The Stanly News and Press (Albemarle, NC)

Opinion & Letters to the Editor

August 19, 2013

Martin column has ‘no solid logic’ 

Monday, August 19, 2013 — As regards to D.G. Martin’s “Does this apply to Nazi Germany, Egypt or our state?” it can only be said that his article is one of the most outrageous and morally loathsome pieces of opinion I have read anywhere in quite some time and that it is, as near as I can recall, the worst I have ever encountered in the pages of this publication.

It is built around the insinuation that Republican politicians in our state are the moral equivalents of the Nazi’s, who were, of course, some of history’s great villains. This is an example of what is called the Reduction ad Hitlerum, a logical fallacy that preys on the mind’s tendency to engage in ‘guilt by association’, if only subconsciously, and which substitutes an assault upon one’s opponents for factual or evidentiary argument.

In other words, Martin has no solid logic or truth upon which to build his opposition to the recent actions of the state government, so he is reduced to attacking them as a group and speaking ill of them. Either that or, worse still, he honestly cannot tell the difference between the Nazi’s – a group who engaged in genocide (of multiple races), forced euthanasia, imperialism, war crimes, human experimentation, oppression, and tyranny and cruelty of the worst types – and his fellow citizens, in which case his thoughts and ‘observations’ are unworthy of publication.

I do not agree wholly with what the state has done as of late, but there is a way to disagree; and rudely suggesting that one’s opponents are profoundly wicked is not it. Sound, reasoned and factual argument is, but Martin has given us none of that.

Tom Hervey

Stanfield

1
Text Only
Opinion & Letters to the Editor
  • taylor.armerding.jpg Obama's equal pay exaggeration leads us all into danger

    The president's claims of national shame over gender-based pay inequity spring from distorted calculations, as well as some convenient political math.

    April 12, 2014 1 Photo

  • Teens trading naked selfies for mugshots

    Will teenagers ever learn? You think yours will. Maybe so. But it's likely that was also the hope of the parents of children who were so shamed by nude photos of themselves that went south - how else can they go - that they killed themselves.

    April 12, 2014

  • Brent Laurenz If you want to vote in primary, you need to register to vote now

    RALEIGH – North Carolina voters will head to the polls on May 6 this year to cast ballots in important primary elections across the state.

    April 11, 2014 1 Photo

  • Scott Mooneyham Heeding the voter fraud call in N.C.

    RALEIGH – Legislators found the findings outrageous.

    April 11, 2014 1 Photo

  • Doug Creamer Roots

    I took a few minutes over the weekend to enjoy our yard and the arrival of spring. There seems to be so much work that needs to be done, it is hard to decide what to do first. I am excited that I got to run my tiller through the garden. I didn’t go very deep, but I did at least break up the soil. I have a couple of raised beds and the soil in them was in very good shape. I didn’t plant my peas and now after the big rain we got on Monday I realize that I missed a window of opportunity.

    April 11, 2014 1 Photo

  • 10 tips for surviving a severe allergy season

    My colleague Brady Dennis reported recently that the arrival of warmer weather will soon unleash a pollen tsunami in parts of the country where the winter has been especially long and cold. Here are some survival tips from Clifford W. Bassett, an allergy specialist and assistant clinical professor of medicine at the New York University School of Medicine.

    April 11, 2014

  • Is a paleo vegetarian diet possible?

    Research shows most people can follow a regimented eating plan for a short time. That's not the challenge. The challenge is finding a healthful eating plan you can follow day after day and achieve your long-term health goals. At this point, it doesn't appear that the paleo eating plan meets these objectives for most people.

    April 10, 2014

  • Screen Shot 2014-04-08 at 2.16.35 PM.png Are Americans smart to stop drinking diet sodas?

    Recent data from Beverage Digest suggest many are cutting back on diet sodas. Consumption of diet sodas fell more than that of sugary sodas in 2013. This raises two questions: Why is total consumption declining, and is drinking diet soda harmful to health?

    April 10, 2014 1 Photo

  • To get quality care, it helps to be the right kind of patient

    I am a family physician. Sometimes I must step out of the comfort of my clinical role and into that of patient or family caregiver. Generally, these trips to the other side of the exam table inspire a fair amount of anxiety.

    April 10, 2014

  • Hospice of Stanly County should be the one we support

    Regarding your recent article about Community Hospice relocating its offices from one location in Troy to another, let me point out a few things.

    April 10, 2014

House Ads
Seasonal Content