The Stanly News and Press (Albemarle, NC)

Opinion & Letters to the Editor

May 9, 2014

Hello, Stanly County. Glad to meet you.

Thursday, May 8, 2014 — Nature was my first introduction to Albemarle. It’s impossible to escape the picturesque landscape the cows, horses, and farms provide as you travel along N.C. Highway 24-27 into town. A small town is refreshing compared to the towering buildings  in my hometown of Charlotte.

Hello. My name is Trenton Little, your newest reporter at The Stanly News & Press. I’ve anticipated starting my journalism career since graduating from North Carolina Central University in May 2013. It's a pleasure to start in your community. During my collegiate years I was given opportunities to write for many publications. However, the most rewarding came when covering a community. I appreciated covering a community because of the connection that allows you to grow with its people. In the little time I’ve spent here your compassion and kindness has been on display. I look forward to developing a life-long connection with you.

In the short-lived time I’ve spent here, your restaurants were my first stop. More visits to Big Al’s Pub and Hermanco’s are on the schedule.  After tasting Big Al’s “Honey Hab-al-o Wings” I’m a believer in love at first sight. The thought alone of the sweet, drenched wings causes a drool.

It also did not take long to feel the family environment that enriches the town of Albemarle. Being from Charlotte and living there most of my life, the big city lacks the sense of community that I’ve already experienced here. I know there is nothing but bigger and better things to come.

I look forward to meeting you all. See you soon.

Trenton Little is the newest staff writer for The Stanly News & Press. To submit story ideas, him at (704) 982-2121 ext. 33 or email trenton@stanlynewspress. com.

1
Text Only
Opinion & Letters to the Editor
  • Doug Creamer Maintaining hope

    Gardeners are facing challenges with the weather this year. It seemed like we were getting great conditions in April and May. The weather was warm and we were getting some good rains. Then sometime in June the rain stopped. It got so dry that I didn’t have to cut the grass. While I enjoyed the break, the garden was not happy at all. I was having to water quite a bit to keep the vegetable garden alive and growing.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jason O. Boyd I may be a bit behind the times, but at least I can find ‘America’

    I seem to be reading about and dealing with technology a lot lately.
    I  love technology and have always been fascinated by gadgets of all kinds and the wonderful things they can do. You never seem to go through an entire day without some form of invention enhancing your life.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Brent Laurenz Meeting out in open helps negotiations move ahead

    RALEIGH – State lawmakers reconvened in Raleigh on May 14 promising a brief legislative session this summer, but as July moves along they are still in town and tackling big issues.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Larry's Sketch 7.16.14.tif They don’t give a darn for Duke University

    John “Duke” Wayne’s heirs are suing Duke University over trademark rights.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Your chocolate addiction is only going to get more expensive

    WASHINGTON - For nearly two years, cocoa prices have been on the rise. Finally, that's affecting the price you pay for a bar of chocolate - and there's reason to believe it's only the beginning.

    July 18, 2014

  • Patrick Gannon Don’t forget the losers in state lottery

    RALEIGH – Behind every state lottery dollar that goes to education is a loser.
    There’s also a winner – the teacher whose salary it pays, the student who gets a scholarship or the district where a new school gets built. But we hear about the winners in advertisements and in press releases.
    This column is about the losers.

    July 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • Hodgepodge Cooling an overheated hedgehog and other summer travel stories

    Anybody with a pet during the summer inevitably finds themselves facing this question: What do I do with my pet on vacation?
    There are kennels for dogs, day cares for cats. Shoot, you can even find a friend to take care of your guinea pig.
    But what do you do with a hedgehog?

    July 18, 2014 2 Photos

  • North Carolina Boasts Top Wildlife Magazine and A Success Story

    The following opinion piece was released by the N.C. Wildlife Resources Commission:

    RALEIGH  — When Wildlife in North Carolina, the magazine published by the N.C. Wildlife Resources Commission, was named recently as the nation’s best in its category, it reflected more than accolades as a quality publication.

    July 17, 2014

  • 130408_NT_BEA_good kids We're raising a generation of timid kids

    CHICAGO - A week ago, a woman was charged with leaving her child in the car while she went into a store. Her 11-year-old child. This week, a woman was arrested for allowing her 9-year-old daughter to go to the park alone. Which raises just one question: America, what the heck is wrong with you?

    July 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • 25 hidden secrets in "Weird Al's" "Word Crimes" video

    Yankovic's 14th album was released this week, and it warms my heart containers that he's kept up his geeky brand of humor for so long. While he has written so many incredible songs, none have spoken to my love of proper grammar.
    Until "Word Crimes."

    July 16, 2014

House Ads
Seasonal Content