The Stanly News and Press (Albemarle, NC)

Opinion & Letters to the Editor

September 6, 2013

BBQ My Way: Grilled chicken wrap with spicy slaw

Today's column focuses on a fantastic wrap that is easy to make, healthy, inexpensive and most importantly, delicious. In fact, I've been fixing them on the weekends so my wife and I can take them to work for our lunches. It is refreshing with a bit of a bite delivered from the broccoli slaw.

Say what?

You heard me. Broccoli slaw. 

Let's begin.

Most importantly, to allow these wraps to reach their full potential, it is important we review how to properly grill chicken breasts. The danger with grilling chicken breasts is that there is a small range of time where the chicken goes from undercooked, to perfectly cooked, to leather. And in this case, we use boneless and skinless chicken breasts, so the margin of error is even tighter. If grilled over direct heat, the outside becomes rubbery or leathery by the time the chicken is fully cooked (160 degrees Fahrenheit)

We did this recipe on a gas grill. The first thing I did was preheat all areas of the grill on high heat. While that was happening I sprinkled my pork rub on the breasts (recipe below, though you can use any sort of seasoning you like.) Once the grill is hot, I turn off one of the flame sources on the left or right. If I am using charcoal, I use indirect heat.

Place the breasts on the end of the grill that has no flame underneath it. We cooked four breasts which yielded 8 wraps. Close the lid and allow the chicken to cook for 7 to 10 minutes. Flip and allow to cook for another 5 minutes. Now move the chicken to the area of the grill that is over the flames. Finish cooking over the direct heat to provide the chicken with the outdoor grilled texture, turning occasionally. Bring in the chicken and let it rest.

Text Only
Opinion & Letters to the Editor
  • taylor.armerding.jpg Obama's equal pay exaggeration leads us all into danger

    The president's claims of national shame over gender-based pay inequity spring from distorted calculations, as well as some convenient political math.

    April 12, 2014 1 Photo

  • Teens trading naked selfies for mugshots

    Will teenagers ever learn? You think yours will. Maybe so. But it's likely that was also the hope of the parents of children who were so shamed by nude photos of themselves that went south - how else can they go - that they killed themselves.

    April 12, 2014

  • Brent Laurenz If you want to vote in primary, you need to register to vote now

    RALEIGH – North Carolina voters will head to the polls on May 6 this year to cast ballots in important primary elections across the state.

    April 11, 2014 1 Photo

  • Scott Mooneyham Heeding the voter fraud call in N.C.

    RALEIGH – Legislators found the findings outrageous.

    April 11, 2014 1 Photo

  • Doug Creamer Roots

    I took a few minutes over the weekend to enjoy our yard and the arrival of spring. There seems to be so much work that needs to be done, it is hard to decide what to do first. I am excited that I got to run my tiller through the garden. I didn’t go very deep, but I did at least break up the soil. I have a couple of raised beds and the soil in them was in very good shape. I didn’t plant my peas and now after the big rain we got on Monday I realize that I missed a window of opportunity.

    April 11, 2014 1 Photo

  • 10 tips for surviving a severe allergy season

    My colleague Brady Dennis reported recently that the arrival of warmer weather will soon unleash a pollen tsunami in parts of the country where the winter has been especially long and cold. Here are some survival tips from Clifford W. Bassett, an allergy specialist and assistant clinical professor of medicine at the New York University School of Medicine.

    April 11, 2014

  • Is a paleo vegetarian diet possible?

    Research shows most people can follow a regimented eating plan for a short time. That's not the challenge. The challenge is finding a healthful eating plan you can follow day after day and achieve your long-term health goals. At this point, it doesn't appear that the paleo eating plan meets these objectives for most people.

    April 10, 2014

  • Screen Shot 2014-04-08 at 2.16.35 PM.png Are Americans smart to stop drinking diet sodas?

    Recent data from Beverage Digest suggest many are cutting back on diet sodas. Consumption of diet sodas fell more than that of sugary sodas in 2013. This raises two questions: Why is total consumption declining, and is drinking diet soda harmful to health?

    April 10, 2014 1 Photo

  • To get quality care, it helps to be the right kind of patient

    I am a family physician. Sometimes I must step out of the comfort of my clinical role and into that of patient or family caregiver. Generally, these trips to the other side of the exam table inspire a fair amount of anxiety.

    April 10, 2014

  • Hospice of Stanly County should be the one we support

    Regarding your recent article about Community Hospice relocating its offices from one location in Troy to another, let me point out a few things.

    April 10, 2014

House Ads
Seasonal Content