The Stanly News and Press (Albemarle, NC)

Opinion & Letters to the Editor

September 21, 2012

Celebrate Older Americans Month at Senior Center

Friday, September 21, 2012 — September is Older Americans Month, which makes a perfect opportunity to check out the Stanly County Senior Center. There will be an open house: “A Peek at the Senior Center” from 1-4 p.m. Sept. 24.

Recently the Senior Center completed its five year re-evaluation and self-study, receiving a rating of “Center of Excellence.”  

The North Carolina Division for Aging and Adult Services established guidelines for the operation and programming of senior centers that offer a two tier measurement: Centers of Merit and Centers of Excellence.

Stanly County’s Senior Center has been named a Center of Excellence each year the rating has been in place.

The self-study is spearheaded by Center Director Becky Weemhoff, along with program directors Susan Whitley and Pamela Sullivan.

As a Center of Excellence, Stanly County’s Senior Center provides a multitude of programs and services. Many people in the community identify our center with activities such as wood carving, basket weaving, bridge and canasta groups and monthly meals. But as a Center of Excellence, Stanly County’s Senior Center is so very much more.  

The center provides meals on wheels for homebound people and operates nutrition sites around the county. There is a monthly luncheon at the center with entertainment for a nominal fee. Dances for special events and dance and exercise classes are offered weekly. The center sponsors day and overnight excursions to great sites in our area.

Various clubs hold meetings in conjunction with our center including a German Speakers Club; Veterans Club; Singles Supper Club and Readers and Eaters Book Club. The Senior Center provides help for members on special topics such as taxes, health care and writing wills.

The Stanly News & Press and The Weekly Post are available at the center for members to drop in and read. Our library is stocked with books of all genres, tapes, DVDs, audio books and games. Some items are rentals but most are loaned to members.

With all this going on, it hardly seems possible that the Senior Center could find anything else to add. However, we have four fundraisers which are also great fun events.  

In the spring, the center sponsors a golf tournament, and in September there is a Bridge Benefit. This year the center is adding a Jewelry Sale and an Arts and Crafts Show. The Bridge Benefit was Sept. 17; the Jewelry Sale is Oct. 22 and the Arts and Crafts Show is Nov. 17.  

These are just a few of the advantages offered by the Senior Center. Drop by to take a “Peak at the Senior Center” from 1-4 p.m. Sept. 24.

Information regarding membership can be obtained at the center or by calling the center at (704) 986-3769. Come out and join us in the fun.

 

1
Text Only
Opinion & Letters to the Editor
  • D.G. Martin Where did all these new voters in North Carolina come from?

    “Voters born elsewhere make up nearly half of N.C. electorate.”
    So begins the latest DataNet report from the UNC Program on Public Life, directed by former journalist Ferrel Guillory.

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • Patrick Gannon Some light for Dems in their time of darkness

    RALEIGH – Earlier this year, state Sen. Ben Clark, a Hoke County Democrat, became a hero for a day among his party and environmentalists when his amendment to require more well water testing near future fracking sites passed the Senate. It even gained the support of a number of GOP senators, against the wishes of the Republican bill sponsor.

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • mama.jpg What we get wrong about millennials living at home

    If the media is to be believed, America is facing a major crisis. "Kids," some age 25, 26, or even 30 years old, are living out of their childhood bedrooms and basements at alarmingly high numbers. The hand-wringing overlooks one problem: It's all overblown.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Doug Creamer Maintaining hope

    Gardeners are facing challenges with the weather this year. It seemed like we were getting great conditions in April and May. The weather was warm and we were getting some good rains. Then sometime in June the rain stopped. It got so dry that I didn’t have to cut the grass. While I enjoyed the break, the garden was not happy at all. I was having to water quite a bit to keep the vegetable garden alive and growing.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jason O. Boyd I may be a bit behind the times, but at least I can find ‘America’

    I seem to be reading about and dealing with technology a lot lately.
    I  love technology and have always been fascinated by gadgets of all kinds and the wonderful things they can do. You never seem to go through an entire day without some form of invention enhancing your life.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Brent Laurenz Meeting out in open helps negotiations move ahead

    RALEIGH – State lawmakers reconvened in Raleigh on May 14 promising a brief legislative session this summer, but as July moves along they are still in town and tackling big issues.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Larry's Sketch 7.16.14.tif They don’t give a darn for Duke University

    John “Duke” Wayne’s heirs are suing Duke University over trademark rights.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Your chocolate addiction is only going to get more expensive

    WASHINGTON - For nearly two years, cocoa prices have been on the rise. Finally, that's affecting the price you pay for a bar of chocolate - and there's reason to believe it's only the beginning.

    July 18, 2014

  • Patrick Gannon Don’t forget the losers in state lottery

    RALEIGH – Behind every state lottery dollar that goes to education is a loser.
    There’s also a winner – the teacher whose salary it pays, the student who gets a scholarship or the district where a new school gets built. But we hear about the winners in advertisements and in press releases.
    This column is about the losers.

    July 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • Hodgepodge Cooling an overheated hedgehog and other summer travel stories

    Anybody with a pet during the summer inevitably finds themselves facing this question: What do I do with my pet on vacation?
    There are kennels for dogs, day cares for cats. Shoot, you can even find a friend to take care of your guinea pig.
    But what do you do with a hedgehog?

    July 18, 2014 2 Photos

House Ads
Seasonal Content