The Stanly News and Press (Albemarle, NC)

Opinion & Letters to the Editor

March 1, 2013

Newly discovered writings bring hope for knowledge preservation

Friday, March 1, 2013 — A treasure trove of literary works by Rudyard Kipling, lost for decades, were found in an American home recently.

The works are to be published alongside his other pieces in a new volume coming out in March.

Scholars were giddy with the find, but if we’ve just found undiscovered works of a fairly well-known and modern writer, what else is out there waiting to be discovered? What else has been erased by the scourging sands of time?

I read on the BBC the other day that scientists now believe the universe to be inherently unstable, destined to collapse on itself and start all over again.

This may sound like news to you and I, but if you look at the religious texts of India, the Puranas, this is nothing out of the ordinary. The Puranas have stated the belief of the dissolution of the world and rebirth for countless centuries, and here our scientists are just not coming to support the idea.

What has happened over the years to our knowledge? Once derived from theological assertions, it now flows from empirical evidence, but what has been lost in the transition?

The propagation of knowledge has gone through a number of incarnations, but each one has left something behind, some detail consigned to oblivion.

People have striven to preserve as much as possible, at first by spreading their stories by word of mouth. Then, as society, technology and knowledge progressed, we had to formulate new ways of preserving knowledge, more efficient ways that would ensure proper transmission throughout the decades.

But even this isn’t enough to counteract oblivion.

It always finds a way to slither into the collective consciousness of human creation and rob us of a fact or two.

Did you know archeologists have found the remains of chemical batteries in Baghdad?

Where was that in the history books? What were the ancients using the power for and why?

The how and why have been lost over the ages, but the batteries still remain to tantalize us with their mystery.

No matter how much we learn, how much we discover, oblivion will always be waiting there to gobble up any pieces we don’t transmit.

So how do we prevent this?

Communication is the key.

Communication is the life-line that stretches throughout time, allowing us to answer the questions our children’s grandchildren will have.

While there is a certain level of majesty to the discovery of Kipling’s lost works (the man still lives on in his literature), it leaves me with hope and trepidation.

I’m fearful for what could be lost, what has been lost and what will never be discovered again.

I’m hopeful for the things yet to come, the discoveries yet to be made of our past.

And I’m hopeful for the future of knowledge. Everything is recorded and stored somewhere nowadays, providing a sound account for our descendents to utilize.

Oblivion is waiting right around the corner, but maybe with a concentrated effort, we can keep our knowledge from the jaws of extinction

 

1
Text Only
Opinion & Letters to the Editor
  • Jason O. Boyd Yellow journalism takes on new form, people are dumber for it

    Time to get on the soapbox for a few minutes.
    Let me clear my throat. Eh ... hem!
    People are dumb.

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • Brent Laurenz Special election adds to the mix

    RALEIGH – A busy slate of judicial elections this November got even busier recently when Judge John Martin of the N.C. Court of Appeals announced his retirement.
    A special statewide election to fill Martin’s seat will be added to the general election ballot, joining the four N.C. Supreme Court seats and three N.C. Court of Appeals races already slated for this fall.

    July 25, 2014 1 Photo

  • Patrick Gannon Fake news or sign of some more trouble?

    RALEIGH – Of the three situations I can recall where agencies receiving large sums of taxpayer dollars wouldn’t divulge employees’ salaries, two of them ended badly. The third – involving a group of charter schools in Southeastern North Carolina – is playing out right now.

    July 25, 2014 1 Photo

  • Almost half of America's obese youth don't know they're obese

    WASHINGTON - The good news is that after decades of furious growth, obesity rates finally seem to be leveling off in the U.S.. The bad news is that America's youth still appear to be dangerously unaware of the problem.

    July 23, 2014

  • Darth Vader is polling higher than all potential 2016 presidential candidates

    On the other hand, with a net favorability of -8, Jar Jar is considerably more popular than the U.S. Congress, which currently enjoys a net favorability rating of -65.

    July 23, 2014

  • D.G. Martin Where did all these new voters in North Carolina come from?

    “Voters born elsewhere make up nearly half of N.C. electorate.”
    So begins the latest DataNet report from the UNC Program on Public Life, directed by former journalist Ferrel Guillory.

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • Patrick Gannon Some light for Dems in their time of darkness

    RALEIGH – Earlier this year, state Sen. Ben Clark, a Hoke County Democrat, became a hero for a day among his party and environmentalists when his amendment to require more well water testing near future fracking sites passed the Senate. It even gained the support of a number of GOP senators, against the wishes of the Republican bill sponsor.

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • mama.jpg What we get wrong about millennials living at home

    If the media is to be believed, America is facing a major crisis. "Kids," some age 25, 26, or even 30 years old, are living out of their childhood bedrooms and basements at alarmingly high numbers. The hand-wringing overlooks one problem: It's all overblown.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Doug Creamer Maintaining hope

    Gardeners are facing challenges with the weather this year. It seemed like we were getting great conditions in April and May. The weather was warm and we were getting some good rains. Then sometime in June the rain stopped. It got so dry that I didn’t have to cut the grass. While I enjoyed the break, the garden was not happy at all. I was having to water quite a bit to keep the vegetable garden alive and growing.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jason O. Boyd I may be a bit behind the times, but at least I can find ‘America’

    I seem to be reading about and dealing with technology a lot lately.
    I  love technology and have always been fascinated by gadgets of all kinds and the wonderful things they can do. You never seem to go through an entire day without some form of invention enhancing your life.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

House Ads
Seasonal Content