The Stanly News and Press (Albemarle, NC)

Opinion & Letters to the Editor

September 6, 2013

BBQ My Way: Grilled chicken wrap with spicy slaw

Today's column focuses on a fantastic wrap that is easy to make, healthy, inexpensive and most importantly, delicious. In fact, I've been fixing them on the weekends so my wife and I can take them to work for our lunches. It is refreshing with a bit of a bite delivered from the broccoli slaw.

Say what?

You heard me. Broccoli slaw. 

Let's begin.

Most importantly, to allow these wraps to reach their full potential, it is important we review how to properly grill chicken breasts. The danger with grilling chicken breasts is that there is a small range of time where the chicken goes from undercooked, to perfectly cooked, to leather. And in this case, we use boneless and skinless chicken breasts, so the margin of error is even tighter. If grilled over direct heat, the outside becomes rubbery or leathery by the time the chicken is fully cooked (160 degrees Fahrenheit)

We did this recipe on a gas grill. The first thing I did was preheat all areas of the grill on high heat. While that was happening I sprinkled my pork rub on the breasts (recipe below, though you can use any sort of seasoning you like.) Once the grill is hot, I turn off one of the flame sources on the left or right. If I am using charcoal, I use indirect heat.

Place the breasts on the end of the grill that has no flame underneath it. We cooked four breasts which yielded 8 wraps. Close the lid and allow the chicken to cook for 7 to 10 minutes. Flip and allow to cook for another 5 minutes. Now move the chicken to the area of the grill that is over the flames. Finish cooking over the direct heat to provide the chicken with the outdoor grilled texture, turning occasionally. Bring in the chicken and let it rest.

Text Only
Opinion & Letters to the Editor
  • Brent Laurenz Wrangling over pay for teachers

    RALEIGH – When the N.C. General Assembly reconvened in mid-May, there was talk of a short, efficient session.

    August 1, 2014 1 Photo

  • Medical marijuana opponents' most powerful argument is at odds with a mountain of research

    Opponents of marijuana legalization are rapidly losing the battle for hearts and minds. Simply put, the public understands that however you measure the consequences of marijuana use, the drug is significantly less harmful to users and society than tobacco or alcohol.

    August 1, 2014

  • Patrick Gannon Two sides in debate about film incentives

    RALEIGH – It’s looking like the current film incentives program may be scrapped for a much different grant program for TV and movie production companies.

    August 1, 2014 1 Photo

  • D.G. Martin Read others’ views to be better informed, decide for yourself

    “I don’t read The Washington Post. That is not where I get my ideas.”

    July 30, 2014 1 Photo

  • Patrick Gannon This isn’t medical marijuana

    As state legislators debated allowing the use of an extract from marijuana plants to treat seizure disorders over the past couple of weeks, it was evident that social conservatives – there are many of them in the General Assembly – felt a tinge of unease about it, even as almost every one of them voted yes.

    July 30, 2014 1 Photo

  • Doug Creamer Friends and contentment

    Last week I made my annual trip up the mountain to Sparta. My friends have a secluded home near a babbling brook. Their home and property are a haven for peace. It’s a two-plus hour ride to their home that doesn’t feel that long because I look so forward to my time with this great couple. When I arrive, the conversation seems to pick up right where we left it the last time we saw each other.

    July 29, 2014 1 Photo

  • Thanks for the honest deed

    I would like to thank the person that found my wallet in the parking lot of Harris Teeter on July 23 and turned it in to the Albemarle Police.

    July 29, 2014

  • cleaning supplies Don't judge mothers with messy homes

    I was building shelves in my garage when a neighbor girl, one of my 4-year-old daughter's friends, approached me and said, "I just saw in your house. It's pretty dirty. Norah's mommy needs to clean more."

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • We need your help

    Hurray for the Albemarle City Council. Council plans to battle N.C. Department of Transportation’s ranking of all 13 projects in Stanly County to the bottom of their priority list. Council is setting up petitions in various city buildings for citizens to sign.

    July 28, 2014

  • Council asks veterans to seek office

    The terms of office for the leaders of the Stanly County Veterans Council ended June 30. A call is being sent to veterans council members requesting candidates for the four elective offices of the council. A meeting has been set for 6:30 p.m. Aug. 12 at the DAV building. All council members are urged to attend.

    July 28, 2014

House Ads
Seasonal Content