The Stanly News and Press (Albemarle, NC)

Opinion & Letters to the Editor

August 19, 2013

Martin column has ‘no solid logic’ 

Monday, August 19, 2013 — As regards to D.G. Martin’s “Does this apply to Nazi Germany, Egypt or our state?” it can only be said that his article is one of the most outrageous and morally loathsome pieces of opinion I have read anywhere in quite some time and that it is, as near as I can recall, the worst I have ever encountered in the pages of this publication.

It is built around the insinuation that Republican politicians in our state are the moral equivalents of the Nazi’s, who were, of course, some of history’s great villains. This is an example of what is called the Reduction ad Hitlerum, a logical fallacy that preys on the mind’s tendency to engage in ‘guilt by association’, if only subconsciously, and which substitutes an assault upon one’s opponents for factual or evidentiary argument.

In other words, Martin has no solid logic or truth upon which to build his opposition to the recent actions of the state government, so he is reduced to attacking them as a group and speaking ill of them. Either that or, worse still, he honestly cannot tell the difference between the Nazi’s – a group who engaged in genocide (of multiple races), forced euthanasia, imperialism, war crimes, human experimentation, oppression, and tyranny and cruelty of the worst types – and his fellow citizens, in which case his thoughts and ‘observations’ are unworthy of publication.

I do not agree wholly with what the state has done as of late, but there is a way to disagree; and rudely suggesting that one’s opponents are profoundly wicked is not it. Sound, reasoned and factual argument is, but Martin has given us none of that.

Tom Hervey

Stanfield

1
Text Only
Opinion & Letters to the Editor
  • D.G. Martin Read others’ views to be better informed, decide for yourself

    “I don’t read The Washington Post. That is not where I get my ideas.”

    July 30, 2014 1 Photo

  • Patrick Gannon This isn’t medical marijuana

    As state legislators debated allowing the use of an extract from marijuana plants to treat seizure disorders over the past couple of weeks, it was evident that social conservatives – there are many of them in the General Assembly – felt a tinge of unease about it, even as almost every one of them voted yes.

    July 30, 2014 1 Photo

  • Doug Creamer Friends and contentment

    Last week I made my annual trip up the mountain to Sparta. My friends have a secluded home near a babbling brook. Their home and property are a haven for peace. It’s a two-plus hour ride to their home that doesn’t feel that long because I look so forward to my time with this great couple. When I arrive, the conversation seems to pick up right where we left it the last time we saw each other.

    July 29, 2014 1 Photo

  • Thanks for the honest deed

    I would like to thank the person that found my wallet in the parking lot of Harris Teeter on July 23 and turned it in to the Albemarle Police.

    July 29, 2014

  • cleaning supplies Don't judge mothers with messy homes

    I was building shelves in my garage when a neighbor girl, one of my 4-year-old daughter's friends, approached me and said, "I just saw in your house. It's pretty dirty. Norah's mommy needs to clean more."

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • We need your help

    Hurray for the Albemarle City Council. Council plans to battle N.C. Department of Transportation’s ranking of all 13 projects in Stanly County to the bottom of their priority list. Council is setting up petitions in various city buildings for citizens to sign.

    July 28, 2014

  • Council asks veterans to seek office

    The terms of office for the leaders of the Stanly County Veterans Council ended June 30. A call is being sent to veterans council members requesting candidates for the four elective offices of the council. A meeting has been set for 6:30 p.m. Aug. 12 at the DAV building. All council members are urged to attend.

    July 28, 2014

  • Mike Walden The gains and gaps in our economy

    Twice a year, I pull out my cloudy crystal ball and attempt to make some predictions about the direction and pace of the North Carolina economy. I just finished my latest effort and, as usual, the results are a combination of pluses and minuses.

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jason O. Boyd Yellow journalism takes on new form, people are dumber for it

    Time to get on the soapbox for a few minutes.
    Let me clear my throat. Eh ... hem!
    People are dumb.

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • Brent Laurenz Special election adds to the mix

    RALEIGH – A busy slate of judicial elections this November got even busier recently when Judge John Martin of the N.C. Court of Appeals announced his retirement.
    A special statewide election to fill Martin’s seat will be added to the general election ballot, joining the four N.C. Supreme Court seats and three N.C. Court of Appeals races already slated for this fall.

    July 25, 2014 1 Photo

House Ads
Seasonal Content