The Stanly News and Press (Albemarle, NC)

Opinion & Letters to the Editor

August 21, 2013

Sweet fellowship and a random act of kindness at Sweet Frog

Wednesday, August 21, 2013 — The weather has been hot lately, perfect weather for some frozen yogurt.

Last Saturday, after tutoring a student at Sylvan Learning Center, I waltzed into Sweet Frog for that very treat. I love the independence and creativity that place offers frozen yogurt fans. We get to choose any combination of flavors and toppings and choose how to proportion these tasty treats.

As usual, I went straight for the peanut butter and chocolate yogurts, mixing the two. I topped these off with peanut butter cups, peanut butter chips, hot fudge and hot caramel.

I walked up to the counter with my little cup of happiness, waiting to weigh it and pay for it. I set the cup on the scale and reached into my pocket book for my wallet.

“She said she’ll get it,” said the young man behind the counter.

I looked up and noticed the lady in line ahead of me. She just smiled at me.

I have no idea why she decided to buy my yogurt that day, but it was very sweet, and I said so.

After the lady paid for it — and I thanked her — I headed for an empty table, expecting to eat my treat alone, perhaps while reading the Dean Koontz novel I’d tucked away in my pocketbook (I take a book with me everywhere I go.).

But my new pal asked if she could sit and eat with me, and I said yes, delighted.

We had a nice conversation. I learned her name and where she is from, and we talked about Stanly Community College, where her daughter goes to school and where I went to school for a couple of years. She noticed my ring, so I told her about how I’d just gotten hitched.

Of course, we also discussed the finer points of frozen yogurt.

The dessert itself was an expected delight, but I had not expected it to be free, nor had I expected fellowship with a practical stranger. It was a nice surprise.

Moments like these are refreshing to the spirit, direct gifts from God, I believe.

Reading the news or watching it on TV can be depressing. Most of what I see there seems to be clear evidence of evil in the world. Some people are bad, and they do bad things.

But then someone like this new friend I made at Sweet Frog commits an act of kindness, and I am reminded that some people are good and do good things.

As I am a Christian, I believe the good guys win in the end, and that’s comforting.

But we haven’t reached that end yet, so I hope that God blesses that lady for her thoughtfulness in the here and now — and others like her who show unselfishness and compassion toward others. And I hope that I can follow her example and treat others with kindness.

   

1
Text Only
Opinion & Letters to the Editor
  • Darth Vader is polling higher than all potential 2016 presidential candidates

    On the other hand, with a net favorability of -8, Jar Jar is considerably more popular than the U.S. Congress, which currently enjoys a net favorability rating of -65.

    July 23, 2014

  • D.G. Martin Where did all these new voters in North Carolina come from?

    “Voters born elsewhere make up nearly half of N.C. electorate.”
    So begins the latest DataNet report from the UNC Program on Public Life, directed by former journalist Ferrel Guillory.

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • Patrick Gannon Some light for Dems in their time of darkness

    RALEIGH – Earlier this year, state Sen. Ben Clark, a Hoke County Democrat, became a hero for a day among his party and environmentalists when his amendment to require more well water testing near future fracking sites passed the Senate. It even gained the support of a number of GOP senators, against the wishes of the Republican bill sponsor.

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • mama.jpg What we get wrong about millennials living at home

    If the media is to be believed, America is facing a major crisis. "Kids," some age 25, 26, or even 30 years old, are living out of their childhood bedrooms and basements at alarmingly high numbers. The hand-wringing overlooks one problem: It's all overblown.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Doug Creamer Maintaining hope

    Gardeners are facing challenges with the weather this year. It seemed like we were getting great conditions in April and May. The weather was warm and we were getting some good rains. Then sometime in June the rain stopped. It got so dry that I didn’t have to cut the grass. While I enjoyed the break, the garden was not happy at all. I was having to water quite a bit to keep the vegetable garden alive and growing.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jason O. Boyd I may be a bit behind the times, but at least I can find ‘America’

    I seem to be reading about and dealing with technology a lot lately.
    I  love technology and have always been fascinated by gadgets of all kinds and the wonderful things they can do. You never seem to go through an entire day without some form of invention enhancing your life.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Brent Laurenz Meeting out in open helps negotiations move ahead

    RALEIGH – State lawmakers reconvened in Raleigh on May 14 promising a brief legislative session this summer, but as July moves along they are still in town and tackling big issues.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Larry's Sketch 7.16.14.tif They don’t give a darn for Duke University

    John “Duke” Wayne’s heirs are suing Duke University over trademark rights.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Your chocolate addiction is only going to get more expensive

    WASHINGTON - For nearly two years, cocoa prices have been on the rise. Finally, that's affecting the price you pay for a bar of chocolate - and there's reason to believe it's only the beginning.

    July 18, 2014

  • Patrick Gannon Don’t forget the losers in state lottery

    RALEIGH – Behind every state lottery dollar that goes to education is a loser.
    There’s also a winner – the teacher whose salary it pays, the student who gets a scholarship or the district where a new school gets built. But we hear about the winners in advertisements and in press releases.
    This column is about the losers.

    July 18, 2014 1 Photo

House Ads
Seasonal Content