The Stanly News and Press (Albemarle, NC)

Opinion & Letters to the Editor

August 21, 2013

Why the economy won't work for all

Economist Michal Kalecki knew 70 years ago why big business and its political apologists conspire to prevent full employment. Obviously few people listened, but with the still shrill deficit alarmists and the rabid push for austerity, some are trotting Kalecki back onto the stage to show why.

I'd never heard of Kalecki until I read a column by Paul Krugman. Kalecki was a Polish, Marxist economist (and, really, who knew capitalism better than Marx?). In a short 1943 paper called "Political Aspects of Full Employment," Kalecki wrote that government intervention is needed to get all people to work. This was shortly after John Maynard Keynes wrote "The General Theory of Employment, Interest and Money," (1936) with many ideas shared by Kalecki.

President Roosevelt had already used the government to alleviate the appalling unemployment during the Depression, with programs such as the Works Progress Administration. But even with this so-called government interference in the market, there was never full employment. Big business likes it that way. In fact, even mainstream economists view an unemployment rate of 3 to 4 percent as "full employment."

Kalecki writes that there are three reasons why business doesn't want everyone to have a job: (1) dislike of government interference; (2) dislike of direction of government spending (public investment such as roads and subsidizing consumption, such as welfare and food stamps); and (3) dislike of the social and political changes resulting from the maintenance of full employment.

This is where it gets interesting. Commenting on the third point, Kalecki says businesses fear full employment because it will give workers confidence to form unions, fight for higher wages and create better working conditions. Those are capitalism taboos.

Of course, Kalecki maintains that full employment would mean a boost to production and hence a rise in profits. Then the economist goes on to argue that businesses will gladly give up some profits in order to maintain rigid control over workers and (my words) be able to threaten their livelihoods with firings and layoffs.

Text Only
Opinion & Letters to the Editor
  • Mike Walden The gains and gaps in our economy

    Twice a year, I pull out my cloudy crystal ball and attempt to make some predictions about the direction and pace of the North Carolina economy. I just finished my latest effort and, as usual, the results are a combination of pluses and minuses.

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jason O. Boyd Yellow journalism takes on new form, people are dumber for it

    Time to get on the soapbox for a few minutes.
    Let me clear my throat. Eh ... hem!
    People are dumb.

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • Brent Laurenz Special election adds to the mix

    RALEIGH – A busy slate of judicial elections this November got even busier recently when Judge John Martin of the N.C. Court of Appeals announced his retirement.
    A special statewide election to fill Martin’s seat will be added to the general election ballot, joining the four N.C. Supreme Court seats and three N.C. Court of Appeals races already slated for this fall.

    July 25, 2014 1 Photo

  • Patrick Gannon Fake news or sign of some more trouble?

    RALEIGH – Of the three situations I can recall where agencies receiving large sums of taxpayer dollars wouldn’t divulge employees’ salaries, two of them ended badly. The third – involving a group of charter schools in Southeastern North Carolina – is playing out right now.

    July 25, 2014 1 Photo

  • Almost half of America's obese youth don't know they're obese

    WASHINGTON - The good news is that after decades of furious growth, obesity rates finally seem to be leveling off in the U.S.. The bad news is that America's youth still appear to be dangerously unaware of the problem.

    July 23, 2014

  • Darth Vader is polling higher than all potential 2016 presidential candidates

    On the other hand, with a net favorability of -8, Jar Jar is considerably more popular than the U.S. Congress, which currently enjoys a net favorability rating of -65.

    July 23, 2014

  • D.G. Martin Where did all these new voters in North Carolina come from?

    “Voters born elsewhere make up nearly half of N.C. electorate.”
    So begins the latest DataNet report from the UNC Program on Public Life, directed by former journalist Ferrel Guillory.

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • Patrick Gannon Some light for Dems in their time of darkness

    RALEIGH – Earlier this year, state Sen. Ben Clark, a Hoke County Democrat, became a hero for a day among his party and environmentalists when his amendment to require more well water testing near future fracking sites passed the Senate. It even gained the support of a number of GOP senators, against the wishes of the Republican bill sponsor.

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • mama.jpg What we get wrong about millennials living at home

    If the media is to be believed, America is facing a major crisis. "Kids," some age 25, 26, or even 30 years old, are living out of their childhood bedrooms and basements at alarmingly high numbers. The hand-wringing overlooks one problem: It's all overblown.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Doug Creamer Maintaining hope

    Gardeners are facing challenges with the weather this year. It seemed like we were getting great conditions in April and May. The weather was warm and we were getting some good rains. Then sometime in June the rain stopped. It got so dry that I didn’t have to cut the grass. While I enjoyed the break, the garden was not happy at all. I was having to water quite a bit to keep the vegetable garden alive and growing.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

House Ads
Seasonal Content