The Stanly News and Press (Albemarle, NC)

Opinion & Letters to the Editor

October 29, 2012

How would you grade the Fed

Monday, October 29, 2012 — When I began teaching 35 years ago, few people knew — or cared — about the Federal Reserve. That’s certainly changed. Especially since the financial meltdown in late 2008, the Federal Reserve has been front and center in both policies and debates on the economy. Fed chairman Bernanke has even become an issue in the presidential campaign, with some candidates bluntly saying they would not reappoint him when his current term expires.

Recently, the Federal Reserve added to their headlines by announcing a major new program designed to boost the economy — but also involving the printing of more money. This move will only fuel the differing views over the role and actions of the Fed.

So what exactly is the Federal Reserve, what does it do and what impacts can it have? Let me try to answer these questions and then let you decide if the Fed is a plus or a minus for the economy.

The Federal Reserve was created a century ago as the country’s “bank of last resort,” a backup to the financial system. Prior to then, when an economic calamity or scare occurred and bank loans failed, depositors would make a run on the bank to withdraw their funds. Banks wouldn’t have enough money, so they too would fail, depositors would lose and the economy would sink further.

The idea was that the Federal Reserve could short-circuit this financial collapse by using its major power — the ability to create money — to restore funding and confidence in the banking system during economic crises. Once the gold standard was abandoned in the 1930s, the Fed could use its money-creation power at its discretion.

Most people raise an eyebrow of surprise and concern when told the Fed has the power to manufacture money out of thin air (actually, today it’s done electronically). Many people understandably think paper money ought to have something of value, like gold, backing it.

Supporters of the Fed say money doesn’t have to be inherently valuable; it just has to be trusted and accepted. So if the Fed prints money during an economic downturn and uses the funds to support banks’ deposits or to purchase investments before their values fall further, it can prevent a financial collapse.

Some say this is exactly what the Fed did in 2008 and 2009. From late 2008 to mid 2009, the Fed doubled the money supply. This appeared to stop the massive bleeding in the economy from the virtual free-falls in the housing and stock markets. Indeed, aggregate production in the economy began to rise in mid-2009. The Fed performed a similar monetary rescue in 1987 after the single largest daily percentage point loss in the stock market.

There are, of course, plenty of critics of the Fed. Some question the need for a Federal Reserve at all. These folks say the threat of widespread financial system insolvency could be handled by private insurance of deposits and diversification of banks’ investments.

Fed doubters worry most about the central banks’ money creation power and the possibility it could lead to rampant inflation and devaluing of the dollar. This is a real concern. Many economists say excessive money-printing by the Fed in the early 1970s led to double-digit annual inflation rates later that decade. Some also say the Fed’s generous monetary policy in the early 2000s was behind the housing boom of that decade. Of course, the housing boom eventually turned into a housing bust.

So where does this leave us in our evaluation of the Federal Reserve?

Here’s my take. Chairman Bernanke and his colleagues are, in my opinion, well aware of the potential downside – in terms of future higher inflation – of the policies the Fed has followed for four years. But Congress, which controls the Fed’s charter, has given it two marching orders: implement policies that will lead to low inflation and full employment.

Accomplishing both of these goals is a very tough job. Inflation (including food and fuel) appears right now to be modest, rising between 2 percent and 3 percent annually. But obviously we are nowhere near full employment.

My assessment is that Chairman Bernanke and his fellow managers of the Federal Reserve are focusing on helping increase economic growth and job creation now. They are doing this by being very generous with their monetary powers as well as with their influence over interest rates. They don’t have a magic wand, but they are trying to be helpful.

However, if – and we hope it’s soon – the economy does begin to expand faster and unemployment does begin to drop more, then the Fed will face another challenge. This will be to unwind some of the programs and policies they have been following so as to prevent significantly higher inflation and steeper interest rates.

So if Ben Bernanke is still in charge, his greatest challenge may be ahead. Should he be there, and will he succeed? You decide.

 

1
Text Only
Opinion & Letters to the Editor
  • Brent Laurenz Special election adds to the mix

    RALEIGH – A busy slate of judicial elections this November got even busier recently when Judge John Martin of the N.C. Court of Appeals announced his retirement.
    A special statewide election to fill Martin’s seat will be added to the general election ballot, joining the four N.C. Supreme Court seats and three N.C. Court of Appeals races already slated for this fall.

    July 25, 2014 1 Photo

  • Patrick Gannon Fake news or sign of some more trouble?

    RALEIGH – Of the three situations I can recall where agencies receiving large sums of taxpayer dollars wouldn’t divulge employees’ salaries, two of them ended badly. The third – involving a group of charter schools in Southeastern North Carolina – is playing out right now.

    July 25, 2014 1 Photo

  • Almost half of America's obese youth don't know they're obese

    WASHINGTON - The good news is that after decades of furious growth, obesity rates finally seem to be leveling off in the U.S.. The bad news is that America's youth still appear to be dangerously unaware of the problem.

    July 23, 2014

  • Darth Vader is polling higher than all potential 2016 presidential candidates

    On the other hand, with a net favorability of -8, Jar Jar is considerably more popular than the U.S. Congress, which currently enjoys a net favorability rating of -65.

    July 23, 2014

  • D.G. Martin Where did all these new voters in North Carolina come from?

    “Voters born elsewhere make up nearly half of N.C. electorate.”
    So begins the latest DataNet report from the UNC Program on Public Life, directed by former journalist Ferrel Guillory.

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • Patrick Gannon Some light for Dems in their time of darkness

    RALEIGH – Earlier this year, state Sen. Ben Clark, a Hoke County Democrat, became a hero for a day among his party and environmentalists when his amendment to require more well water testing near future fracking sites passed the Senate. It even gained the support of a number of GOP senators, against the wishes of the Republican bill sponsor.

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • mama.jpg What we get wrong about millennials living at home

    If the media is to be believed, America is facing a major crisis. "Kids," some age 25, 26, or even 30 years old, are living out of their childhood bedrooms and basements at alarmingly high numbers. The hand-wringing overlooks one problem: It's all overblown.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Doug Creamer Maintaining hope

    Gardeners are facing challenges with the weather this year. It seemed like we were getting great conditions in April and May. The weather was warm and we were getting some good rains. Then sometime in June the rain stopped. It got so dry that I didn’t have to cut the grass. While I enjoyed the break, the garden was not happy at all. I was having to water quite a bit to keep the vegetable garden alive and growing.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jason O. Boyd I may be a bit behind the times, but at least I can find ‘America’

    I seem to be reading about and dealing with technology a lot lately.
    I  love technology and have always been fascinated by gadgets of all kinds and the wonderful things they can do. You never seem to go through an entire day without some form of invention enhancing your life.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Brent Laurenz Meeting out in open helps negotiations move ahead

    RALEIGH – State lawmakers reconvened in Raleigh on May 14 promising a brief legislative session this summer, but as July moves along they are still in town and tackling big issues.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

House Ads
Seasonal Content