for this fall.

    July 25, 2014 1 Photo

  • Patrick Gannon Fake news or sign of some more trouble?

    RALEIGH – Of the three situations I can recall where agencies receiving large sums of taxpayer dollars wouldn’t divulge employees’ salaries, two of them ended badly. The third – involving a group of charter schools in Southeastern North Carolina – is playing out right now.

    July 25, 2014 1 Photo

  • Almost half of America's obese youth don't know they're obese

    WASHINGTON - The good news is that after decades of furious growth, obesity rates finally seem to be leveling off in the U.S.. The bad news is that America's youth still appear to be dangerously unaware of the problem.

    July 23, 2014

  • Darth Vader is polling higher than all potential 2016 presidential candidates

    On the other hand, with a net favorability of -8, Jar Jar is considerably more popular than the U.S. Congress, which currently enjoys a net favorability rating of -65.

    July 23, 2014

  • D.G. Martin Where did all these new voters in North Carolina come from?

    “Voters born elsewhere make up nearly half of N.C. electorate.”
    So begins the latest DataNet report from the UNC Program on Public Life, directed by former journalist Ferrel Guillory.

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

House Ads
Seasonal Content