The Stanly News and Press (Albemarle, NC)

Opinion & Letters to the Editor

August 19, 2013

Martin column has ‘no solid logic’ 

Monday, August 19, 2013 — As regards to D.G. Martin’s “Does this apply to Nazi Germany, Egypt or our state?” it can only be said that his article is one of the most outrageous and morally loathsome pieces of opinion I have read anywhere in quite some time and that it is, as near as I can recall, the worst I have ever encountered in the pages of this publication.

It is built around the insinuation that Republican politicians in our state are the moral equivalents of the Nazi’s, who were, of course, some of history’s great villains. This is an example of what is called the Reduction ad Hitlerum, a logical fallacy that preys on the mind’s tendency to engage in ‘guilt by association’, if only subconsciously, and which substitutes an assault upon one’s opponents for factual or evidentiary argument.

In other words, Martin has no solid logic or truth upon which to build his opposition to the recent actions of the state government, so he is reduced to attacking them as a group and speaking ill of them. Either that or, worse still, he honestly cannot tell the difference between the Nazi’s – a group who engaged in genocide (of multiple races), forced euthanasia, imperialism, war crimes, human experimentation, oppression, and tyranny and cruelty of the worst types – and his fellow citizens, in which case his thoughts and ‘observations’ are unworthy of publication.

I do not agree wholly with what the state has done as of late, but there is a way to disagree; and rudely suggesting that one’s opponents are profoundly wicked is not it. Sound, reasoned and factual argument is, but Martin has given us none of that.

Tom Hervey

Stanfield

1
Text Only
Opinion & Letters to the Editor
  • Do White Castle prices tell us anything about the minimum wage?

    NEW YORK - Economists love hamburgers. Specifically fast-food burgers. This is partly because all right-thinking human beings love ground meat on a bun, but it's also because the sandwich makes a handy yardstick for international financial comparisons. The ingredients and labor involved in preparing a Big Mac are pretty much the same no matter where you are in the world, so by looking at how many hours of toiling it takes a worker to earn enough to purchase one, you can get a sense of how wages really stack up across countries. The Economist famously created the Big Mac index in 1986 to see which currencies were overvalued. It started as a joke. Now, as the magazine proudly notes, it's a subject of academic study.

    April 22, 2014

  • Can Hillary Clinton rock the cradle and the world?

    WASHINGTON - What's most interesting to contemplate is the effect becoming a grandmother will have on Hillary's ambition. It's one of life's unfairnesses that a woman's peak career years often coincide with her peak childbearing years.

    April 22, 2014

  • Doug Creamer All in the Family

    We had a family get-together at my brother’s house on Easter Sunday. It’s hard to get our family together because we are spread out, especially when you consider nieces and nephews. My parents and siblings all made the gathering this year. Some of my nieces and nephews are far away, but they all remember gathering at my brother’s house for the holidays. Easter is known for the Jell-O eggs and the famous Easter egg hunt.

    April 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Victimized by the 'marriage penalty'

    In a few short months, I'll pass the milestone that every little girl dreams of: the day she swears - before family and God, in sickness and in health, all in the name of love - that she's willing to pay a much higher tax rate.

    April 19, 2014

  • The case for separate beds

    WASHINGTON - The other night I slept on a twin bed in the guest room of the house I share with my husband and our two kids.
    It was the best night's sleep I've had in years.

    April 19, 2014

  • taylor.armerding.jpg Obama's equal pay exaggeration leads us all into danger

    The president's claims of national shame over gender-based pay inequity spring from distorted calculations, as well as some convenient political math.

    April 12, 2014 1 Photo

  • Teens trading naked selfies for mugshots

    Will teenagers ever learn? You think yours will. Maybe so. But it's likely that was also the hope of the parents of children who were so shamed by nude photos of themselves that went south - how else can they go - that they killed themselves.

    April 12, 2014

  • Brent Laurenz If you want to vote in primary, you need to register to vote now

    RALEIGH – North Carolina voters will head to the polls on May 6 this year to cast ballots in important primary elections across the state.

    April 11, 2014 1 Photo

  • Scott Mooneyham Heeding the voter fraud call in N.C.

    RALEIGH – Legislators found the findings outrageous.

    April 11, 2014 1 Photo

  • Doug Creamer Roots

    I took a few minutes over the weekend to enjoy our yard and the arrival of spring. There seems to be so much work that needs to be done, it is hard to decide what to do first. I am excited that I got to run my tiller through the garden. I didn’t go very deep, but I did at least break up the soil. I have a couple of raised beds and the soil in them was in very good shape. I didn’t plant my peas and now after the big rain we got on Monday I realize that I missed a window of opportunity.

    April 11, 2014 1 Photo

House Ads
Seasonal Content