The Stanly News and Press (Albemarle, NC)

Opinion & Letters to the Editor

March 4, 2013

Oscar 2013 Held Few Surprises

Monday, March 4, 2013 —

The 85th Academy Awards were held and movie fans around the globe had a great time rooting for their favorites. Here are a few thoughts about the evening.

First, for my predictions, I was correct 79 percent of the time. Out of the 24 categories, I got 19 correct. The biggest surprise was Best Director; I had predicted Spielberg for Lincoln and Ang Lee took the prize for Life of Pi. Spielberg already has two Best Director Oscars and Lee only one. Now they both have two, so that may have been what some people thinking when casting their vote.

I also missed Supporting Actor. This was a very difficult category considering that all of the nominees did great work and had won before. I predicted Tommy Lee Jones for Lincoln but ultimately Christoph Waltz won for Django Unchained. I was disappointed that I was wrong but not surprised by the decision. Waltz’s role in Django was the most prominent among the five nominees; he could have even been nominated for Best Actor.

I also predicted that the Production Design on Anna Karenina would be recognized, but instead Lincoln took that prize. (I still think Karenina should have won.) Best Short Documentary went to Innoccente rather than Open Heart. I had seen neither of these films so I was just guessing in that category.

Finally, I missed Sound Editing. I had predicted Argo, mainly because I wanted that film to win more than three Oscars. (I predicted all of Argo’s wins). In the Sound Editing category, Oscar had a tie. This has only happened five previous times in Oscar history, so if for nothing else, the 85th Oscars will be remembered for the “tie.” (Other years with ties are 1932, 1949, 1986, 1994, and the most famous one when Katharine Hepburn and Barbara Streisand both won Best Actress in 1968.)

Text Only
Opinion & Letters to the Editor
  • Almost half of America's obese youth don't know they're obese

    WASHINGTON - The good news is that after decades of furious growth, obesity rates finally seem to be leveling off in the U.S.. The bad news is that America's youth still appear to be dangerously unaware of the problem.

    July 23, 2014

  • Darth Vader is polling higher than all potential 2016 presidential candidates

    On the other hand, with a net favorability of -8, Jar Jar is considerably more popular than the U.S. Congress, which currently enjoys a net favorability rating of -65.

    July 23, 2014

  • D.G. Martin Where did all these new voters in North Carolina come from?

    “Voters born elsewhere make up nearly half of N.C. electorate.”
    So begins the latest DataNet report from the UNC Program on Public Life, directed by former journalist Ferrel Guillory.

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • Patrick Gannon Some light for Dems in their time of darkness

    RALEIGH – Earlier this year, state Sen. Ben Clark, a Hoke County Democrat, became a hero for a day among his party and environmentalists when his amendment to require more well water testing near future fracking sites passed the Senate. It even gained the support of a number of GOP senators, against the wishes of the Republican bill sponsor.

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • mama.jpg What we get wrong about millennials living at home

    If the media is to be believed, America is facing a major crisis. "Kids," some age 25, 26, or even 30 years old, are living out of their childhood bedrooms and basements at alarmingly high numbers. The hand-wringing overlooks one problem: It's all overblown.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Doug Creamer Maintaining hope

    Gardeners are facing challenges with the weather this year. It seemed like we were getting great conditions in April and May. The weather was warm and we were getting some good rains. Then sometime in June the rain stopped. It got so dry that I didn’t have to cut the grass. While I enjoyed the break, the garden was not happy at all. I was having to water quite a bit to keep the vegetable garden alive and growing.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jason O. Boyd I may be a bit behind the times, but at least I can find ‘America’

    I seem to be reading about and dealing with technology a lot lately.
    I  love technology and have always been fascinated by gadgets of all kinds and the wonderful things they can do. You never seem to go through an entire day without some form of invention enhancing your life.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Brent Laurenz Meeting out in open helps negotiations move ahead

    RALEIGH – State lawmakers reconvened in Raleigh on May 14 promising a brief legislative session this summer, but as July moves along they are still in town and tackling big issues.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Larry's Sketch 7.16.14.tif They don’t give a darn for Duke University

    John “Duke” Wayne’s heirs are suing Duke University over trademark rights.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Your chocolate addiction is only going to get more expensive

    WASHINGTON - For nearly two years, cocoa prices have been on the rise. Finally, that's affecting the price you pay for a bar of chocolate - and there's reason to believe it's only the beginning.

    July 18, 2014

House Ads
Seasonal Content