The Stanly News and Press (Albemarle, NC)

Opinion & Letters to the Editor

May 20, 2013

Celebrating small businesses and continuing new ways of communicating

Monday, May 20, 2013 — Some stories are worth mentioning again.

As we love to promote success stories, we congratulate Seven Oaks Doors and Hardware for winning the Stanly County Chamber of Commerce/SCC Small Business Center Small Business of the Year award.

It was up against tough competition from Bushwackers Landscaping, Tarheel Auto Sales and Falling Rivers Gallery.

There were several interesting points brought up during the business luncheon Monday.

SCC President Dr. Brenda Kays mentioned how small businesses are the heartbeat of our economy. That is so true, as is evident by the many ribbon cuttings and grand openings we are hearing about recently. We hope this is a sign that the economy is improving.

Ed Shimpock of Seven Oaks noted on good customer service, something that is key in any business and seems so hard to find sometimes.

We sometimes get busy and don’t get back to someone right away and that is something customers will remember. It is something we all can look at improving.

Of customer service, Shimpock said: “When you help someone else get what they want, you’ll always get what you want.”

Guest speaker Martin Brossman talked of ways businesses can improve their networking and marketability, one way being through social media.

While we believe it is still crucial to get your message across through well established forms of media, we do recognize the usefulness and necessity of responsible social media in today’s workforce. Brossman noted how social media can increase networking opportunities and ways to spread your message. He said one of every seven people in the world is on social media, with 50 percent of those checking some type of it every day. (Follow us on Twitter at stanlynewspress or Like Us on Facebook.)

We always link our stories posted at thesnaponline.com to our Twitter feed and Facebook page, so even if you don’t check our website daily, chances are you might see a link to a story through one of these devices.

These are just a few of the ways businesses are staying in touch with their customers. We are evolving in the world of social media and are evaluating other ways we can help serve our readers through these methods.

But we often question whether social media is a good thing. It can be used for good, but many times it is used to spread gossip, a new “party-line” telephone if you will.

As for reporting the news, nothing beats holding a physical copy in your hand, right?

1
Text Only
Opinion & Letters to the Editor
  • mama.jpg What we get wrong about millennials living at home

    If the media is to be believed, America is facing a major crisis. "Kids," some age 25, 26, or even 30 years old, are living out of their childhood bedrooms and basements at alarmingly high numbers. The hand-wringing overlooks one problem: It's all overblown.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Doug Creamer Maintaining hope

    Gardeners are facing challenges with the weather this year. It seemed like we were getting great conditions in April and May. The weather was warm and we were getting some good rains. Then sometime in June the rain stopped. It got so dry that I didn’t have to cut the grass. While I enjoyed the break, the garden was not happy at all. I was having to water quite a bit to keep the vegetable garden alive and growing.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jason O. Boyd I may be a bit behind the times, but at least I can find ‘America’

    I seem to be reading about and dealing with technology a lot lately.
    I  love technology and have always been fascinated by gadgets of all kinds and the wonderful things they can do. You never seem to go through an entire day without some form of invention enhancing your life.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Brent Laurenz Meeting out in open helps negotiations move ahead

    RALEIGH – State lawmakers reconvened in Raleigh on May 14 promising a brief legislative session this summer, but as July moves along they are still in town and tackling big issues.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Larry's Sketch 7.16.14.tif They don’t give a darn for Duke University

    John “Duke” Wayne’s heirs are suing Duke University over trademark rights.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Your chocolate addiction is only going to get more expensive

    WASHINGTON - For nearly two years, cocoa prices have been on the rise. Finally, that's affecting the price you pay for a bar of chocolate - and there's reason to believe it's only the beginning.

    July 18, 2014

  • Patrick Gannon Don’t forget the losers in state lottery

    RALEIGH – Behind every state lottery dollar that goes to education is a loser.
    There’s also a winner – the teacher whose salary it pays, the student who gets a scholarship or the district where a new school gets built. But we hear about the winners in advertisements and in press releases.
    This column is about the losers.

    July 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • Hodgepodge Cooling an overheated hedgehog and other summer travel stories

    Anybody with a pet during the summer inevitably finds themselves facing this question: What do I do with my pet on vacation?
    There are kennels for dogs, day cares for cats. Shoot, you can even find a friend to take care of your guinea pig.
    But what do you do with a hedgehog?

    July 18, 2014 2 Photos

  • North Carolina Boasts Top Wildlife Magazine and A Success Story

    The following opinion piece was released by the N.C. Wildlife Resources Commission:

    RALEIGH  — When Wildlife in North Carolina, the magazine published by the N.C. Wildlife Resources Commission, was named recently as the nation’s best in its category, it reflected more than accolades as a quality publication.

    July 17, 2014

  • 130408_NT_BEA_good kids We're raising a generation of timid kids

    CHICAGO - A week ago, a woman was charged with leaving her child in the car while she went into a store. Her 11-year-old child. This week, a woman was arrested for allowing her 9-year-old daughter to go to the park alone. Which raises just one question: America, what the heck is wrong with you?

    July 17, 2014 1 Photo

House Ads
Seasonal Content