The Stanly News and Press (Albemarle, NC)

Opinion & Letters to the Editor

March 4, 2013

Oscar 2013 Held Few Surprises

(Continued)

Monday, March 4, 2013 —

That sums up my mistakes. Here are a few other thoughts. I enjoyed Seth McFarlane as host and hope they ask him again. I liked the theme of celebrating the music of movies, but I did wonder, what other kind of themes the Academy might use in future years. The celebration of music just fits with the Oscar broadcast.

I did note in past years when it was a five year anniversary of the awards, they usually recognizes all the past winning actors who are still living, and there was always a montage of all the Best Picture winners. I missed these things on this, the 85th Awards.

A couple of interesting bits of trivia. No film with 12 nominations has ever won only 2 Oscars; Lincoln set a new record with only Best Actor and Best Production Design. Jennifer Lawrence is the second youngest winner of Best Actress at age 22; Marlee Matlin was 21 when she won for Children of a Lesser God. Seventeen of the twenty-four awards were won by Best Picture Nominees. When you consider that five of the awards are special categories (Documentary, Animated, or Short Subject) that leaves only two categories not won by Best Picture nominees: Best Song (Skyfall) and Best Costumes (Anna Karenina). Beasts of the Southern Wild was the only Best Picture Nominee which did not win a single Oscar. Skyfall is the only non-Best Picture Nominee to win two Oscars (Skyfall tied with Best Picture nominee Zero Dark Thirty for the Sound Editing Award.) And for the first time ever, the film with the fifth highest nomination count ended up winning Best Picture. In spite of the odds, Argo pulled it off.

In the end, I had a great evening. Good friends, good food and a great Oscar Ceremony. My favorite film of the year, Argo, won Best Picture. Three out of the four actors that I chose won their categories. I was especially pleased with Jennifer Lawrence’s win. And glad that Wreck-It Ralph did not beat Brave. I guess the only downside to the whole evening is that now we have to wait another year before the 86th Academy Awards Ceremony.

Roger Thomas reviews films for The Stanly News & Press and online at thesnaponline.com.

Text Only
Opinion & Letters to the Editor
  • Patrick Gannon Fake news or sign of some more trouble?

    RALEIGH – Of the three situations I can recall where agencies receiving large sums of taxpayer dollars wouldn’t divulge employees’ salaries, two of them ended badly. The third – involving a group of charter schools in Southeastern North Carolina – is playing out right now.

    July 25, 2014 1 Photo

  • Almost half of America's obese youth don't know they're obese

    WASHINGTON - The good news is that after decades of furious growth, obesity rates finally seem to be leveling off in the U.S.. The bad news is that America's youth still appear to be dangerously unaware of the problem.

    July 23, 2014

  • Darth Vader is polling higher than all potential 2016 presidential candidates

    On the other hand, with a net favorability of -8, Jar Jar is considerably more popular than the U.S. Congress, which currently enjoys a net favorability rating of -65.

    July 23, 2014

  • D.G. Martin Where did all these new voters in North Carolina come from?

    “Voters born elsewhere make up nearly half of N.C. electorate.”
    So begins the latest DataNet report from the UNC Program on Public Life, directed by former journalist Ferrel Guillory.

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • Patrick Gannon Some light for Dems in their time of darkness

    RALEIGH – Earlier this year, state Sen. Ben Clark, a Hoke County Democrat, became a hero for a day among his party and environmentalists when his amendment to require more well water testing near future fracking sites passed the Senate. It even gained the support of a number of GOP senators, against the wishes of the Republican bill sponsor.

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • mama.jpg What we get wrong about millennials living at home

    If the media is to be believed, America is facing a major crisis. "Kids," some age 25, 26, or even 30 years old, are living out of their childhood bedrooms and basements at alarmingly high numbers. The hand-wringing overlooks one problem: It's all overblown.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Doug Creamer Maintaining hope

    Gardeners are facing challenges with the weather this year. It seemed like we were getting great conditions in April and May. The weather was warm and we were getting some good rains. Then sometime in June the rain stopped. It got so dry that I didn’t have to cut the grass. While I enjoyed the break, the garden was not happy at all. I was having to water quite a bit to keep the vegetable garden alive and growing.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jason O. Boyd I may be a bit behind the times, but at least I can find ‘America’

    I seem to be reading about and dealing with technology a lot lately.
    I  love technology and have always been fascinated by gadgets of all kinds and the wonderful things they can do. You never seem to go through an entire day without some form of invention enhancing your life.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Brent Laurenz Meeting out in open helps negotiations move ahead

    RALEIGH – State lawmakers reconvened in Raleigh on May 14 promising a brief legislative session this summer, but as July moves along they are still in town and tackling big issues.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Larry's Sketch 7.16.14.tif They don’t give a darn for Duke University

    John “Duke” Wayne’s heirs are suing Duke University over trademark rights.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

House Ads
Seasonal Content