The Stanly News and Press (Albemarle, NC)

Opinion & Letters to the Editor

March 4, 2013

Oscar 2013 Held Few Surprises

(Continued)

Monday, March 4, 2013 —

That sums up my mistakes. Here are a few other thoughts. I enjoyed Seth McFarlane as host and hope they ask him again. I liked the theme of celebrating the music of movies, but I did wonder, what other kind of themes the Academy might use in future years. The celebration of music just fits with the Oscar broadcast.

I did note in past years when it was a five year anniversary of the awards, they usually recognizes all the past winning actors who are still living, and there was always a montage of all the Best Picture winners. I missed these things on this, the 85th Awards.

A couple of interesting bits of trivia. No film with 12 nominations has ever won only 2 Oscars; Lincoln set a new record with only Best Actor and Best Production Design. Jennifer Lawrence is the second youngest winner of Best Actress at age 22; Marlee Matlin was 21 when she won for Children of a Lesser God. Seventeen of the twenty-four awards were won by Best Picture Nominees. When you consider that five of the awards are special categories (Documentary, Animated, or Short Subject) that leaves only two categories not won by Best Picture nominees: Best Song (Skyfall) and Best Costumes (Anna Karenina). Beasts of the Southern Wild was the only Best Picture Nominee which did not win a single Oscar. Skyfall is the only non-Best Picture Nominee to win two Oscars (Skyfall tied with Best Picture nominee Zero Dark Thirty for the Sound Editing Award.) And for the first time ever, the film with the fifth highest nomination count ended up winning Best Picture. In spite of the odds, Argo pulled it off.

In the end, I had a great evening. Good friends, good food and a great Oscar Ceremony. My favorite film of the year, Argo, won Best Picture. Three out of the four actors that I chose won their categories. I was especially pleased with Jennifer Lawrence’s win. And glad that Wreck-It Ralph did not beat Brave. I guess the only downside to the whole evening is that now we have to wait another year before the 86th Academy Awards Ceremony.

Roger Thomas reviews films for The Stanly News & Press and online at thesnaponline.com.

Text Only
Opinion & Letters to the Editor
  • Patrick Gannon This isn’t medical marijuana

    As state legislators debated allowing the use of an extract from marijuana plants to treat seizure disorders over the past couple of weeks, it was evident that social conservatives – there are many of them in the General Assembly – felt a tinge of unease about it, even as almost every one of them voted yes.

    July 30, 2014 1 Photo

  • Doug Creamer Friends and contentment

    Last week I made my annual trip up the mountain to Sparta. My friends have a secluded home near a babbling brook. Their home and property are a haven for peace. It’s a two-plus hour ride to their home that doesn’t feel that long because I look so forward to my time with this great couple. When I arrive, the conversation seems to pick up right where we left it the last time we saw each other.

    July 29, 2014 1 Photo

  • Thanks for the honest deed

    I would like to thank the person that found my wallet in the parking lot of Harris Teeter on July 23 and turned it in to the Albemarle Police.

    July 29, 2014

  • cleaning supplies Don't judge mothers with messy homes

    I was building shelves in my garage when a neighbor girl, one of my 4-year-old daughter's friends, approached me and said, "I just saw in your house. It's pretty dirty. Norah's mommy needs to clean more."

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • We need your help

    Hurray for the Albemarle City Council. Council plans to battle N.C. Department of Transportation’s ranking of all 13 projects in Stanly County to the bottom of their priority list. Council is setting up petitions in various city buildings for citizens to sign.

    July 28, 2014

  • Council asks veterans to seek office

    The terms of office for the leaders of the Stanly County Veterans Council ended June 30. A call is being sent to veterans council members requesting candidates for the four elective offices of the council. A meeting has been set for 6:30 p.m. Aug. 12 at the DAV building. All council members are urged to attend.

    July 28, 2014

  • Mike Walden The gains and gaps in our economy

    Twice a year, I pull out my cloudy crystal ball and attempt to make some predictions about the direction and pace of the North Carolina economy. I just finished my latest effort and, as usual, the results are a combination of pluses and minuses.

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jason O. Boyd Yellow journalism takes on new form, people are dumber for it

    Time to get on the soapbox for a few minutes.
    Let me clear my throat. Eh ... hem!
    People are dumb.

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • Brent Laurenz Special election adds to the mix

    RALEIGH – A busy slate of judicial elections this November got even busier recently when Judge John Martin of the N.C. Court of Appeals announced his retirement.
    A special statewide election to fill Martin’s seat will be added to the general election ballot, joining the four N.C. Supreme Court seats and three N.C. Court of Appeals races already slated for this fall.

    July 25, 2014 1 Photo

  • Patrick Gannon Fake news or sign of some more trouble?

    RALEIGH – Of the three situations I can recall where agencies receiving large sums of taxpayer dollars wouldn’t divulge employees’ salaries, two of them ended badly. The third – involving a group of charter schools in Southeastern North Carolina – is playing out right now.

    July 25, 2014 1 Photo

House Ads
Seasonal Content